We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our expectations had been too high”
Review of Hyannis Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyannis Travel Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Mt
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Our expectations had been too high”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed here based on reading good reviews, but would not stay here again. Staff were brand new from Ireland and were friendly. At check-in we noticed a large number of young adults in some room patio areas. We asked to be placed in a room away from the group, and were told we were, but then were put right on top of them. We went back to the front desk and the staff had to almost beg someone (by phone) to change our room, which we finally got. The hallways and room were old, small, stuffy, with low ceilings. We just didn't feel like the room was clean, including the small double beds with old blankets and some stains on pillows. Breakfast in the pool area was weird, but thankfully they had the pool covered so no one was swimming. It was basic fare, but at least they had breakfast. Parking was very limited; coming back at 8:00 p.m. we were very lucky to find a place. We didn't find Hyannis Port to be very safe for walking after dark. Hotel was Travelodge or Motel 6 level.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    253
    82
    23
    15
See reviews for
200
209
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Excellent value for a family vacation. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable, good continental breakfast, huge balcony to sit out on at the end of the day. We were a walk across a parking lot to the main street (2 minute walk) for restaurants, shopping and other tourist attractions. We were a 10 minutes with small kids to the harbour which was also very pleasant as we could walk through a beautiful park area with paving stones to push strollers and there was live music a couple of times. Excellent location and service. I would book in at the Inn again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stairs only for access to rooms on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We arrived late in Hyannis and were looking for a room. Unfortunately the Travel Inn was almost completely full. To help us they offered us a small room for a fair rate knowing that it was just for one night. We appreciated this very much. We had a look at the room and decided to stay. The room was indeed very small (as we had been told - so that was ok). There was a certain smell in the room and as we tried to open the window we recognised that it was just a fake window to an indoor corridor. Breakfast was served at the pool. Fortunately the weather was nice so that we could eat outside. But at the pool it was very warm and very humid, so that it was not that comfortable to fetch the breakfast from the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheinland-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Wayne, Ind
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We just spent 4 nights here and really enjoyed the experience. The location is very convenient for restaurants, shopping and general sightseeing. The room we had was very clean and comfortable and we had no problems with the beds, ac's, the breakfast or anything else. The manager and staff were very helpful and assisted in booking boat tours. The price was very reasonable especially after AAA discount. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsFtWayne_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Pluses: Great location - Short walk to Main Street and lots of shops/restaurants
Inexpensive

Minuses: Old, old, old rooms/furnishings
Breakfast that was about as weak as you could get

Adequate (barely) for one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVRBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.2 km away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
0.7 km away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,079 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
0.3 km away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
476 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyannis Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Travel Inn

Property: Hyannis Travel Inn
Address: 18 North Street, Hyannis, MA 02601-3840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hyannis
#4 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#4 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,729 - ₹ 10,750
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyannis Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyannis Travel Inn is an 83-room, AAA rated 2 diamond, Cape Cod hotel.  It is ideally situated in the heart of Hyannis, the "Hub of Cape Cod".  And it is within walking distance to many activities.  Those activities include, golfing, shopping, dining, sports, recreation, cultural attractions and beautiful Hyannis harbor where you can take the ferry to Nantucket or Martha's Vineyard.  Relax and enjoy the warm and congenial atmosphere that only a family operated hotel in Hyannis, MA can provide. 
Each hotel room features cable TV, individual heat and air conditioning and free Wi-Fi access. Hyannis Travel Inn hotel guests will also enjoy the convenience of an in room refrigerator, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, and free local calls at our Hyannis Hotel in Cape Cod, MA.  All rooms are non smoking.  Complimentary Continental Breakfast is served each morning. The staff at our hotel in Hyannis, Ma will help you relax and enjoy your Cape Cod vacation.  The Hyannis Travel Inn is a perfect choice, with our downtown Hyannis location, clean comfortable rooms and very affordable rates.  Take a look at our packages and specials page.  There you will find many holiday specials and Cape Cod golf packages.  Whether you are here for a Cape Cod wedding or vacation, our Cape Cod MA hotel is the best value for your Cape Cod lodging.   The staff at the Hyannis Travel Inn wants to make your stay the best that it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hyannis Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Travel Hotel Hyannis
Hyannis Travel Motel
Hyannis Travel Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing