We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
317
82
34
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
82
34
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmade to order breakfastexposed brickcorner roomcomplimentary breakfastmy husband and itea servicewithin walking distancegrand parkhistoric buildingcookiesnew englanddowntown newburyportroom was largecaviarfree parkinga wonderful staymodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The Garrison Inn is a quaint little Boutique Hotel. It's very small which makes it feel very intimate. Our room was very comfortable and clean. They have coffee and tea from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. where you can pick out a China tea cup to use. It was so much fun! The free breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious! The chef offer to make us anything we wanted, even items not on the menu! We are very pleased with every breakfast meal we ordered. There's also free parking in the back which is a nice perk. The hotel is walking distance to fun shopping and great restaurants in Newburyport. I would highly recommend to anyone and will definitely return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Holly_A_Honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Garrison Inn, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you took advantage of our complimentary extras and that you would highly recommend us is so kind of you. We cannot wait for you to return and stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stopped in Newburyport on our way to Maine and spent one night in room 203 at the Garrison Inn. What a wonderful find!! The decor is beautiful, the amenities are great, and the staff is very friendly. Somewhere between a hotel and a bed and breakfast in terms of feel, the option for a made to order breakfast was awesome and the food was excellent. Location is great for walking around town. We were totally impressed by the Garrison Inn and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KCLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us at the Garrison Inn. We are so glad we were such a lovely surprise! I will pass along your compliments to our chefs and the owner.

We hope that next time you stop in Newburyport on your way to Maine you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Fifth visit in about 10 years. Rooms keep getting improved through discreet renovations while preserving the historic bones and soul of the inn.

Free parking and free a la carte breakfasts subtract substantially from the comparable
room rate in urban hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AGJohnson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review of the Garrison Inn. We appreciate feedback from all our guests and it is wonderful to have such great comments from a return guest who has seen the changes at the hotel over the years. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Newburyport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We loved our stay at the Garrison. Our room was large, immaculate and quiet , the made to order breakfast was fantastic, and it was dog-friendly, as promised. Parking was convenient, right behind the inn, and there was a nice park right in front of the inn to walk our dog. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank IthacaNYResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Garrison Inn! We are so happy you enjoyed the room and our complimentary breakfast, and the location. We look forward to you staying with us again, and we hope you bring your doggy along for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Garrison Inn fro. Saturday through Monday, for a Sunday wedding at the museum. One word: AMAZING! I was so impressed with the staff, the beauty of the room, the comfortable linen and bed, the breakfast. The list goes on. The beautiful brick walls were quite impressive as well. The shower had superb pressure. The room was so clean. I cannot say enough about this inn. I highly recommend it. Thank you so much for making our stay so special!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review of your stay with the Garrison Inn and we are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your time with us. We hope you will keep us in mind next time you are in Newburyport! Thank you for your review, it's guest like yourself that make us strive to provide the best service we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews