We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Compass Rose Inn(Newburyport)
US$ 323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clark Currier Inn(Newburyport)(Great Value!)
US$ 246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beachway Motel(Salisbury)
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Amesbury(Amesbury)
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
US$ 141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Market Street Inn(Newburyport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
219
109
55
10
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
109
55
10
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetcontinental breakfastgreat locationgas fireplacejacuzzi tubstandard roombagelskeurig machinerestaurants and shopsrewards programin townfull kitchenpark your carair conditionercentral locationwithin walking distancestreet parking
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

The Essex Street Inn is a great place to stay in Newburyport. The location is just steps away from the main street (State St) and makes wondering around downtown so easy. Parking is easy with on-site parking. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are well-appointed and very relaxing. Definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Supervisor at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We thank this guest for their stay and taking the time to post this review.
We do take pride in the fact that we are located right in the heart of downtown Newburyport. Just steps away from a wonderful variety of small shops , eatery's and history dating back to the early to the mid 1700's.

Happy Holidays,
Kathy Hitchings
Operations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Always enjoy our stay at Essex Street Inn. The staff is very accommodating, rooms are clean and comfortable, and the location is great. Very short walk to the best restaurants and shops. A real winner.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NDG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Owner at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

We thank these guests for the recent stay and are very happy to hear they consider us a "Favorite" !

We look forward to having them return soon.

Kathy Hitchings
Operations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We were located right next to the check-in desk in the main building but our room was exceptionally quiet. We arrived early, so we parked behind the inn and went for a walk in this lovely town. The inn’s location is excellent, and our room was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. The breakfast was more than expected after reading some of the previous reviews: muffins and bagels, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, ham, oatmeal, fruit, and cereal. One suggestion would be to provide a little more information at check-in. The staff members were polite but basically just gave us our key. There didn’t seem to be any information in the room about the inn or the town, although there were some maps and a book of menus next to the breakfast area. The bowl of candy at the front desk was a fun touch. (I’m not the only one who thinks so, because it depletes with astonishing speed during the day.) We hope to return to the Essex Inn on a future trip to the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ILoveTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Owner at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

We thank these guests for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
Newburyport is very lovely this time of year.
We are happy to hear that these guests found our free continental breakfast to their likening and do apologize that we do not keep information literature about the Inn or town in our guest rooms, but instead on our information table in the lobby area. We will work on making sure that all our front desk staff informs every guest of where to find this during the check in process going forward.
We are also glad you enjoyed our bowl of candy and will do our best to make sure we are fully stocked for your next visit.

Thank you,
Kathy Hitchings
Operations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The fireplace and kitchen area are perfect for getting take out/pizza before hitting the town. The bathtub fits 2 perfectly and is a great place to unwind. Overall, room 307 is well worth the price and we recommend it highly enough that we do this trip every year!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Owner at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

We are pleased to hear this guest was satisfied with their recent stay and thank them taking the time to post this review.
Room 307 our 2 Room Bridal Suite is a beautiful space. It is like having your own little home, away from home.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding. There was a two night minimum at $200 per night. I expected more for that price. I knew that parking in their lot was limited, but when I arrived it was full and I had to park two blocks away and haul my luggage to the inn. When I asked the man at the desk where I should park to avoid getting a ticket, he was not helpful.
The room was depressing. Not terrible but not worth the price paid. Everything was worn out and tired looking. There was a sad little bathroom with a door that wouldn't close and no fan. No closet, just a bar at waist height so my dress dragged on the floor. This room was very noisy. It was on the first floor and we could hear everything all the time. Doors slamming, people getting breakfast, the phone at the front desk ringing...
Location in the town is excellent, but that's about it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank AlaskaPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Owner at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

We apologize that these guests were not satisfied with their recent stay. Additional parking information is located at our front desk and we would have been more than happy to allow these guests to drop off their luggage before going to look to for a parking space. We will be sure to have our front desk staff be more knowledgeable of additional parking information in the future.

From this review it appears these guests stayed in our main building. The main building is the busiest of the 3 buildings located on our property. It is where our front desk and a free continental breakfast daily is located. Many other guests who have stayed in the main building tell us they didn't hear anything outside their room during a stay.
We will also look into the issue with the bathroom door and make repairs as needed.
Thank you,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews