We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
235
36
20
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
235
36
20
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach resort harwich port private beach cape cod both locations nantucket sound only place we will stay each morning great room early risers jetted tub heated pool continental breakfast boiled eggs checking out off season bagels
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015

As soon as you drive up to the Inn, you feel welcomed. The parking spots are marked regally with the Suite name. The flowers and waterfall to the entrance are elegant and inviting. We stayed 2 nights in the Commander's suite and it was very spacious, 400 sq feet, with a balcony and a spa-like bathroom. Breakfast was served as continental, fresh cut fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, home-made muffins (coconut and berry), cereals and lots more. Staying at the Inn allows use of the Beach House, which is a mile away. The beach is private and chairs and towels are available. This truly is a fabulous Inn and perfect in every way. The staff is great as well. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasHeywood, General Manager at Winstead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2015

Thank you for your kind words. Just a note that the two properties are 1.5 miles away but since we drove you back and forth it doesn't seen so far. Please do come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the Crow's nest over a weekend stay. The room was fabulous! It had a huge multi jet shower, sitting area, table. Refrigerator in the room and the bed was very comfortable. While it wasn't a problem for us, it is not handicapped accessible, so we walked to two half flights of stairs to access our room. (I think they should let people know before they book). The house is beautiful the backyard area and pool well appointed and while it's not on a beach, they offer a free shuttle back and forth. After seeing their beach location definitely recommend staying at Winstead and taking the shuttle! The only thing that I think the owners might consider is a better breakfast. Based on the lodging experience, I was expecting a better experience. Breakfast was similar to something you find at lower cost Marriott hotel. It would have been very easy to offer a beautiful bowl of fresh blueberries/strawberries whipped cream, better coffee, even the addition of Belgian waffles?? While they brought out warm muffins, they lacked flavor, so I stayed with a banana and prepackaged yogurt. Even though the breakfast was a disappointment, I would definitely stay again.. Bring your snacks and alcohol and enjoy the backyard.. Just bring plastic glasses!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Columbine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasHeywood, General Manager at Winstead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Thank you for your constructive thoughts. Even though our website said third floor, I have added "Two flights of stairs". We do have handicapped rooms(no stairs) available at the Winstead Village property. Unfortunately we do not have a commercial kitchen so we are somewhat inhibited with our breakfast offerings(cereal/oatmeal, yogurt,fresh cut seasonal fruit,egg machine at the Winstead Inn (for hard/soft boiled) breads,bagels, English muffins as well as our homemade muffins and sweet breads. A short walk from either there are breakfast spots for full breakfast selections. Yes we do make our coffee stronger than most places but this way it can be diluted. Oh, we do have plastic cups in the rooms as well as at the entry to the pool area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

The Winstead inn was an ideal spot to vacation on Cape Cod. The room was immaculate, the staff personable and attentive! The pool was well maintained and the shuttle to a private beach accommodated all our needs! After staying here we could never stay anywhere else

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasHeywood, General Manager at Winstead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Sharon,
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return. Remember that the Winstead Inn is now open year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed two nights at the Inn recently in the Admiral's Suite. We chose the Inn over the Beach Resort so we could have access to both the pool and the beach. The Inn is impeccably decorated with classic style in both their inside and outside spaces. The room was very large with nice sitting area and way more storage than we needed. The bed was very comfortable. The included breakfast was continental but featured homemade banana bread, muffins and fresh fruit. When we went over to the beach resort there was an attendant there to set up lounge chairs and an umbrella for us. The beach was clean and not windy at all. Our stay was very enjoyable and we plan to return in the future.

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions on the website. Also the staff was very helpful when we called to reserve.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cubiclegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasHeywood, General Manager at Winstead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Thank you; we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

The Winstead Beach House is the perfect place for a few days relaxing by the ocean. The private beach is "right out back" - smooth sand, gentle waves on Nantucket Sound. Our ground level room was comfortable and really did have "ocean view." There were a queen size and twin size bed in the room + 2 armchairs; a dresser, flat screen TV; a small fridge in the closet; and a shower/tub enclosure in the tiled bathroom. Plenty of extra pillows, blankets and towels were available in the room and the beds were very comfortable. The linens were of excellent quality. A Continental breakfast provided each morning included coffee & tea, a variety of boxed cereals; warm banana bread & home baked muffins as well as bread, bagels, & English muffins to toast; juice and a fresh fruit bowl. All were nicely presented. The common area included tables for breakfast but one may also use a tray to take food outside on the terrace or patio. The staff is very professional but so discrete as to be nearly invisible unless summoned. Amenities that would have earned another star from me: grab bars in the bathroom; bottled water available in the room; a notebook with clear instructions on how to arrange for beach chairs & umbrellas.
The location in Harwich Port is easy to find, just off Rte. 28, yet it seems secluded and quiet - really a gem in an area of the Cape that is still a quaint little village rather than a bustling tourist zone. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Hallways are narrow and stairs are carpeted but steep. It would be wise to call before booking if assisted access is needed.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasHeywood, General Manager at Winstead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2015

Dear Katherine P,
The grab bar is duly noted, and though many rooms do have them, I agree all should. We have chosen the more environmentally friendly route so glass ware is in the rooms and the water cooler/heater in the dining area for unlimited water. We choose to display our pertinent information in a frame on a table top. Our front desk is open between the hours of 8:00am - 9:00pm and of course we take calls 24/7 as is noted in the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews