We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude”

Victor's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Victor's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 142 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Vine
Description: Victor's offers a delicious "small plates" dinner menu of New American cuisine, sized for tasting and sharing with friends and family.Dishes are served individually at their hottest, freshest, in an open, airy, light atmosphere. Our cottage-style restaurant, with its cathedral ceiling, central stone fireplace, and tables hand-crafted by owner Victor DePoalo gives diners a comfortable, yet elegant place to enjoy these delicacies. To delight our guests, excellent food is always paired with our warm, gracious service. Don’t miss Raw Bar Happy Hour with lovely fresh Wellfleet oysters, local clams, and shrimp for 99¢, all super fresh.
Gt Barrington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Attitude”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Expensive, self-conscious food and big attitude. Just not my style

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Bolagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    93
    43
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Provincetown”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We arrived in P-town for what was supposed to be a quiet Easter Weekend, not expecting much to be open. We were very excited to hear that Victor's had just openend that weekend for the season. It was a bit of a struggle to get a reservation but managed in the end thanks to our concierge at the Brass Key.

We arrived a little early for our 20h30 reservation expecting to have a drink at the bar but were ushered straight to our table. The restaurant is beautifully laid out and was buzzing with conversation from fellow diners.

Cocktail orders were taken very quickly and no scrimping in the booze quantities either.....which set the tone for a decadent evening! One of the starters ordered, the Raw Bar Sampler had to have a change of ingredients but we ended up with more oysters than expected. These oysters were some of the most sublime oysters we have ever eaten, plump, firm, good size and smacked of freash ocean fragrances...we ordered another four after trying the first lot.

The calamari ordered didn't get a high five, only because it didnt stand out from the crowd of usual calamari dishes served anywhere else. That said, there wasn't anything wrong with it, just not particularly inspiring. What did stand out, however, was the main course dishes of Sizzling Asian Style Skirt Steak and also the Chipotle Pulled Pork Sliders. Both dishes were presented beautifully and had lovely flavours while retaining a lightness of touch a well balanced dish deserves.

I really didnt need to but in a booze addled fog decided to order the Dessert Sample Platter. The warning from the waiter of the size of this dish was brushed away but in hindsight should have been taken heed of......but the flavours, wow! I definitely didnt do it justice but enjoyed the flavours I could manage!

All in all, a definite trip back to Victors is on the cards next time we are in Provincetown. Booking in advance is highly recommended to secure a table at this very popular restaurant serving the cream of P-town visitors who enjoy a restaurant that delivers consistently.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“One of My Favorites”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have been to Victor’s three times and it gets better each time. It is tapas style and my experience is that three people dining together allows you to order a good sampling of items and have enough for all to get a worthwhile amount. This also makes it easy to sample items that you would not ordinarily order as a full dinner portion. With three people ordering three items each you can get a wide sample of tastes and food experiences that you would not get in other restaurants. I am not a big fan of calamari, but my two companions pronounced Victor’s calamari as the best they have ever tasted.

Everything I have ever had at Victor’s is cooked to perfection. The Sizzling Asian Steak is delicious! The service is friendly and professional, with items arriving at your table in a carefully timed sequence. When I was last there in the off-season they were having a “Sunset Special” which if you mentioned it to your waiter gave you a sizeable discount off of your bill. I am planning two more visits to Victor’s and I am sure that it will be ever better.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Howland_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another one of P-town's best”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We've had a chance to visit this all small-plate restaurant two seasons running now and love it. The atomosphere is fun - the food very good - and the service was well paced and efficient. Order as much or as little as you want. Nice to share plates too. We recently visited Provincetown over T-giving and was sad to see it closed for the winter. We had only 4 nights in town and this was on our "definate" list (it's that good), but will have to wait until August now to return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RatherDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Casual tappas”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a pretty fun small place with a floor having maybe 14 or so tables and a nice bar. Tappas format. Menu is varied and pretty fun. Food is very, very well done. Not pretentious and not slap-down casual either. It did, however, seem a bit on the pricey side. But hey, this is pretty good stuff and we're in P-town.

If you come in hungry, four plates for two people to share may not be enough. Plates are running from $8 (for sweet potato fries with marscapone & honey dipping sauce) to $20-plus for some fish or meat plates. If you're hungry, it's going to add up quickly but what we had was beautiful and tasty. (seafood cakes were awesome) A nice treat.

Waiter was warm enough but not overly engaged. The next level of service would be to explain a bit more about the tappas experience for newcomers and make some suggestions or ask for likes and dislikes...sort of ease folks into what might be the best experience for them. Runners were expeditious and had a smile for us. Obviously it's tappas- so dishes come out at (odd) intervals. Folks may or may not like that. Atmosphere is nice and "cozy" but high ceilings help. It can get a bit loud with the music I've heard. Someone stood up during our meal (the owner?) and asked if anyone was having a (air quotes) "dining experience"? And would we vote for cranking up the music? Everyone went along but it didn't seem exactly appropriate to crank it up for a mixed crowd who may or may not be down for a party.

Anyway, it's a good place. We'd probably go back. I'd love to spend a long evening there after getting a huge raise or making a big commission! Location is WAY down the END of Commercial in the West End but very nice. (Walk off your drinks on the way back to center of town!) Reservations required! It gets full even in "off" season.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackdog2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victor's Restaurant also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Victor's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing