We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Nearby Hotels
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beauport Hotel Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$ 335
US$ 285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vista(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$ 178
US$ 151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$ 191
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Lion Motel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Manor Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$ 161
US$ 128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Ann Motor Inn(Gloucester)
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harborview Inn(Gloucester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Julietta House(Gloucester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
56
51
48
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
51
48
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolwatch the boatschowdergreat tastegreat lunchhaddockthe penthousehotel restaurantlove this placefloor roomcomfortable bedsgreat viewshared balconynew englandshort drivedeckdrawbridge
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here for my brother's wedding. Some of the people staying payed up to $200 per night and felt ripped off. For that much they felt like the rooms should have been nicer.

We paid $140 for a room with double beds on the second floor. The rooms were clean and while they had a slightly akward feel with the lack of closets (a weird post thing in the room was the substitute), they were still nice. The beds were rather firm, but I didnt think they were rock hard. They gave you plenty of pillows, which I always like. The furnishings in some rooms looked more recently updated. Each floor has a furnishing theme. It had the feel of a mom and pop place vs an industry hotel.

The bathrooms were very plain jane and on the small side, but really, do you need a fancy bathroom? The back of the hotel has a wooden balcony that runs the full length. There are chairs for you to sit on and enjoy the morning view ith the free coffee/hot chocolate they provide. As there was so many family members staying here, we really enjoyed going to each other;s rooms this back way. You could walk along in your PJs and knock on their back door.

I actually really liked staying here. I love the water, so being on it was fun. No you cant swim there and you have to drive a couple of minutes to get into the "town".

There is a decent sized pool and a bar area that is nice to hang out in. There is a gas station at the entrance you can pick up donuts from for breakfast.

Because it is a small place, they dont have a lot of front desk staff. A problem if you get there and are 3rd in line. The staff seemed to be pretty nice. Make sure to get your confirmation number with price because they tried to tell us upon checking in that the room rate was actually quite a bit higher than what it was when we orginally booked it. I dont know what the problem was, but it didnt feel like a scam.

The Gloucester area was very pretty with VERY yummy food. I could easily have spend 4-5 days in the town alone.

Room Tip: Dont pick a room on the ground level and ask that it not be near the stairs. FYI there is no elevator!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyofFive3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Enjoyed our room. Bed was great to sleep on. Room was clean, staff very pleasant. Unfortunately, I was not able to use the heated pool - maybe next time. Would like to see larger and strudier towel hangers/holders in bathroom. Overall, enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We chose the 3rd floor as it had a great view out to the ocean. We went in October and luckily it was in the 80's! We didnt get to take the rivercruise as they end in Sept. The room was fine for the night except for the bed sheets. They were so pilly it felt like we were sleeping on an old blanket! The mattress was hard but bearable. I enjoyed the porch and luckily no one else was out there because there are no partitions betweens the rooms. It would be a considerable walk to town as some advertise. It is not far by car though. We did not use the pool and unfortunately the deck bar was closed. I wish had been able to stay in season!

Room Tip: Ask to go upstairs if you can carry the bags up...no elevator!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This Hotel is ok if you are traveling by boat and intend on sleeping on your boat. Otherwise you get what you pay for, rooms were very musty smelling, bathrooms very small with very poor shower heads, I thought I was standing in front of a fire hydrant. Beds were terrible the mattress was so hard to sleep on, I would have been better off sleeping on the floor, but then againa the Rugs seemed like they hadn't been replaced or cleaned in years. Also a member of our party ended up with ringworm on her face. Need I say more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservedgirl, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Ann's Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

It’s quite unfortunate to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us and for that we apologize sincerely. It is our goal to make each guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible and we wish we could have had the chance to discuss your concerns and unhappiness with you in order to rectify the situation in some way.

For now I’d like to take a moment to address the complaints you’ve posted here:

Mattress - While we are sorry to see that you did not enjoy the condition of your mattress we’ve received much praise for our choice in mattresses from many other guests.

Rugs - All of our rugs were replaced in the spring of 2010, at the end of our 3-year renovation process, and have regular scheduled cleanings.

Scent – Our hotel rooms are right on the salt water, surrounded by the precious great salt marsh of Essex County. Due to our tidal surroundings occasionally there can be a musty smell. While we try our best we can’t do too much about Mother Nature, in part it’s about capturing the on the water experience.

Ringworm - We have never had any complaint, in 40 years of business, of someone catching any type of infection while here, nor have we heard from the guest that claims they got ringworm while staying with us. This accusation is without validation.

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay with us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

It was refreshing to have a resort that is friendly to scuba divers. The two of us may have been the only divers there, but we were welcomed. Among other things that attracted us there they had clean rooms everyday of our stay, banisters for our gear, and friendly staff all around the complex. Across the street was The Causeway, a restaurant not to be missed. Very easy access from Rts 128 and 127 and on to local dive sites within Cape Ann.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews