We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We wanted to move in and stay a while” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brandt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brandt House
Ranked #2 of 4 Greenfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
333 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“We wanted to move in and stay a while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

The Brandt House was like staying at home, if you lived in a mansion built in the 1800s. It was roomy and cozy, but also upscale for a B&B. We stayed in Room 4 on the top floor. The beds were unbelievably comfortable and the room was warm even in the cool weather. The bathroom was charming as well, with a claw-footed tub. My dog was welcome at the Brandt House, and the staff was very friendly and helpful with advice on where to get dinner in town. (Definitely eat at Magpie's!)

Breakfast in the morning was tasty. There was fresh cut fruit, cereal, a variety of beverages, fresh baked goods, and eggs cooked to order. Also, there were several nice seating areas in the house, which were perfect to curl up in with a book. We were sorry to leave after staying only one night!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    13
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
73
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We visited this B & B just for one night. It was easy to find but a little bit outside the main street. When we arrived there we had a good first impression, our welcome letter was as promised in the basket at the door and we had no problems finding our room.
There was no key so we decided to knock at the office door and see if somebody is there, but there wasn't. So we went around the house and found a women cleaning the porch and she was from the staff. She was very nice and showed us around the house (they have a nice B & B, also a billard table and board games) and then to our room. She also gave us the key to the room.

We had room 2, which was nice, but a little bit outdated. I did not like the TV at all, it was very small and the colours changed every 5 seconds. The bed was okay but on wheels, so it stood a little away from the wall, which I didn't like. Furthermore, somewhere in the house was an A/C that went on and off every five minutes and the wall kind of vibrated because of that. We could feel that when lying in the bed though it was not directly on the wall.

The rest of the room was nice and spacious. The bathroom was okay but the blinds could not close fully, which was not a big problem as it was facing the backyard. The biggest problem was the door to the bathroom, which was a little bit older so it could not been closed without making a loud noise. Furthermore, the toilet had a problem and flooded the whole bathroom. We could fix it and it was 10 minutes before we were leaving but if it would have happened at night, it would have been bad. But they have some night staff too.

Breakfast was nice, there was just one big table with cake and fruit already there. Also they had juice and granola and some toast there. The woman came and asked us how we would like our eggs cooked, and we ordered them scrambled. They were very good and I guess about 3 eggs, which was a large portion.

Check out went smoothly, so this was okay. By the way they had free wi-fi at the house and also a PC to use for the guests.

For me it was okay to stay at the Brandt House, but the sleep quality was not that good because of the noise and also the bathroom incident was not so good. Maybe a different room would be better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winodino84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We just returned from a weekend visit to the Brandt House in Greenfield Massachusetts. We had a delightful time and highly recommend it for anyone wanting a beautifully appointed B&B with a casual elegance, fabulous breakfast, and a staff that is friendly, knowledgeable, and genuinely committed to helping you enjoy your visit to the house and the surrounding area of Deerfield and the Pioneer Valley. The house has a lovely dining room, a beautiful outdoor porch complete with wicker furniture and a near constant cool breeze and nine beautifully decorated rooms. The innkeepers and staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. It is the best B&B in New England that I have visited.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0rrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

i booked a room at the inn and never got to see my room. I encountered an emergency that resulted in my best friends death, when I told the people at the Inn they proceeded to take 162.25 out of bank account without my authorization. They did not care that my friend passed away or even that I never got to enter the room. They said they could have rented it and they wanted thier money. Like I knew that my friend would have this emergency and die. They are evil!!!!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank jfb6215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glocester, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

I totally recommend this Bed and Breakfast! From the first phone call I made there, I knew it would be a good experience. One great feature is that it was very easy to find! Straight shot from the highway! All the staff were wonderfully helpful and patient and not invasive or hovering. We felt comfortable and right at home! The room was lovely and clean and the food delicious. They have a beautiful porch and a lovely garden. There was a porch swing and also a tree swing from days of yore which was wonderful! I was surprised to find a quaint patio in the garden area with comfy chairs and a gas fire pit in the middle! The area was very pretty. It was gorgeous this morning!
Again, if you are staying in this area, you will not be disappointed if you stay with the kind people at the Brandt House.
Sincerely,
Vikki Cunningham

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikkimrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
4.3 km away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
22.1 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
10.4 km away
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
#1 of 1 in Bernardston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
23.7 km away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#1 of 1 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandt House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandt House

Property: Brandt House
Address: 29 Highland Avenue, Greenfield, MA 01301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Greenfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Greenfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,019 - ₹ 16,971
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandt House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brandt House three and-a-half-acre, turn-of-the-century estate is located in a charming residential area of Greenfield, just minutes from I-91 and Route 2 in northwestern Massachusetts. Greenfield and the Pioneer Valley blend culture, history, adventure, and hospitality into an unforgettable rural vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Brandt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing