We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
505
49
12
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
49
12
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit vineyard room front porch cape cod beach chairs main street bunk beds efficiency apartment suntan lotion martha's vineyard the main house coffee and tea favorite places surf drive beach kitchen area toaster oven new england
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018

As a lifelong Cape Cod vacationer, and a ten time runner of the Falmouth Road Race, I’ve run past the Beach Breeze Inn and was always impressed by it’s festive appearance, and cheering guests, as I neared the 5 mile mark of the 7 mile race. We’ve previously wanted to stay there but, through no one’s fault but our own, never attempted to reserve a room there timely enough to find a vacancy. After an earlier extended visit to the Cape this summer, we decided to return to Falmouth for a short late summer trip and were able to book a room for our visit.
What a disappointment!

Let me start with the positives. The BBI is close to the beach, on a very well maintained property. It’s quaint, impeccably clean and staffed with an exceedingly friendly, capable and helpful staff. Unfortunately, our experience with our room more than canceled out the positives.

I made our reservation by phone, and when I explained that I needed accommodations for 3 people, the room I was placed in is their “Studio” (room W-1 to be exact) which is poolside and separate from the “main house.” Our room included two full sized beds, and a “kitchenette” with microwave, toaster oven, fridge, and it was amply supplied with utensils. (no coffeemaker as advertised) Upon entering our room, our jaws dropped. These rooms are almost cell like as far as room space. To call them cramped would be an understatement. There’s no closet (you have to store your clothes that need hanging on a wall mounted waterfall type bar) no table to sit at, or even a single chair to sit ON. There was barely room for our luggage. If you wanted to utilize the kitchenette, you either need to eat standing, or sit on a bed. The room would be “tight” for two people. The three of us were literally bumping into each other.

The immaculately clean bathroom, while also small, was renovated with custom tile and had a roomy walk in shower. Amenities? Well, you are given two thumb sized “bars” of soap, and a tube of shampoo. That’s IT! No lotion, no conditioner, or any of the toiletries you’d get from even a cheap roadside motel. Our housekeeper forgot to supply us with soap when our original ones needed replacing. When we went to the “office” to get some, we were given two more thumb sized bars. Can you “afford it?”

Our room had an “in wall” A/C. We had some very humid weather and the a/c didn’t function properly during those times. Our room was like a steam bath and it was impossible to sleep comfortably as a result. When the weather was less humid, it worked but, we really didn’t need the A/C then. What was most surprising is, on the humid days, we left the a/c on when we weren’t in the room, not only to hope it “cooled off” but to hopefully rid the room of the musty smell. When we returned, housekeeping had shut off the A/C and opened the windows. Amazing!

Yes, the location was poolside—translation? NOISY and so close to the pool that when you’re standing outside your entrance, you can literally touch the people sitting on a chaise next to the fence.

Toss in the the fact that the kitchenette lights didn’t work (no, there wasn’t a dimmer that we overlooked) and we did something we’ve never done before in our life, leave a day early. We’d had enough.

When we turned in the keys, we explained to the surprised innkeeper why we were leaving. He was polite, but indifferent. He outlined they make no pretenses as to room size, which is true, but they also aren’t transparent. I booked by phone, expressed some reservation about the “full sized” beds being adequate for two adults, and was told they’d be fine. To be fair, we did express dissatisfaction with room size to the manager at check in. She did offer us the option to move to another room that was due to open up later in our stay but, that room included a full sized bed and bunks. A bunk wouldn’t have suited our needs. When we declined, the manager kiddingly stated “you’re going to get to know each other very well during your stay!”

Upon arriving home, we looked at some of the negative reviews and most are totally on par with what we stated. What was really disheartening was the responses from the owners to those reviews. They were defensive, and never seemed to acknowledge the reviewers’ statements as valid. When you get repeated negative reviews for the same grievances, they should be viewed as legitimate, constructive, and not disregarded as unimportant. Nor should your visitors be lectured to with excuses. They should do right by their guests. Do yourself a favor…READ THOSE NEGATIVE REVIEWS!

The BBI is a place with TREMENDOUS potential that, for a variety of reasons fell way short with us. We're by no means nitpickers but, for a room with a base rate of $325 per night, we expected MUCH more, a comfortable stay at minimum.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are motel like
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gleeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbreezeinn, Owner at Beach Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for your very detailed and well written review of your recent stay at our Inn. Clearly we did not live up to your expectations and I am truly sorry for that.

I do take a bit of exception however to your reference to the negative reviews that you reference which is interesting as there have been only one in the past year, and that is yours. You were given the option of moving to a larger room with a queen bed and bunk beds but you elected to stay where you were because your daughter didn't want to sleep in a twin instead of a full size. In fact we reached back out to you to double check whether you wanted that other room as you never got back to us as you had said you would.
It seems to me that would have solved most of your issues. The size of the bedroom and bathroom is nothing we can change and when I spoke with you originally it was quite clearly indicated to you that they are not overly roomy. There is nothing to indicate that we have chairs in our rooms and you did not indicate a need or desire when you booked with us.

We do supply soap for the bathroom sink, shower, shampoo/conditioner and dish soap for the kitchenette. We no longer have coffee makers in the rooms as we offer coffee 24 hours in our main kitchenette.

We had a pretty tough period of unusually high humidity and unfortunately some people turn the a/c units on full cool which causes the units to freeze up and reduces their ability to cool. When you mentioned it to us, we immediately went over after you left, found the thermostat on full cool, and turned the unit off and opened the windows to allow the unit to defrost. Once that was done, it worked fine and still is.

I can't address the kitchen lights not working but they are working fine at this moment and and have since you left. Perhaps if you had let us know about that we could have showed you the dimmer.

Our swimming pool is not opened until 9am and closes at 8pm. The location of the room is close to that area and also to our patio area with chairs and tables to enjoy as well as our outdoor fire-pit that we light each evening to enjoy s'mores. Most of our families enjoy the proximity to that area and in fact request it. We are sorry you chose to not utilize those areas and amenities.

I believe that if you had chosen to book with us well in advance, you would have had a multitude of options in terms of room size and layouts. As you mentioned, that was the weekend of the Falmouth Road Race and in addition to being the busiest week of the year, guests book their accommodations well in advance so very little inventory is available short term. Unfortunately you did not contact us until three weeks prior to arrival which didn't allow for many options to offer you. We were up front with what we had and you made the decision to take it and stay with it.

We pride ourselves on "doing right by our guests" and always have. Rather than read a couple of old negative reviews as you would suggest, I would suggest that our current and more plentiful reviews give a much better picture of our Inn and our services. There is a reason we are the top rated property in Falmouth for nearly ten years now. That does not speak to potential at all but to real performance and living up to many folk's expectations on a yearly basis. I am truly sorry we didn't offer you what you wanted but I am quite content that we did the best to give you what you booked.
As my grandmother used to say, "you can't please all of the people all of the time". We do our absolute best but sometimes it is just not to be.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

As always Walt is there to make us feel at home. You’ll love this place as it’s comfortable, clean, and family friendly. Nightly s’mores make my boys happy... even the 20 year old!

Looking forward to coming back!

Don, sorry we missed you. However, Walt’s got it under control.. as usual.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbreezeinn, Owner at Beach Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jon,
Thank you as always for your recent visit and ongoing loyalty to our Inn. I am sorry to have missed you as well and promise to not let it happen again! As you noted however, Walt had things under control and always does.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Half a block from surf drive beach and with its own pool we enjoy the Beach Breeze Inn almost annually. Don and Walt will always go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. It's also just a few blocks from the center of town, which you'll need as the inn doesn't offer any food. However, there is a grill that you can use and tables outside to eat your family dinner at (followed by smores complement of the inn). Bring the bikes and ride on the shining sea bike pass, enjoy the lawn games and bring your wine or beer to the front porch in the evening. A wonderfully relaxing and joyful place.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pts71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We just spent 3 days with Walt and his team and it could not have been better! The Inn was immaculate , they have everything you need from a Gas grille to sun tan lotion. A short walk to downtown and even closer to the beach. They have a nice pool for after the beach. We where there with our Grandchildren and it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipfub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

My wife and young son stayed here for 3 nights before venturing to Martha's Vineyard. Great location if you're heading for Woods Hole and simply a great place to stay. Our room was practically a suite - two bedrooms with doors plus a spacious living area. Spotlessly clean and in a lovely location near the beach. I miss sitting on the porch with a drink watching the world go by - we hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews