We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty dirty dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Absolutely terrible! Dirty. Stinky. Smelled of stale cigarette smoke even though the room was non smoking. Bathroom gross, bed uncomfortable & view was borderline nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaraujo0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservedgirl, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Ann's Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

We're sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately we were not aware of the issues you had while staying with us and wish that we could have rectified the situation while you were here. We have staff available 24 hours a day to accommodate all guest requests and concerns while staying with us and do our best to meet each guest's needs.

As a "home away from home" we strive to keep our rooms, pool, marina, and property as clean as possible and we’re sincerely apologetic that we did not meet your standards. All of our rooms and common areas are non-smoking (we switched over to all non-smoking rooms over 5 years ago) while smoking is permitted outside. While we were not aware that a previous guest may have smoked in one of our rooms, we apologize for the "stale cigarette" odor. Please know that we take many steps to ensure that our non-smoking rooms are indeed non-smoking and that we do our upmost best to clear our rooms of any smoke/cigarette odor when a guest goes against our non-smoking policy.

Cape Ann's Marina Resort's goal is to make each guest's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and it concerns us when we do not meet this goal. We sincerely apologize for not providing an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Cape Ann's Marina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at the Resort for a few days in January of this year. We had a nice king bed which was very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was self serve but had everything we needed and our table looked out onto the peir which was nice. The pool and hot tub were awesome. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The most important thing for us is always how clean are the rooms....this was very very clean and they did a great job over our 3 night stay. We are actually going back next week for another short get a way! We go to Gloucester at least 1-3 times a year and this is the first time we had stayed here. Really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MByers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed ther for my son's wedding. We were not told that the pool would be closed due to the employee Christmas party. I reserved early and it seemed that as more people made reservations then the higher the price. No elevators. They would not help me arrange a shuttle bus to the reception (1 1/2 miles away) even though we booked every room in the hotel during a time when they are ususally over 90 % vacant! Very disappointing. Good luck tracking down security for late check-ins and they gave away the room reserved for the bride and groom! Rooms were clean but we expected more.

Room Tip: No elevators so if you pick a 3rd floor room then you will be carrying your luggage up. They do not...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Was there on business for 3 nights. Rate $75 per night in November (not many guests). The room was basic but clean and staff pleasant. Mattress and pillows decent. Small flat screen TV in the room and basic cable provided. Opened the water tap in the tub the second day and brown water came out - don't know if they had to shut down the system for repair. After a while it got cleaner. Average place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SD3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here for my brother's wedding. Some of the people staying payed up to $200 per night and felt ripped off. For that much they felt like the rooms should have been nicer.

We paid $140 for a room with double beds on the second floor. The rooms were clean and while they had a slightly akward feel with the lack of closets (a weird post thing in the room was the substitute), they were still nice. The beds were rather firm, but I didnt think they were rock hard. They gave you plenty of pillows, which I always like. The furnishings in some rooms looked more recently updated. Each floor has a furnishing theme. It had the feel of a mom and pop place vs an industry hotel.

The bathrooms were very plain jane and on the small side, but really, do you need a fancy bathroom? The back of the hotel has a wooden balcony that runs the full length. There are chairs for you to sit on and enjoy the morning view ith the free coffee/hot chocolate they provide. As there was so many family members staying here, we really enjoyed going to each other;s rooms this back way. You could walk along in your PJs and knock on their back door.

I actually really liked staying here. I love the water, so being on it was fun. No you cant swim there and you have to drive a couple of minutes to get into the "town".

There is a decent sized pool and a bar area that is nice to hang out in. There is a gas station at the entrance you can pick up donuts from for breakfast.

Because it is a small place, they dont have a lot of front desk staff. A problem if you get there and are 3rd in line. The staff seemed to be pretty nice. Make sure to get your confirmation number with price because they tried to tell us upon checking in that the room rate was actually quite a bit higher than what it was when we orginally booked it. I dont know what the problem was, but it didnt feel like a scam.

The Gloucester area was very pretty with VERY yummy food. I could easily have spend 4-5 days in the town alone.

Room Tip: Dont pick a room on the ground level and ask that it not be near the stairs. FYI there is no elevat...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyofFive3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
225 reviews
3.9 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
398 reviews
3.8 km away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
8.7 km away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
338 reviews
3.4 km away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Ann's Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Ann's Marina Resort

Address: 75 Essex Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-4908
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: ₹ 8,287 - ₹ 14,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Ann's Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our year-round hotel features on-the-water rooms with balconies overlooking beautiful salt water marshes. Walk from your room through our indoor skywalks to our lobby, Spa, pool, jacuzzi, and function room. Spend time relaxing at our indoor, glass enclosed year-round chlorine-free pool and jacuzzi or catch some rays on the sun deck overlooking the Annisquam River and marina. Enjoy a relaxing treatment from our Spa menu or participate in one of our Wellness Classes including Yoga, and Pilates - be sure to treat yourself, while you are here! Dine and unwind after a day of whale watching, fishing or shopping at our NEW waterside tent bar & cafe (seasonal), Mile Marker One. Enjoy your favorite drink, and watch the boats go by. All located on premise. A great place for couples, families, corporate business travel, reunions, clambakes, weddings, groups and tours, and get togethers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cape Ann's Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Ann`s Marina Hotel Gloucester
Cape Ann Marinas Hotel
Cape Ann Marinas Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing