We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal February fun frolic for family and friends.”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal February fun frolic for family and friends.”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

To revise my earlier error - accidentally showing 1 star instead of 5, this was a GREAT place to sneak away to for the weekend. Well worth the drive through rain and the hassle to get away to arrive at this lovely spot and feel like we had it nearly to ourselves. The staff was warm and welcoming, the weather cooperated from Saturday till our reluctant departure on Sunday, and the special winter-time on the island made for mandatory rest and relaxation. Sunday brunch was worth delaying our departure to a later boat. Ordinarily we don't stay in hotels, but our house was rented and we needed an escape to the island. My daughter and friend met my husband and me, and we all really enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVTAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    263
    96
    71
    32
See reviews for
243
461
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Harborview on Martha's Vineyard in February. It has been renovated, but retains the historic charm. Friendly staff, large, nice room, relaxing ambiance and a lovely lighthouse view from our window. So, who cares if it was sunny and warm one day and ice and snow the next? Edgartown was empty and quiet - perfect!

Room Tip: Go off-season, ask for an upgraded room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Needing a winter getaway and wanting to explore Martha's Vineyard during the off season, we booked a couple of nights at the Harbor View. Upon check in, it was obvious that the hotel was at about 1/2 capacity. Our original room was beautiful, but did not have an ocean view. We asked for a different room, and the manager was happy to oblige. The stay was great, and every staff member we saw went out of their way to say hello, and ask if there was anything we needed. The day of checking out was blustery, and the ferry's to get off the island were questionable. The desk clerk told us that if our ferry was cancelled, we could come back to hang out, and if need be spend another night at a reduced rate. Luckily, our ferry ran on time. The room was great, the location is beautiful, the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable.

Room Tip: The main building is the best. Not all rooms have ocean views, and if this is important, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenhillgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This place was first class. We went on our anniversary, and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff makes you feel right at home. We had a two bedroom suite, with outdoor shower. It was very roomy and had all the amenities of home. We a fireplace, nicely decorated rooms, and even had champagne and strawberries waiting on our arrival. Even though our views were not what we wanted, a short walk to the main house and a short walk into made the location very ideal for us. The shops and GREAT food are all within walking distance. Seriously some of the best food I've ever eaten. Edgartown is a great location for whatever you're looking for in Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texans67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Edgartown has become our new favorite place to get away from it all, and the Harbor View Resort is the best place to do it. Sweetie, the kids, and I recently spent the weekend at the Harbor View during the Christmas in Edgartown festival. The hotel is a quick walk away from town, making it a great base of operations during the day; at night, the suite was spacious enough to put the kids to bed, let Sweetie draw a bath, and have me in the living room making work calls. We topped off the weekend with a nice brunch at the restaurant on site, and a ride back to the ferry arranged by the wonderful front desk staff. If you're planning a trip to the Vineyard, I highly recommend the Harbor View!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MergerLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
10.5 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
8.5 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
97 reviews
1.5 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.7 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
126 reviews
0.5 km away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,227 - ₹ 44,135
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing