We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not treated as a returning, great customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not treated as a returning, great customer”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I've stayed at the Hyannis Harbor Hotel for many years, yet each year things change. This year, the hotel decided to charge for parking, while I was a guest. This has never happened to me, except in the city of Boston and New York. After traveling for business for 28 years throughout New England, many of the locations that I return to treat me kindly, upgrading my room, etc. I will not be returning to the Hyannis Harbor Hotel next May or recommending it.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Authorspurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Hyannis Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hyannis Harbor Hotel.

Although we have chosen to adopt a nominal fee for parking, our parking charges are consistent with that of the other hotels in the Hyannis area. In addition, the parking charges are outlined on both our hotel website and well as in the terms and conditions section of your reservation.

We hope that you were able to take advantage of our many amenities such as our free internet access, outdoor pool area with expanded beautiful two-toned nautical deck, outdoor shower and poolside bar, nautically themed lobby area complete with business center, covered pergola with teak furniture for relaxing in the shade, outdoor fire pit, private courtyard and patio. Our seasonal harbor view restaurant and bar, The Bluewater Grille, is open and there are also numerous restaurants just steps from the hotel for your dining pleasure.

Our harbor location makes us Hyannis’ most complete and convenient vacation destination, whether you are staying put to enjoy our extensive amenities or venturing out to explore the Cape and the Islands.

We hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again when visiting Hyannis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    188
    183
    130
    135
See reviews for
257
311
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Not sure what the bad reviews are all about, but my girlfriends just stayed for the weekend for a birthday celebration and fell in love with this hotel!! The staff was sooo very friendly and I can't even say enough about the gardens....So Beautiful. Our room was on the first floor with a private patio facing the gardens. So close to everything so we were able to walk to everything we wanted to do and see! Can't wait to go back again....

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank VirgQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Having read the horrible reveiws regarding this hotel , we went expecting the worst. Lucky for us, we must have gotten a renovated room. It was on the 1st floor in the back part of the hotel, a handicapped room. The room was as pictured on the website. It was clean, sparse and not disgusting, however there was a strange odor, kinda like lavender and mint. I checked for bugs...none that I saw except for a spider in the bathroom. Sheets were clean, looks as if the ceiling had been repopcorned recently, air conditioner and heater were updated. The bath was a good size, but lacked a vanity, they cgave you 2 small glass shelves for your toiletry...not enough. We had a deck which was peeling paint, the exterior needs work on the building and parking lot. The indoor pool was open upon request( rather odd) however extrememly old...but looked clean ( if you can get past the oldness), there is a Jacuzzi as well, but not a commercial one. I personally wouldn't use the pool. The lobby is very nice, and the outdoor pool area seemed updated and nice, but the pool and outside was closed due to the time of year. I would but it on a par of a Days Inn. It has a lot of potencial, but still needs work. If you go in the summer when the pool is open, pershaps then it will be a three star hotel (motel)...but if you look at it just as a room...don't expect too much. I was happy it was clean, and not stained or gross. After seeing some pics online, I thought I was going to be in for a horrible experience. I think we got lucky getting a renovated room. I smelled no mold in the areas we were in. The location is wonderful, walking distance to the Main St. and Ferry's. If you get a great rate it's worth a try.

Room Tip: Walk to the Black Cat for a wonderful dinner, Alberto's on Main St. was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank happy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Hyannis Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hyannis Harbor Hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and appreciate your feedback regarding the exterior and parking lot. Because of our convenient location to the waterfront, you can appreciate the toll it has on the exterior of the building. We take the opportunity every year to refresh the property during the off season when we are closed.

As you mentioned, our location is wonderful. We are directly across from the ferry terminal to Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket and are close to many restaurants and shops. Our seasonal harbor view restaurant and bar, The Bluewater Grille, offers a menu of popular New England favorites. There are also numerous restaurants just steps from the hotel for your dining pleasure.

We hope that you were able to enjoy some of the many amenities at the hotel such as the nautically themed lobby with business center, covered pergola with teak furniture, outdoor fire pit, private courtyard and patio and free internet access. Our outdoor pool area with expanded beautiful two-toned nautical deck, and outdoor shower and poolside bar will be opening soon for the summer season.

We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Hyannis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

On the roomsaver website, walk in rate was $49. Manager instead wanted to charge me $69. Blatant bait and switch. As one who travels often I avoid such establishments and go to those who appreciate my business and act honestly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanfrontChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Hyannis Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hyannis Harbor Hotel. The promotion you were hoping to take advantage of is based on availability. I am sorry if you were unable to receive the promotion when you walked in and apologize for the inconvenience. Rest assured we stand behind our promotions and regret you feel a bait and switch occurred. I assure you it did not.

We hope that you were able to enjoy some of the many amenities at the hotel such as the nautically themed lobby with business center, covered pergola with teak furniture for relaxing in the shade, outdoor fire pit, and private courtyard and patio.

We hope that you will reconsider and stay with us the next time you are in Hyannis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is what my reservation said, "Newly renovated guest room features one king size bed with one queen sleeper sofa. Harbor front rooms surround our center courtyard with outdoor pool area, Harborview Restaurant and Bar, new harbor view terrace, pergola and fire pit. These rooms are located closer to the harbor and ferry than our non-harbor front rooms."

The truth of the matter is the rooms were horrendous. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls. There was mold everywhere. The tile floor was dirty and stained. There was no cooking capabilities (no stove top, no microwave.) There was a fridge surprisingly.

The bathroom was atrocious. Dirt and mildew everywhere. When you were standing in the shower, it felt like a coffin there was no room to turn around.

As for the location of the rooms, saying they had a harbor view is like saying you can see the Great Wall of China from the Space Station. The harbor view you get is that of the ferries in dock and that is across a road across a parking lot across a pier. This does NOT count as a harbor view.

Overall, this hotel is a dive. Best advice I can give is to stay away until they actually renovate the rooms as they promised.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Hyannis Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hyannis Harbor Hotel.

We have strict standard operating procedures for housekeeping at our hotel and we regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at our property. Please let our front desk know if you are experiencing issues with your guest room so that the issues can be addressed immediately.

In addition, our hotel has several different room types. In the future, if you are unsure of what room type is best for you, please do not hesitate to call our Reservations Department who can assist in placing you in the best room to suit all your needs.

We hope that you were able to enjoy some of the many amenities at the hotel such as the nautically themed lobby with business center, covered pergola with teak furniture for relaxing in the shade, outdoor fire pit, and private courtyard and patio.

Our harbor location makes us Hyannis’ most complete and convenient vacation destination, whether you are staying put to enjoy our extensive amenities or venturing out to explore the Cape and the Islands. We are directly across from the ferry terminal to Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket and are close to area shops and attractions.

We hope that you will stay with us again at the Hyannis Harbor Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.6 km away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,034 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
2.1 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,197 reviews
0.5 km away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyannis Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Property: Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Address: 213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4738
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,384 - ₹ 24,355
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyannis Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyannis Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Harbor Hotel Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing