We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
255
120
55
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
120
55
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location continental breakfast the main street jacuzzi tub standard room bagels restaurants and shops rewards program in town keurig machine off street parking full kitchen air conditioner park your car enjoyed our stay half block new england
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015

My fiance and I were in town for a wedding and loved our experience. The Essex Street Inn is perfectly located in center of Newburyport. The staff were wonderful, the room was comfortable and charming. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JacMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Events and Business Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you to this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
We are glad they enjoyed their stay while in town attending their friend's wedding and do hope that they visit us again in the future.

Best,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administration Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

I grew up in Newburyport and always assumed the Essex Street Inn was a historic, charming B & B. I stayed there for a night while visiting friends. We got a room on the first floor front of a side building. The room had a terrible musty oder like a basement with mildew. I asked to be moved to another room but they were sold out. The decor was very tired and the carpet looked to be very very old. The whole Inn could use refreshing. Even the main building and entrance weren't welcoming. I travel extensively for work so I feel that I have a valid perspective. The location was great but other Han hat, I would rather stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank bostongirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Events and Business Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

We would like to thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
We are sorry that they felt our Inn was in need refreshing. We do our best to stay on top on repairs and upgrades as needed with most of our extensive work done in the winter months.

We are not sure when this guest stayed, but we were until mid June putting the final touches on our new breakfast area that is in the lobby area.

We are also in the process of cleaning the carpets in each of our guest rooms and apologize that at the time of this guests stay we were unable to move them to more satisfactory accommodations for the evening.

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I would stay here again. My room was very comfortable; the staff was friendly; and the inn is right in the center of Newburyport. Nothing out of the ordinary, but good, well-located, and affordable, with parking, wifi, and breakfast included

Date of stay: July 2015
1  Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Events and Business Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you to this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to write this review.
We also feel that one of our best features is being right in the middle to downtown Historic Newburyport.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administration Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

This was a last minute reservation for fourth of July. We could not have been any happier. Essex Street Inn is cozy, quaint and charming. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The inn is located on a side street just off the center of town. So perfect for walking everywhere. Sight-seeing, dinner and a little shopping. The inn has three buildings, parking in rear and a couple of garages. These buildings were once homes turned into the inn. As you walk into main building to check in.. you notice that it is bright and cheery and very welcoming. The office is simply a walk up window so it does not distract from the era of the home. A small but very good continental breakfast is served in this building. Our room was in the building to the right of the main and we were lucky enough to park in one of the garages. Parking is very tight and if there are no spaces there is street parking for off hours.

Upon entering the room it is liking walking into a friends spare bedroom. Very comfy and feel at home atmosphere. it was simple and tasteful. Bathrooms are small with stall shower but for us was perfect. The only thing I would have liked in the bathroom may have been a small shelf next to sink to place things on while getting ready. There is small one over the toilet but not convenient to putting on make up.
There is a full length mirror in room but as on wall very close to door you need to stand next to wall to be able to use it. A few inches away from the wall or on closet door would have been better suited.
Beds are very comfortable and the small touches such as a dark cloth for make up removal and the kuerig coffee machine with a variety of coffees and teas were very nice.
We are already planning our trip back hopefully late summer or early fall.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincolnlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Public Relations Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
We are glad you found us and had a terrific time. This review is one of the best we have ever seen and look forward to your return.

Thank you,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administrationon Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The Essex Inn in Newburyport is a charming 3 building Inn with nice clean rooms.
The skylights and view were also fine. It's right in the center of town and the walking is great and not far from the Merrimac River.
Coffee was available 24/7 and the breakfast was fine...
Reception was friendly and efficient and the price was very reasonable.

Room tip: Ask for a suite if you are spending any time in the Inn.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lholz1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Public Relations Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Thank you for posting this review. We are pleased these guests enjoyed their recent stay and the location.,
We look forward to having them as our guests again in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administration Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews