We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Berkshire Museum

Berkshire Museum
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established by Zenas Crane in 1903, Berkshire Museum integrates art, history, and natural science in a wide range of programs and exhibitions that inspire educational connections between the disciplines. In association with the Smithsonian since 2013, Berkshire Museum is part of a select group of museums, cultural, educational, and arts organizations that share the Smithsonian's resources with the nation. Located in downtown Pittsfield, Massachusetts, at 39 South St., the Berkshire Museum is open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Saturday, and noon to 5 p.m. on Sunday. Admission is $13 adult, $6 child; Museum members and children age 3 and under enjoy free admission.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A real gem worthy of a bigger city. Always changing with top level exhibits.

Thank SF C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire M, Public Relations Manager at Berkshire Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Glad you enjoyed your visit! We're gearing up for another round of changes for our summer exhibitions; hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"an aquarium"
in 18 reviews
"natural history"
in 16 reviews
"permanent collection"
in 11 reviews
"guitar exhibit"
in 8 reviews
"rainy day"
in 15 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 7 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 15 reviews
"all ages"
in 16 reviews
"changing exhibits"
in 6 reviews
"the lower level"
in 4 reviews
"small city"
in 4 reviews
"fine art"
in 4 reviews
"second floor"
in 9 reviews
"sea horses"
in 3 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 8 reviews
"on display"
in 7 reviews
"traveling exhibit"
in 3 reviews
Filter

220 - 224 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our family (2 adults and 3 teens) has visited this museum two times in recent visits to the Berkshires. The permanent exhibits (e.g. geological, natural history, small aquarium, and hands-on rooms devoted to the theme of innovation in creativity and science) are excellent. The temporary exhibits (two years ago on armor; this year on Audubon and birds) were world-class.

1  Thank SCBNorway_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire M, Public Relations Manager at Berkshire Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We're glad everyone had a good time here! Visit us again soon as we're getting ready to roll out the summer/fall exhibitions and programs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Curretnly there is an excellent Audubon exhibit, with so many stuffed birds and paintings and a demonstration of Audubon's painting techniques.

Thank stacydelao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire M, Public Relations Manager at Berkshire Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thanks for the great review stacydelao! We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Our next big exhibition opens in July and features Native American contemporary art - we hope you'll have time to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Berkshire Museum has a fine continuous display area that is supplemented with special displays that typically run six months at a time. The Holiday season Festival of Trees is outstanding. The Little Theater presents nightly movies that typically are not at your larger movie venues.

1  Thank Dalton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire M, Public Relations Manager at Berkshire Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for the review!
We're glad you enjoyed what you saw when visiting the Museum and hope you return again. We're especially happy you are satisfied with our Festival of Trees event -- we hope we meet your standards this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I liked that this is a natural science museum, a museum about famous people from the area, and a fine art museum, with several exhibits. There is also an aquarium, but we didn't make it to there.

1  Thank Anyanwubutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berkshire Museum also viewed

 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to Berkshire Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing