We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What an experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charlotte Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Charlotte Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the moment we arrived the charm and personality seduced us. These are innkeepers at their best, the attention to detail is unmatched. We could not have have a better stay - cant wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    8
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
81
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We visited Martha's Vineyard during the off-season on what turned out to be a very rainy Saturday. I was so pleased that we had an excuse to stay inside by the fire and enjoy this charming, warm, gorgeous inn. As there was only one other couple staying at the inn on this weekend, we had the pleasure of visiting with the owners and learned that they had bought the inn in 1971 or 1972. They visit England every November to find antiques with which to decorate. The place had a wonderfully intimate feeling of family and luxury combined. The service was impeccable, and breakfast in the morning was delicious. I had brought a friend from Italy, and I was so glad to have given him a true taste of some of our most charming and finest accommodations in the country.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32819
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great hotel, loved how they are focused on taking care of the guest and how they got everything just right.

The best part was all of the little touches of antiques and all of the books to read. Also, the location was perfect since we could walk to everything!

Thank you to the staff at the Charlotte Inn! You are the best with clean rooms and the best service!

We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I love this hotel. It is very unique and original. The owners are are fantastic and do everything to make your stay very pleasant. I felt so relaxed and could really enjoy my stay in Marthas Vineyard! This hotel gives you a beautiful unique room, a cozy home with fireplace and dogs included and great food for breakfast. They did anything I needed and more which was especially great since I was getting married while on my sat in the Vineyard.
I will defiantly b back! When you go definitely book a room with a fireplace while worth the cost!

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Singh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I just came back from a weekend stay at the Charlotte Inn. It was more beautiful than on the website. The owners and staff were most attentive to our needs and offered us valuable information about the current activities on the island to help make our visit to MV more enjoyable. Everything they suggested from lunch to the museum was perfect..
The rooms at the inn were most comfortable and it was fun to see the dogs greet us upon our returns to the inn. Each room was warm and inviting and it was so nice to come back to the inn with the fire place glowing.
This is a definite must if you are looking for an English country home atmostphere. I know that we will return!
Pam and John Vasilik

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. You can't miss with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.8 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
10.3 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.9 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 km away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlotte Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlotte Inn

Property: The Charlotte Inn
Address: 27 S Summer St, PO Box 1056, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,905 - ₹ 80,879
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed as one of the "Top 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler's 2012 Travel Guide and a long-standing member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux small luxury hotel group, The Charlotte Inn is settled just a half block off Main Street and two blocks from the harbor-front in downtown Edgartown. Among 4 buildings are 17 guest rooms and 2 suites individually decorated with fine antiques in a wonderful English garden setting. The Charlotte Inn provides guests with what we consider the "ultimate luxury" - a glimpse back in time to a more peaceful and restful frame of mind. A visit to The Charlotte Inn - from an overnight or a week vacation - is an opportunity to escape from the hectic, rushed, technology and gadget driven daily routine and enjoy the simpler things life has to offer. With all that Martha's Vineyard has to enjoy as your daily playground - from beaching, boating, fishing, and sightseeing, to fine dining and shopping, to simply strolling along the historic whaling captain’s home lined streets along the harbor and down to the lighthouse, The Charlotte Inn offers our guests a relaxing home away from home to retreat to and an opportunity to cherish life's simpler times. Whether iced-tea on the porch with a good book, chatting with friends and fellow guests on a garden terrace, or enjoying a glass of wine by the fire with your companion in cooler weather, we hope that our guests embrace the opportunity to join us in the experience we work so hard to provide - a getaway from the stress and pressures of today’s fast-paced lifestyle and a chance to enjoy a peaceful reprieve in an atmosphere that is the perfect combination of elegance, luxury and comfort. Nothing satisfies us more than to provide our guests with this experience, and to watch them enjoy, unwind and cherish their time spent at The Charlotte Inn in the way that we prefer and as our adage suggests - "Behind The Times on Purpose". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Charlotte Hotel Edgartown
Charlotte Inn Marthas Vineyard
The Charlotte Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing