We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
44
60
26
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
60
26
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastroom was cleanbagelshuge poolcape codshower head was very lowwood viewwithin walking distancepool arearail trailthe location is perfectnice breakfastrooms are smallchristmas tree shopgazebobeachesdresser
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We had to find accommodation for one night and booked into Governor Prence months ahead of time. The advertised "deals" and relatively modest prices (circa $150 per night) were not available since we were booking for one night only, a fact we did not know until actually making the reservation. Upon arrival we were not given the type of room we had been told on the phone to expect, but rather their self described "regular room". It was a relic of the distant past and had not been updated for years. The A/C unit was unbelievably loud and the bath/shower had rust and stains. There was no chair other than one at the small desk. The small dorm-type fridge was noisy, too. The saving grace was that the beds were fairly comfortable. The room lacked sufficient insulation to block any sound from the adjoining rooms, too. Fast forward to 4:00 AM when there was a fire alarm which caused all to evacuate their rooms. There was no staff person on duty (this is a large motel with many guests) to assist or inform. Twenty minutes later, with all still outside in their pajamas, a police car arrived on scene and eventually turned off the alarm. Interestingly, when I was checking out the next day, the person on duty was claiming the alarm went on for only five minutes and the incident was clearly just a blip. Despite the fact that three others signing out at the same time said the incident went on for 25 to 30 minutes, the attendant continued to say "the report" said it was 5 minutes. All in all we will certainly try to avoid a stay here in the future. It is unfortunate that demand is so high for accommodations in the area that the owners don't seem to need to modernize their facilities nor care about their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdemelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear wdemelle
As most reasonable people would realize...when a fire alarm goes off in the middle of the night it is certainly not conducive to a restful sleep--but it is a necessary precaution to protect the safety and welfare of all of our patrons. Sometimes in life situations occur beyond one's control--and how one chooses to react to these challenges in many ways is more reflective of their character and outlook--than it is on the incident itself.
The owners, staff and I do put considerable time, money and effort into the property..and have done so continuously through out the many years of our ownership and management.
Again --most reasonable people know and are aware that there are newer, fancier places to stay on Cape Cod --for those who desire to spend 2x, 3x or 4x or more-- the price which we charge here. Most of our many patrons --and especially those repeat guests who do return here year after year-- know and appreciate that we do offer a great value for the price.
It's unfortunate that a person with champagne tastes who is on a beer budget can use this forum as a soapbox to air their petty gripes--- and attempt to taint other's perceptions --all because we declined to give them a free night's stay here--- due to the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This is the best deal on the cape, clean rooms, friendly staff and quiet. It's an older inn but it meets or needs. Giant pool to relax and enjoy. very close to the beaches and shopping we will be back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank westy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks westy57 for taking the time to give us your positive feedback regarding your stay here.
We look forward to your return visit--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Very clean, a great array of rooms surrounding a family friendly central area that includes a very good size pool. The entire property is well maintained. Continental breakfast is included and the muffins are tasty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, especially for families with young children.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjenkin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear cjenkin2016
Thanks for taking the time to let everyone know about your experience staying here with us.
The owners, staff and I all appreciate your positive feedback!
We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We had picked this place to extend our trip to spend time with family. It is an older hotel reminiscent of the 50s. It was quite clean and the beds were quite comfortable. However it is in need of some TLC as it is beginning to show its age. As I have been coming to the cape for many rears, it was a good last minute choice and quite reasonable.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

There are little cottages in the back of the property that house the rooms. Our room was clean, with a/c, comfortable bed and good water pressure on the shower. However I felt as if I were staying at my grandparents house. It's worn and old. There are several places to sit outside including a gazebo and huge pool. The continental breakfast in the morning is free with basic food items.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lovemydog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews