We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
222
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
13
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newton highlands homemade granola bed and breakfast third floor boston area minute walk screened in porch own bathroom home away from home garden suite lovely home quiet street private bath residential neighborhood irish pub just like home top floor
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Village Bed and Breakfast is a charming, clean, comfortable place to stay. I have stayed in practically all the rooms available at one time or another, and am currently staying in the penthouse suite. The beds are extremely comfortable. The atmosphere is New England charm at its best. A "T" stop (surface transport) is a block away. Village B&B is located in Newton Highlands, MA, a village of the city of Newton, that has high quality restaurants (American, Chinese, Middle Eastern), cafes, and shops. Charm, yet equipped with reliable Wifi and flat-screen TVs. Plenty of room for off-street parking. The hostess is warm and welcoming. I especially like how she goes out of her way to provide a tasty breakfast, with muffins, fruit, nuts, and a variety of cereals. There are nice touches, such as candies provided in each room and the provision of cards on which value can be stored for public transportation (known as "Charlie" Cards). My experience at Village B and B has been outstanding.
There is a question below asking whether the hotel has kitchenettes. There is penthouse suite that has a kitchenette.

Room Tip: Penthouse is like a one room apartment with a galley kitchen, including refrigerator. Emily's room is especially quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stony1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia J, Owner at A Village B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you so much for a comprehensive review that provides needed information for other travelers who might have questions about the area and the experience of staying outside Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

We were in Newton to help a relative get a house ready for sale. This was the second time we'd stayed at the Village B&B. It was five tough days with stress, difficult emotions and hard physical work. Thankfully, Claudia and her B&B was ours home-away-from-home - a great way to destress and regroup. She's a great hostess, makes you feel welcome always and does great breakfast. Pretty comfy bed, too. Thank you, thank you, Claudia. See you again soon.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia J, Owner at A Village B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thanks Nancy, I sure hope I do get to see you again soon--perhaps when you don't ahve to do so much work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

My daughter, 3 kids (3, 7 & 11) and myself visited in December for a family reunion.
There was a spacious suite for me upstairs and 2 bedrooms across from each other perfect for my daughter and her kids. We were so comfortable!! To fill in the backstory, I went to college with Claudia and we reconnected about 2 years ago.
I was on a trip to Morocco when I woke up in the middle of the night and remembered her bnb. With a quick email we were booked. She was immediately responsive then and also at other times. She recommended the Women’s Club across from her place for a family reunion and facilitated the connection; she recommended a caterer. She is a wealth of information, a generous person and extremely knowledgeable about what is available in Newton and Boston. It is a brief walk to the bank, restaurant and other stores around the corner from her place and also s brief walk to the T into Boston.
I plan to go back! This place is GREAT!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Osna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia J, Owner at A Village B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Ozzie, so glad you remembered you knew someone in the "biz" while in Morocco that suited your needs. A blast from the past!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful week in my home town in a Victorian Home like the one I grew up in. Cozy, clean, welcoming and friendly. This was my 2nd stay and will not be my last! Highly recommend this B&B for your Boston visit. Close to the trolley and good restaurants.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Getaway739748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia J, Owner at A Village B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Always great having hometown folks back in this great town. Thanks so much for your comments. Have a wonderful holiday season--A new restaurant opening soon across the street for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Stayed for a week in the Queen/Penthouse Suite. It's private and has lots of room to move around. Claudia is a great host, and serves a beautiful spread of local cereal, fruits, pastries, etc. every morning. The house is beautiful, just like the area it is located in. Within walking distance (not even a quarter mile) you have a varied selection of restaurants, stores, and a MBTA Green Line station is less than a 5-minute walk away.

I don't know what the big hotels might offer that could beat this. If you have the choice, you can get way more out of your trip by staying here, sampling the local restaurants, and even have the chance to hop on a train to the downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geolian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews