We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the $$$”
Review of Hotel Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Northampton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Worth the $$$”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed at the hotel this past weekend, 1/14/2012. I'll start off with the good part - they allowed an early check in. Ok here we go; greeters at Wal-Mart are more inviting than the staff - the breakfast hostess in particular (rude and cold for no apparent reason...very odd). The wireless internet was down the entire duration. They kept assuring us it would be back up soon until they finally declared it will be down for much, much longer. The shared balcony was covered in ice. Look, I know its January but if you're going to charge $240 a night for the Queen balcony, then attend to it or slash the price. The room is small and uneventful - no amenity here. The walls are paper thin – you will think the hallway comes through your bed, or worse your bed goes through the hallway (read between the lines).
The continental breakfast is comparable to a Holiday Inn…Express. Homewood Suites provides a much greater assortment for a fraction of the price.
In short, I’ve stayed at quite a number of historic inns and this was the most unimpressionable, overpriced portion of wax fruit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    145
    73
    31
    38
See reviews for
102
145
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

On our way to Vt.we needed to spend the nite. We checked the rates for hotel Northampton,usually pricey,and found a great rate. Even though we arrived late at nite the staff was super and gave us a wonderful room. Thank you Try it

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Over the Christmas holiday I spent five days here in Room #500, the “Deluxe Queen,” which the staff informed me is the bridal suite. This is a very attractive and comfortable room with plenty of space in a sitting area, including a pull out couch and two chairs. At the other end of the room is a desk for getting some work done. There is also a four cup in-room coffee maker with china cups (are you reading this. Mr. Marriott?) The bathroom has a ceiling heat lamp and heated towel rack.

The room was quite charming with a terrific view not only of downtown Northampton but also of the Holyoke Mountain range. (Those with sharp eyes will spot the old Mountain House on the Mt. Holyoke ridgeline. This was an active hotel in the 19th century; today its remains are preserved by the state.)

Some reviews have complained about the small sizes of the rooms. Those rooms are in the original section of the hotel. I had a chance to see a couple and they are indeed small, with just enough room for two queen beds or one king, and not much else, although they do have a desk wedged in. I think many people will feel cramped in these if they are planning to stay more than a couple of nights.

To make sure you get the kind of room you want, do some preliminary research. Go to the hotel’s web site and use the “availability search” box in the upper corner. Key in a reservation date well in the future (not necessarily the date you plan to visit the hotel.) Click on the “Check Availability” button and a new page will load, showing you all of the hotel’s room types with photos. (Note that if you key in a date in which a certain room type is sold out, that room type will not show up on the resulting selection page).

The smaller rooms have the cheaper rates. At this writing my Deluxe Queen (not to be confused with the Junior Deluxe Queen) runs at $235 while the smaller rooms run at $175. Generally the more you are willing to pay the better room you will get. After you make your reservation on line, call the hotel and ask the staff's assistance in selecting a room. Emphasize you want to get one of their newly renovated rooms if that is important to you. (On a related note: I found the staff to be highly knowledgeable and eager to help throughout my stay.)

The owner has apparently invested a good sum of money in refurbishing the hotel. I believe the results are praiseworthy, although I can understand a negative reaction by those who are looking for the hotel in its original condition. The owner has been less successful in renovating the Wiggins Tavern. Old timers who remember the tavern as it was in the 1970s (as do I) will be distressed by an unfortunate makeover which has removed the much-loved old dark booths and polished things up at the expense of charm.

Room Tip: Research the array of available rooms by using the hotel's web site (see details in my review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

During Thanksgiving weekend, my family and I stayed at the wonderful Hotel Northampton. We booked two balcony queen rooms which were lovely. Each of the rooms had double doors leading out to a lovely (shared) balcony. This wasn't the typical hotel balcony, it was huge! Lucky for us, our two rooms shared one balcony. At night, the ambiance was great, sitting out on the balcony overlooking downtown Northampton. An added bonus is that each of the balconies had twinkle lights adorning the railings. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The beautiful hotel lobby was embellished with strands of holly and other such Christmas decorations. Overall, it was a lovely stay and I can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We went for a romantic weekend and were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely and historic. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. I thoroughly research a hotel before I stay and it helped in this case. I found out there would be a concert across the street on the night we stayed so I called in advance and asked for a room NOT facing the street. We got a huge king size room (Rm 174) on the first floor that was very quiet and clean. I'm not here for the view. I'm here for the shopping and amazing restaurants. The bed was very comfortable and the shower pressure was great. Others have made comments about the continental breakfast but they need to remember that its continental, not full breakfast. It had fresh muffins, danish, fresh fruit, granola, yogurt coffee and tea. On a weekend, If you want to splurge and have a full breakfast wait til 10a and get the sunday brunch. They give a discount to hotel guests and it won awards for best brunch in the valley. If you're feeling hungry early, Jakes or Sylvesters are full of locally sourced and delicious food. I'd stay here again anytime!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter and newer. Call in advance to get the amenities you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
1.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
178 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
803 reviews
8.8 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Property: Hotel Northampton
Address: 36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060-3291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,310 - ₹ 18,091
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Northampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing