We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely awesome”
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Came to lenox on a whim, with my girlfriend, midweek in July and stumbled upon this gem of a place. As soon as you walk in you feel as if you belong. The owner was not there, but I was greeted by a young woman who immediatly made us feel welcome. She did not try and impose the more costly room, though we chose it. Decorated in blue, it is roomy and comfy with a great shower/jacuzzi tub. In back of the house, it is quiet. We had dinner at the restuarant - best lamb chops I have ever had and spent nice time at the bar with Paula and listened to jazz in the lounge. We spoke to the owner about maybe getting married there next year, he was most knowledgeable and helpful giving us lots of tips and even refering us to other venues to compare.

Room Tip: Stayed at the Rosalind room. Perfect in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitM60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 336 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our stay at the Gateways Inn was nothing less than wonderful. For anyone attending an event at Tanglewood it is an ideal location, and walking distance to the local shops and restaurants. The Innkeeper personally greeted us and introduced us to his sons and wife who assist with the everyday operations. The rooms are tastefully appointed with a traditional flair. The homage to Shakespearean characters add a touch of classical romance. The musical entertainment from local artists was a nice way to cap off the evenings along with an assortment of desserts and cheeses. Breakfast prepared by Michelle was delicious and filling on our first day, but seemed more continental style our second day. Lovely artwork is displayed throughout and the ambiance is warm.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 887SpeedofLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Being a local, I came for the food only-a sumptuous breakfast/brunch on Mother's Day with my husband, mother-in-law and son. I loved the combination of food that Michelle served, fresh fruit, a tremendous assortment of cheeses and breads, salmon, and a wonderful egg casserole-similar to quiche. We all thoroughly enjoyed the brunch (all 3 generations!) I was surprised when someone lamented the lack of breakfast meats, which quite honestly none of us even noticed. It was wonderful. Thank you Michelle and Eiron for making our mother's day so special.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Katiemund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I are frequent travelers. So when I say the Gateways Inn exceeded our expectations, it certainly isn't from a lack of experience. Our room was lovely. Close to the bar, chock full of New England charm but very well insulated and modern nonetheless. At the same time, it wasn't "fussy" as many B&B's are. Great location, we enjoyed walking everywhere.

Breakfast was wholesome, vegetarian friendly and hearty. The bar is fun - huge and very eclectic scotch collection. Eiran and Michele, the owners, were the highlight for us. Eiran arranged for us to have two of the best seats at the Shakespeare theatre. They are also nice people and we enjoyed hearing their story. We recommend the Gateways without reservation and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaosOfHoboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My partner and I had a very relaxing stay of five days. We were greeted at the door each time we entered. Highlights of this Inn include live music every night, great breakfasts and great towels. I have never seen a cheese selection at breakfast, but I loved it. I also appreciated the fresh fruit every morning. The location of of the Inn is excellent as well. We could walk everywhere. Even though there was an in-house bar and live music, the rooms were very quiet. The Innkeepers and the staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful in meeting all of our needs. I would highly reccomend this Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms are all shown on-line. Look for the room that you like and make the call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.7 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
579 reviews
2.9 km away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
268 reviews
8.6 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.2 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
511 reviews
2.3 km away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: ₹ 12,689 - ₹ 34,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing