We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
255
120
55
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
120
55
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location continental breakfast the main street jacuzzi tub standard room bagels restaurants and shops rewards program in town keurig machine off street parking full kitchen air conditioner park your car enjoyed our stay half block new england
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the inn because we were going to a wedding in the area. We found the inn to be very clean, the room quite large, and the staff friendly and accommodating. The daily breakfast was quite sufficient including hard boiled eggs, bagels, breads, muffins, and cereals plus a wide variety of drinks. The inn also provided off street parking but not enough for every room. If need be you can park on the street overnight. The two hour parking limit on streets runs from 8A to 8P so you only need to move the car by 10A the next morning usually just to the next spot or across the street. The only negative we found was that the bathroom was obviously a later addition to the room but was on the small side. In the space allowed they fit a "cozy' shower, toilet, sink and hanging space for clothes. The room could also have used a coat tree or two since there were no hooks to hang anything. That aside, the room and the bed were quite comfortable. The inn is in Newburyport which is a lovely small city with blocks and blocks of houses that date back to the 1700's and 1800's. It was a pleasure to be able to walk its streets even in the rain. The inn is also located a half block from one of the main commercial streets with a wide array restaurants and shops of all types.

Room tip: (I have no idea what I'm supposed to write here so I leaving it blank.)
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NorthStar580142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review. We are happy to hear they had an enjoyable visit. Our main building accommodations do have limited closet space and smaller bathrooms as this is the oldest building out of the 3 side by side on property.

Best,
Kathy Hitchings




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here because the hotel I was planning to book was full and the price was the same, rooms were nice water was hot and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was really nice and food choices were pretty optional.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meander17288396309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank this guest for taking the time to post this review and are appreciate your decision to choose us as an alternative place to stay.

Best,
Kathy Hitchings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a very pleasant & enjoyable stay. The staff were always available, friendly & very helpful. Have already booked another weekend getaway to Newburyport & Essex StreetvInn. The Essex Street Inn is ideally & centrally located to leave the car & walk to anyone of the numerous restaurants or bars and have no worries about having to drive!
Rooms were very clean & had all the facilities necessary.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Escape22720733558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
We are happy to hear you have already reserved a return visit.


Best,

Kathy Hitchings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We reserved a block of rooms at the Essex Street Inn for our wedding and had the most wonderful experience. Kathy and the entire staff were so kind and helpful throughout the planning process. We also stayed at the Inn for our wedding weekend and were so pleased with the suite. It was beautiful, spacious, and so comfortable. The setting and all of the buildings are charming and beautiful and perfect for an authentic New England weekend. Our out of town guests raved about their experiences at the Inn. I would recommend the Inn to anyone looking to stay in the newburyport area, or anyone planning a wedding in the area. Absolutely top notch.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Safari57016335064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

We thank you for choosing the Essex Street Inn to host your wedding guests accommodations. It was a pleasure working with you during this process.

Best Wishes,
Kathy Hitchings
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We were allowed to change our original room for another beautiful room with a fireplace. The folks there were nice, friendly and very accomodating. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place to all discriminating travelers.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you Phillip for staying with us and taking the time to post this review. We were more than happy to offer you the upgrade.

Best,
Kathy Hitchings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews