We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful casual setting for music”
Review of Tanglewood

Tanglewood
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra features performances by world-renowned conductors, soloists and musicians.
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful casual setting for music”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I've loved Tanglewood since I was a child ....................... to sit out on the lawn with a delicious picnic, listening to wonderful music is one of life's great pleasures. I've been there for all sorts of concerts: the Boston Symphony, but also Peter, Paul and Mary, A Prairie Home Companion, James Taylor, etc. The tickets have become a bit pricey for the BSO so we often find ourselves attending a Saturday rehearsal rather than an evening concert.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JMVNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    96
    18
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobleskill, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tanglewood = summer; a summer of the imagination, yet *real*”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I ***love*** Tanglewood. Tanglewood is the definition of summer for me and our family. There is nothing better than bringing a picnic meal, listening to a concert at this lovely setting with friends and family.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anyanwubutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Visiting Tanglewood”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We visited durring off season but we were able to walk around the grounds. The scenery was spectacular.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The best Summer concert venue, probably, in the world

Helpful?
1 Thank HilltopBillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghent, new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Music, More of Picnic Location”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Music is very good but music selections are the "safe bet" yearly standards. A couple of excellent selection but "special prices" (higher) can be anticipated. Expensive seating, bugs and birds inside shed, uncomfortable seats, lawn is most often distracting due to people with families eating, drinking, sleeping and possibility of rain in Berkshires. Gets cool and lawn gets wet in evening. Bathroom facilities are good. Parking can be a problem, go early for good parking. large police presence, police state feeling, parking attendants surly. Pretty good people watching. Much better bet is Bard College or Berkshire Coral in Sheffield, MA.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gordykathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanglewood also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing