We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
317
82
36
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
82
36
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews made to order breakfast exposed brick corner room complimentary breakfast my husband and i tea service within walking distance grand park historic building cookies new england downtown newburyport room was large caviar free parking a wonderful stay modern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our stay at the Garrison Inn in Newburyport, MA was the highlight of our weekend trip to the north shore and vicinity. Upon arrival at your Inn, the receptionist was warm and friendly and extremely helpful—even rescuing my wife from a large, sticky substance picked up on her shoe during our travels.! Our room was large, tastefully appointed and immaculate. Dinner at David’s Tavern was excellent-the service was competent and friendly. Both our menu choices (bouillabaisse and stuffed shrimp) were well prepared. The next morning, included as part of our stay, we had a delightful full breakfast from a menu providing several choices in a lovely setting. Clearly, the Garrison Inn was the perfect location for our weekend get away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our family was at the beach in Salisbury over the 4th of July weekend and decided to stay overnight impromptu. We were able to book the last room available at the Garrison.

The building and hotel lobby is very charming-- I was expecting a very period-type room-- but we were pleasantly surprised. The room had a very modern feel to it. Everything was very clean. The four of us stayed very comfortably for the night (we brought our own pack & play).

There were a lot of 'do not disturb' signs (mini pillows) hanging from doors in our hallway. An old victorian-style hand/doorknocker on each room door 'held' the laundry, bills, etc, that were delivered to these rooms. Very quaint!

Breakfast the next morning (included) was not your typical b&b fare.... I had eggs benedict with smoked salmon and caviar made to order.

The hotel seems to market itself as a boudoir-type (you can have lingerie delivered to your room or schedule a photo session and there are champagne "teas" in the salon in the afternoon), so not particularly family-friendly, but we were treated very well in spite of it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

nice rooms and location BUT

ten dollar hidden charges !
4pm checkin ! Can checkin earlieer if you pay $25
unfriendly front desk staff

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Our family (16 of us this year) has spent every Yankee Homecoming Week at the Garrison Inn for the last 8 years---We really enjoy it there! The renovations came out so nice--very comfortable rooms. The location has always drawn us there too because we can walk everywhere we would like to go. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating to us which is especially nice since we usually have such a large group. The breakfasts (included) are wonderful and we love meeting up in the breakfast room to start our day together. We look forward to seeing the Garrison Inn again next summer!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The rooms were excellent - a real inn but with all the modern comforts
The service was excellent - the breakfast was included and made to order.
Great place. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews