We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Completely Charming”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring Upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Spring
Upstairs
1st floor Classroom
Sitting Area
Bathroom
Kitchen
Cows in Summertime
Winter
Cows in Snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Lanesboro, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sara B
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Completely Charming”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous weekend getaway in the Berkshires. We chose the Stone School Cottage but it's privacy, central location, and unique character. We were not disappointed! I loved it as soon as I walked in the door. Exactly as pictured, maybe even better. The owners greeted us briefly but otherwise left us to our business, after promising to be only a text away should we need anything. Along with the basic paper goods and toiletries, the cottage came with a cozy but functional kitchen (including microwave, Keurig, toaster), and helpful binders full of local restaurant and attraction info. There is a small market nearby and a Target not much further for any groceries you need. We only had one full day in our trip, but we packed it with local highlights, including a hike at Mount Greylock and a visit to the Clark art museum. The cottage was perfectly located to explore the various towns in the area, and we even took a quick jaunt over the border into Vermont just because it was there. Overall we are very happy with our experience and will recommend the Stone School to friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
Sorry for the late response. We appreciate your review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Stone School Cottage and took advantage of the surrounding area! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
famtravel...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were lucky to happen upon this gem, and highly recommend it to families visiting the area of Mt. Greylock. Great on a rainy day, and interesting for all given the history of the old one room school house. Cheryl and Rich have created a beautiful space in a unique property.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Thank you! So glad you enjoyed it - even on a rainy day! Hope to see you again! Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M
Ellijay
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Best Vacation Rental Yet!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in several vacation rentals, and this one was extremely charming. The very first time I saw this one I just knew we had to vacation here while we were in The Berkshires. The owners were extremely helpful and easy to work with as they responded to questions immediately. The location was exactly what we were hoping for as it is not right on the main drag and is in a very picturesque setting with farm animals and fields visible right across the road.
It was fun to explore the classroom on the main level before walking up to the spacious room above which serves as kitchen and sleeping quarters. Bath towels were large and fluffy, the bathroom itself was bright and cheery and everything about this place oozed stepping back into years gone by. It is obvious that a lot of love and care went into decorating this very special place. We appreciated our little escape from the hustle and bustle of today. You are bound to love it as much as we did!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
Thank you!! We enjoyed meeting you and so glad you included us in your itinerary. Hope you had a great time in Boston. If you're ever out this way again - please stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronR205
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay! We hope to come back!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The school house vacation at the Berkshires was a special experience! Cheryl and Rich were warm hosts and really made us feel right at home. The actual school room has fabulous knick knacks to look at, and our daughter loved playing school with all the desks and blackboard. The grounds are lovely and they have a pretty area right outside the house where u can hang out. Cheryl graciously allowed our daughter to pick some fruit and veggies from her garden and let us walk around their wonderful property. The school house is well situated and their are lovely things to do in the area. We went biking, boating, visited farms and hiked all within the area. It was nice not to have to spend loads of time driving while on vacation. We enjoyed our stay at the school house and we hope to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fabulous house, warm hosts, so many things to do in the area!
Liked least: We loved everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 May 2014
Thank you - so glad you had a relaxing stay. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing