We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“B&B?? No way!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 22 Lenox B&B and Inns
Laguna Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“B&B?? No way!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed 2 nights when place was fairly empty. Booked way ahead and they gave us room 3rd floor. So tiny, carpet dirty, windows filthy. Cluttered with furniture and dingy. Could hardly walk around room. King bed was two twins slapped together. Left and stayed in Pittsfield route 7 at Yankee motor inn. Half the price with beautiful view to the back and outstanding clean up to date room! Although,Village inn has excellent dinner restaurant!!! And breakfast was very good service and food. They need a major look at their rooms!!! Would never stay there. I grew up in the berkshires and some places in this area think they can call anything a B&B!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gourmetfoodie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    31
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
25
105
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vermont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

thank you so very much, our peaceful room and breakfast service were complete and attentive to our individual tastes, the fireplace and traditional room decor with individualized temperature control gave a real warmth to our stay, the whirlpool private tub with accompanying amenities provided for our bathing, and refreshment needs quite nicely, feeling more like guests in a family home, we enjoyed the wide ranging library of games and movies for in-room relaxation, we found the accommodations quiet, private, and romantic. the B&B being centrally located to area interests, including the Norman Rockwell Museum and factory outlets made our days more relaxed and less rushed, off street parking was found to be secure and more than adequate with ample lighting, our breakfast selections were varied, yet of delicious quality with fresh fruit and baked goods readily available, do try the quiche! by choosing to come visit mid-week off season, we were sorry not to experience the praised restaurant offerings, despite this missed experience, the quiet friendly inviting atmosphere draws us back there in memory often - with thankfulness - Mike and Sharon

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonNmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here the Saturday and Sunday evenings of Hurricane Irene, having planned on attending concerts at Tanglewood Saturday evening and Sunday afternoon. (For the first time in Tanglewood's 74-year history, they cancelled the Sunday afternoon concert due to Hurricane Irene.) This B&B gives new meaning to the words "centrally located": You can walk to Tanglewood (although the walk back to the B&B in the dark might be a challenge), and it is situated on the main street of Lenox, MA with perhaps 10 restaurants on this street and two side streets. (A few doors down from The Village Inn is a great pastry place -- had a wonderful fruit tart and a chocolate mousse in a chocolate cup. Also, there is an AMAZING independent book store on one of the side streets.) One of the things that made this B&B so wonderful was the very friendly staff. I am very sensitive to noise, and I found this place remarkably quiet. We stayed in Room 16 (overlooking the back parking lot), and I was concerned that we would hear cars going in and out throughout our stay. Nope. Quiet. Also, I did not hear any noise from our neighbors. I should mention that the B&B host noted that all 32 rooms HAD been full booked (and paid for), but 20 rooms were subsequently cancelled due to Hurricane Irene (the host mentioned that they gave those 20 customers vouchers for free stays in the future), so maybe the fact that the B&B ended up being more than half empty contributed to the quietness? The room was nicely furnished in Americana furniture, the king-size bed was firm but surprisingly comfortable, and the bathroom, though modest in size, had a whirlpool bath/shower combo in the corner. One thing I find VERY irritating about B&Bs and regular hotels is the poor lighting. Not so here. There were several table lamps, the main ceiling light was so bright that we kept it off most of the time, and two very powerful (3-way bulb) lights over each side of the bed made reading in bed a delight. Breakfast was buffet style the first morning (and is usually buffet style), with eggs, pancakes [I didn't try the pancakes, so can't comment], fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad, an upscale brand of tea, and AMAZING cinnamon rolls. I was VERY happy with this buffet (and my wife, who typically eats more healthy than I, was delighted with the oatmeal that was also served at the buffet). The second morning, due to the fact that there were few customers in the B&B, they decided not to serve from a buffet. Rather, (even better!) we were given menus and ordered whatever we wanted for breakfast. One of the two evenings we stayed there we had dinner at the B&B's restaurant. GREAT food. (I had the lobster pie, my wife the salmon.) Overall, despite the fact that I'm a very picky person, I found little to complain about at The Village Inn. We had a great stay and we would definitely return. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Psychologyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Usually my husband and I stay in larger brand name hotels, but this time we decided to get more of the flavor of Lenox by staying at the Village Inn. Our room was small but comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. The breakfasts were included in the price and had an varied selection. We especially enjoyed the ginger pancakes. We also had two excellent dinners at the restaurant . The location can't be beat. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: small but comfortable
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank paulavk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Not wanting to drive back to RI after an all day trip to Tanglewood we decided to stay overnite in nearby Lenox, MA and managed to squeak out a reservation at The Viliiage Inn B&B. All lodgings are sold out in Feb. when the annual Tanglewood schedule is published. Late arrivers beware!!!! Very few rooms available in August. Village Inn is typical of the local B&B's. Immaculate housekeeping and a hearty home cooked breakfast made for an enjoyable stay. Would recommend it again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Reserve early in the season!!! Tanglewood fills all the local spots up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedERhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
8.7 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
5.3 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.4 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.1 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 22 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Terrace Inn
Hampton Terrace Inn
#1 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,060 - ₹ 10,213
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Lenox
The Village Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing