We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay... A bit unhappy with just one aspect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyannis Holiday Motel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay... A bit unhappy with just one aspect.”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A very basic hotel with throwbacks to the 70's.  Location is wonderful as it is directly across from the Hyannis Harbor.  If you are looking for super modern with loads of extra's then this is bit the place for you.  It is a simple, clean, and fair priced motel.

Pro's
-directly across from the harbor
-very clean rooms
-majority of the staff is wonderful and very helpful
-ample parking
-indoor and outdoor pools
-free coffee and small pastries
-family run for many years
-loads of coupons and brochures in the office.
-great evening staff recommended the Black Cat next door..thank you!

Con's
-was a wonderful weather day on that Friday and Saturday and the lady (who is pregnant) refused to open the pool outside.  There were kids that thought 80 and mostly sunny in the afternoon was too cool.  Same weather on that Thursday and Monday and pool was open (different lifeguard)

-one very rude and condescending front desk employee (daytime, woman, glasses)  I wish I had her name because I would have spoken to the owner)  She was observed to be very mean to a fellow worker in the parking lot.  He was a maintenance worker who was very friendly with everyone. She was screaming and berating him in the lot about a trash bag and towels.  We had just been walking through the lot and heard her very loudly.  We even hard issues with her at the front desk when we asked a few questions about the pool and about an Internet coupon.  We are not sure if we would go back again next summer vacation as it really just bothered us a great deal.  Our kids were amazed at her and would see her and they would go the other way.

Otherwise, we would stay there again if you can avoid the one bad apple.  Sad because we had a wonderful vacation when not considering her.  I hope that it will be taken care of in the future.  

Room Tip: Would stay on a second floor room for a view of the boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ryanma30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    95
    81
    31
    18
See reviews for
86
119
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My family and I stayed here aug.18 -20. Pros: availability, close to ferry to martha's vineyard, free parking and walk to veteran memorial park and kalmus beach. Also, the front desk was very nice and allowed us to leave our cars in their lot for free the day we checked out so that we could take the ferry to the vineyard (came back same day).
cons: motel is old, not updated, and charge $5 extra for refrigerator. Normally I wouldn't care but we had our infant daughter with us and had to keep her food and milk refrigerated. Thus this motel is not best choice if you have kids. No irons and hair dryers in the room, you have to go ask for one at front desk. the grounds are not pretty. Pools are really small and the outdoor pool is just in the middle of the parking lot!
cleanliness: my room was dirty there were roasted nuts on the chair and nuts on the rug. They did not change out sheets daily, which would of been ok but I don't even think there were fresh sheets to begin with. The beds were old. Overall this is a bare bones motel. nothing special, just a place to sleep. I would not suggest it for families with children, maybe just adults. Bathrooms are small (mine smelled) and shower head was broken.

Room Tip: All second floor rooms have a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

Pa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

You pay for location and this place has it! Right across the street from the Hyannis Harbor, where you will catch the boat for Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. Also great place to catch a fishing boat for hire and there are plenty of them. Half and full day. There are a few rooms facing the harbor, we weren't in one of them, but just step outside our door and we could see the boats from our room.
If you are looking for anything modern, don't stay here. This places wreaks of the '60's. The toilet in our room was so low I almost needed a riser to get up from it. No bathroom fan, either. Basic linen and towels. Beds were average. Not the best or worst. Air conditioning units are in the wall at bed height and loud, blowing over us at night. I have trouble sleeping when it's not dark in the room. The curtains were thin and the light shone through the main windows, the back side windows only had a valance with no blinds. Same in the bathroom, though the windows were frosted. The room was very bright for sleeping. This may not bother some. Some mini blinds or full curtains would really help with the light shining in at night. We booked through HotWire for a what I thought was a discount. We could have gotten the same rate through the hotel. Also, my granddaughter was paging through a coupon book and they offered a discount coupon for "walk-ins" at about a $20 saving over our rate. This didn't make me happy. We were there during the busiest month, August, and they had rooms available for walk-ins. The outdoor pool was closed the entire time we were there (4days), but the indoor pool was open until 9PM each nite. Breakfast was minimal, but what I would call normal...coffee,tea, orange juice and pastry. Really no privacy if you wanted to sit outside of your room, you basically are sitting on the sidewalk, with your neighbor very close. We were on the ground floor. This is a VERY BUSY AREA. Right across the street on the same side as the hotel, you will find the parking for the boats. Cars coming and going all the time. But it really wasn't "noisy" when we were there, just very busy. We walked everywhere, mainly the main street, a few blocks away, to shops and restaurants. The beach area (really the bay, not the ocean) is not far, you could walk (I think it's far), but it's an easy drive with kids and the stuff you have to lug for a day at the "beach". The motel offers a discount coupon for a few restaurants, $6 off 2 adult meals. Not bad. The staff was very helpful and nice. The motel was very clean and kept-up as far as that goes, but for the price of the room, I expected much more. I would stay here again if I went during the off season when the rooms are $65, but I wouldn't spend $138/night again to stay here. But, like I said....location location location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roaming_around_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We always love a quick getaway to cape cod and the islands. The holiday is a great place to stay with their friendly staff, clean rooms and great location and beaches. We
look forward to returning year after year on our vacation as we visit the Cape, Newport and Boston. Great food and friends makes this travel time very special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seadogs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Overall my stay at the Hyannis Holiday Motel was very satisfactory. You really get what you pay for at this hotel because it may not be the best out there, but the service provided and the location makes up for it. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff and were even asked for assistance with our luggage even though we didn't need it, but it was nice to have been offered. Check in took some time, but not long and it was easy finding our room even though it seems to be a big property. The interesting thing about the rooms at this hotel was that instead of electronic locks they are key locks and sliding doors, but they have a big curtain for privacy. There was nothing wrong with our room and the beds were comfortable, shower was hot, room was clean and the room temperature was very controllable with the AC in the room. Overall once again it was very satisfactory stay for only paying $128.00 a night and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Use the 10% off coupon on Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirkbngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hyannis hotels
0.3 km away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,260 reviews
0.5 km away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#18 of 22 in Hyannis
484 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#12 of 22 in Hyannis
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,092 reviews
4.4 km away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyannis Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Holiday Motel

Property: Hyannis Holiday Motel
Address: 131 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,165 - ₹ 12,008
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyannis Holiday Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our magnificent waterfront location on the Ocean Street Docks in Hyannis is the ideal backdrop for a unforgettable Cape Cod vacation getaway for couples and families. Our courteous hospitality, relaxing atmosphere and clean accommodationns are the reasons our repeat customers continue coming back to the Hyannis Holiday Motel for the past 52 years. The Hyannis Holiday Motel, offers waterfront Cape Cod lodging that overlooks the picturesque Hyannis harbor. Our waterfront motel overlooks Hyannis Harbor and is directly across from the Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard Island Ferry boats. Our guests can walk to sandy beaches, restaurants, shops, local attractions and to downtown Hyannis. We are only a short drive away to the Hyannis Whale Watch cruises, Come Explore Cape Cod's Special Treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyannis Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Holiday Hotel Hyannis
Hyannis Holiday Motel Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing