We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, excellent staff, old and dated but clean and location great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Governor Prence Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This is definitely not a fancy place but if you are looking for a clean room and bath with
an outstanding staff of people who trip over themselves to take care of you this is
the spot. The location is outstanding, a minute to Skaket Beach for sunset., walking
distance to great restaurants, a few minute drive to national seashore beaches and
local ponds and right on the Rail Train Bike path out your back door.
Yes, old and dated but pool is great. Breakfast is continental but fine.
The front desk staff is exceptional...friendly, helpful...better than anyone you would find at an upscale place! I will return.
upscale place!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank j0an6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thanks j0an6666 for taking the time to tell us about your stay here and to compliment us about our exceptional customer service.
We're all glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

We had to find accommodation for one night and booked into Governor Prence months ahead of time. The advertised "deals" and relatively modest prices (circa $150 per night) were not available since we were booking for one night only, a fact we did not know until actually making the reservation. Upon arrival we were not given the type of room we had been told on the phone to expect, but rather their self described "regular room". It was a relic of the distant past and had not been updated for years. The A/C unit was unbelievably loud and the bath/shower had rust and stains. There was no chair other than one at the small desk. The small dorm-type fridge was noisy, too. The saving grace was that the beds were fairly comfortable. The room lacked sufficient insulation to block any sound from the adjoining rooms, too. Fast forward to 4:00 AM when there was a fire alarm which caused all to evacuate their rooms. There was no staff person on duty (this is a large motel with many guests) to assist or inform. Twenty minutes later, with all still outside in their pajamas, a police car arrived on scene and eventually turned off the alarm. Interestingly, when I was checking out the next day, the person on duty was claiming the alarm went on for only five minutes and the incident was clearly just a blip. Despite the fact that three others signing out at the same time said the incident went on for 25 to 30 minutes, the attendant continued to say "the report" said it was 5 minutes. All in all we will certainly try to avoid a stay here in the future. It is unfortunate that demand is so high for accommodations in the area that the owners don't seem to need to modernize their facilities nor care about their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdemelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear wdemelle
As most reasonable people would realize...when a fire alarm goes off in the middle of the night it is certainly not conducive to a restful sleep--but it is a necessary precaution to protect the safety and welfare of all of our patrons. Sometimes in life situations occur beyond one's control--and how one chooses to react to these challenges in many ways is more reflective of their character and outlook--than it is on the incident itself.
The owners, staff and I do put considerable time, money and effort into the property..and have done so continuously through out the many years of our ownership and management.
Again --most reasonable people know and are aware that there are newer, fancier places to stay on Cape Cod --for those who desire to spend 2x, 3x or 4x or more-- the price which we charge here. Most of our many patrons --and especially those repeat guests who do return here year after year-- know and appreciate that we do offer a great value for the price.
It's unfortunate that a person with champagne tastes who is on a beer budget can use this forum as a soapbox to air their petty gripes--- and attempt to taint other's perceptions --all because we declined to give them a free night's stay here--- due to the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This is the best deal on the cape, clean rooms, friendly staff and quiet. It's an older inn but it meets or needs. Giant pool to relax and enjoy. very close to the beaches and shopping we will be back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank westy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks westy57 for taking the time to give us your positive feedback regarding your stay here.
We look forward to your return visit--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Very clean, a great array of rooms surrounding a family friendly central area that includes a very good size pool. The entire property is well maintained. Continental breakfast is included and the muffins are tasty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, especially for families with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjenkin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear cjenkin2016
Thanks for taking the time to let everyone know about your experience staying here with us.
The owners, staff and I all appreciate your positive feedback!
We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We had picked this place to extend our trip to spend time with family. It is an older hotel reminiscent of the 50s. It was quite clean and the beds were quite comfortable. However it is in need of some TLC as it is beginning to show its age. As I have been coming to the cape for many rears, it was a good last minute choice and quite reasonable.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
9.1 km away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
0.6 km away
Seashore Park Inn
Seashore Park Inn
#7 of 8 in Orleans
194 reviews
6.2 km away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 8 in Orleans
135 reviews
1.7 km away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
442 reviews
1 km away
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor Prence Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor Prence Inn

Address: 66 Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02653 (Formerly The Governor Prence Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 6,899 - ₹ 12,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor Prence Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swim in our oversized outdoor pool & relax in our spacious tree shaded courtyard with gazebo. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast served daily in our cafe. We are located directly on the Bike Trails & are a short walk to Main St. Orleans - with its many restaurants, shops and galleries. Free Wireless internet access now available. All rooms are smoke free and are equipped with refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Governor Prence Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Prence Hotel Orleans
Governor Prence Motel
Governor Prence Inn Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing