We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal”
Review of El Rincon Boricua

El Rincon Boricua
Ranked #12 of 116 Restaurants in Holyoke
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Seriously delicious Puerto Rican food, huge portions for under 10 bucks, quick takeout service, really nice people. Can't go wrong here.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank sofismon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Walk in and get food hot and ready! Yellow rice w gandules or salchicha, yuca, sweet plantains, empanadillas, papas de rellenos, pernil, bistec.... Shall I go on? The food is delicious and made fresh daily. Their sandwiches are amazing and about 16 inches long. You can sit down and order at your leisure or walk in and select food already done. Take it to go or sit at a table. They're very accommodating. Staff is friendly. If you're having a celebration they also do catering orders! Prices are very reasonable. It's a must try if you're in the area!

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank Wtnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

As Holyoke revives its downtown as a place for arts, culture, and community, El Rincon is thriving and leading the way. This cozy spot offers unfailingly delicious and authentic food served by the warm and welcoming staff. When I took a friend who had never had Puerto Rican food before, our waitress helpfully described different dishes and made suggestions about what to try. The pernil (roast pork) is melt-in-your-mouth tender and so flavorful. Try the bolitas de mofongo with mayoketchup - you'll feel like you just came in from a day at the beach. We are so lucky to have El Rincon in the neighborhood!

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrlFryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Went to try out the food due to some my friends raving about it but really wasn't that impressed with it.
The locale is quaint, the bathroom (yes, I judge the facilities, too) was clean and easily accessible, and wait staff was very courteous and prompt...and during my stay, it stayed busy.
My order was octopus salad with tostones, with water infused with lime juice. Although the presentation was excellent, the salad was drowning in oil which took away from the flavor and made it feel slimy in my mouth and the tostones were lukewarm and greasy a sure sign that they were not made to order, not drained properly and certainly not how most Puerto Rican food is required to be served...and the deal breaker for me.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

We always look for a taste of home every time we vacation, and this was worth every moment. The food was delicious, Hector and Carmen went out of their way to make us feel like we where back in Puerto Rico. We loved it! And we recommend you come have a taste of home!

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Orlando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rincon Boricua also viewed

 

Been to El Rincon Boricua? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing