We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful colonial inn which is remarkable value for a weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful colonial inn which is remarkable value for a weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have to say we were outright delighted with this place, where we spent a weekend three hours north of New York City for a second time. It is small and intimate, located in the oldest building in the village, dating back to the late 1700s. It has comfortable and atmospheric rooms with some antique furniture. It is more rustic than lavish - the room still has a VCR! - but that is the charm. But our room still had 4mb/s wifi (although not all rooms do). It is located within walking distance of dozens of other shops and cafes on the main street. And one of its main advantages is its in-house restaurant, Rumpelstiltzkins, which produces extremely good food, New England Traditional with a French/italian spin, at very attractive prices. So you don't even have to go out, but if you do, there are dozens of interesting museums and restaurants and other attractions in the surrounding area (try the nearby bookstore which serves wine in the evenings). At some times of year they offer a $50 voucher for the restaurant with the room, which we got. And it all meant we felt we got extremely good value for an atmospheric and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the front tier over the lobby area, not the series of rooms in the rear extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WB2260763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    31
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
25
105
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

If, while visiting the Berkshires, you want a cozy, comfortable, clean and affordable bed and breakfast, this is the place. It's just what you want in classic New England style. Breakfast served on the covered porch - hot, delicious and plenty of it. Don't expect flat panel tv's and turn down service ..... but don't expect to pay $350 a night either!

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, don't stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nottinghall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Where to begin? The fact that the rooms are small, and I had one of the better ones, not charming or quaint ambience at all like any normal B&B, in Lenox or elsewhere in our experience, totally out of date, linoleum floor and moldy bathroom and tub, dirty, smelly, all in all like my old college fraternity house and room that my parents took one look at and almost had a heart attack. A great location in the middle of Lenox does not come even remotely close to makeup for all the really unpleasant things about this place's public areas and rooms. We could not wait to leave. Cannot begin to understand how anyone would rate this as anything but a loser. Certainly makes one wonder. Tip to owners......spend a little on maintenance and improvements every now and then.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffreyr932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lenox hotels

Laguna Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed 2 nights when place was fairly empty. Booked way ahead and they gave us room 3rd floor. So tiny, carpet dirty, windows filthy. Cluttered with furniture and dingy. Could hardly walk around room. King bed was two twins slapped together. Left and stayed in Pittsfield route 7 at Yankee motor inn. Half the price with beautiful view to the back and outstanding clean up to date room! Although,Village inn has excellent dinner restaurant!!! And breakfast was very good service and food. They need a major look at their rooms!!! Would never stay there. I grew up in the berkshires and some places in this area think they can call anything a B&B!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gourmetfoodie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

thank you so very much, our peaceful room and breakfast service were complete and attentive to our individual tastes, the fireplace and traditional room decor with individualized temperature control gave a real warmth to our stay, the whirlpool private tub with accompanying amenities provided for our bathing, and refreshment needs quite nicely, feeling more like guests in a family home, we enjoyed the wide ranging library of games and movies for in-room relaxation, we found the accommodations quiet, private, and romantic. the B&B being centrally located to area interests, including the Norman Rockwell Museum and factory outlets made our days more relaxed and less rushed, off street parking was found to be secure and more than adequate with ample lighting, our breakfast selections were varied, yet of delicious quality with fresh fruit and baked goods readily available, do try the quiche! by choosing to come visit mid-week off season, we were sorry not to experience the praised restaurant offerings, despite this missed experience, the quiet friendly inviting atmosphere draws us back there in memory often - with thankfulness - Mike and Sharon

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonNmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
5.4 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
5.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.4 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.1 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,686 - ₹ 20,550
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Lenox
The Village Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing