We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 North Adams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We're very independent travelers, not normally looking for interaction with our hosts, fellow guests, etc., so we're often wary of the B&B experience. However, Linda and Paul were the PERFECT hosts. They offered us all the amenities anyone could want, including breakfast, wine and cheese, and homemade cookies, but allowed us the freedom to come and go as we pleased and sleep in because that to us is luxury! None of the funny looks or guilt trips we've received at other B&Bs. Whew! I truly felt comfortable there and we will definitely go back! Also, I would be remiss to not mention how lovely the manor is -- absolutely beautiful. As an architect, I thoroughly appreciated the period detailing and gorgeous iron work, lovingly maintained by the owners. The photos on the website do not do it justice! You'll love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxie113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

My fiance and I were greeted at the door by Laura and Paul, and shown through the lounge and our room. We had friendly conversation. Our room was extremely spacious, with fireplace, temperpedic bed, and sitting area. The photos online did not do the room justice.
The inn was very quiet, and we enjoyed a fresh home cooked breakfast the following morning. Everything was delicious.
Paul was even kind enough to clean off our car.
It was everything we wanted and more.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artisnotanaccident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed at Blackinton Manor this past weekend for our anniversary. It was exactly what my husband and I wanted. We both work in Boston, so getting away from the hustle and bustle was on our agenda. The minute we stepped in to Blackinton Manor we relaxed. It is very warm and inviting. Laura greeted us with a seamless check in process, and directed us to our room where we found chocolates waiting for us! My husband had informed Laura that it was our anniversary and she went above and beyond to make us dinner reservations in town. It was so nice to have the personal touches! Breakfast in the morning was wonderful as well. Overall we truly enjoyed our experience and will be returning sooner then later. Thank you Laura and Paul!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmckenna22279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

What could have been a fine experience was ruined by the innkeepers themselves. I knew we would be arriving between 9&10pm, so i called ahead as a courtesy to make our hosts aware and see if we needed to do anything special. I received a cold, unpleasant response, which i tried to ignore. It only got worse from there, including being lied to and spoken very poorly to in front of my children. It became so unpleasant that i returned to my room one night to find that the switch on my thermostat had been turned to off, so that my room was 60 degrees when i came in. This was a very special weekend to us, and Paul and Laura would have put a damper on it had we not risen above the situation and made the best of it. Some people just should not be in the service business. Needless to say, we will not be returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank beachserene4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeperswife, Owner at Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

As a small, family owned boutique B&B, and since opening 6 years ago, our objective is to provide exceptional service to all of our guests who stay at our home. Our commitment is to promote a relaxing, private, enjoyable experience without being intrusive.

This guest booked online for two adults with an unknown arrival time. The online booking engine states accommodation is for one bed and maximum occupancy for two guests. Our confirmation letter details this information.

Check-in is 3:00 – 6:00 p.m. We provide flexibility for late arrivals with pre-notification.
The guest called while in transit stating she did not know arrival time. It was shared upon arrival that one of the innkeepers would greet her, process registration and escort her to the room. This is standard practice with all late arrivals.

Upon arrival, there was one adult, one teen and one younger child. Upon entering the room , the guest exclaimed there was only one bed and that she would have to return her teenage daughter to her dorm at the local college.

It appeared that this guest knowingly ignored pre-set conditions of stay stated on our website, reservation system and confirmation correspondence in order to meet her own needs. She did not wish to adhere to information shared during her stay and when addressed took offense because the following morning the guest and her two children exited the guestroom for breakfast.

Surprised by this, we requested that they please have a seat in the living room so we could accommodate an additional person in the dining room and prepare additional breakfast fare. This request was met by the adult with laughter.

At our request, the guest was asked to join us in the kitchen to again share our concerns and the children remained in the living room. At this time, she was made aware that the room she booked was for double occupancy and not for three guests. It was shared that this was a concern on our part regarding our licensing and insurability. The guest laughed initially and walked away. Breakfast was provided and served to everyone in her party at no additional fee.

After breakfast, her children returned to the guestroom and she was advised she would not be charged for the third person for breakfast but would be charged for the extra person in the room to which she abruptly turned and walked back to her room.

The following morning we were met with considerable negativity yet tried to be positive and to provide the services that we extend to all of our guests. We met every request of the guest in an effort to defuse her continued negativity.

In six years we have never experienced such disrespectful, accusatory and name calling behavior . At no time was she addressed in front of her children or other guests. We stand by our commitment for exceptional service to all of our guests as demonstrated by our record of exceptional service .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

What a wonderful and convenient place to stay for visiting MassMOCA, Mt. Greylock, Williamstown, or just passing through. The Innkeepers, Laura and Paul, are gracious hosts, and help make the stay a comfortable and relaxing one. And, the breakfasts are superbly prepared and served.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneandpatSomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
3.9 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
679 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
225 reviews
4.1 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
469 reviews
28.9 km away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
495 reviews
1.9 km away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1391 Massachusetts Ave, North Adams, MA 01247-2238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Adams
Price Range: ₹ 22,208 - ₹ 22,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Blackinton residential section of North Adams and affording dramatic mountain views, Blackinton Manor, an elegant 1832 Georgian style home, is home to five spacious ensuite guest rooms, one of which is dog friendly. Unique charm amongst the Berkshire landscape affords a tranquil environment. We are a neighbor to MASS MoCA, Williams College, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, The Williamstown Theatre Festival, the Sterling & Francine Clark Art Institute, Mt. Greylock, the Appalachian Trail and so much more. Innkeeper Lesa Bennett and resident dog Buddy invite you to share this year-round retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast North Adams, MA - Berkshires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing