We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overall experience ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Overall experience ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

By all reviews we expected a warmer place, but overall experience was ok. The lady at the front desk was very helpful, but the gentleman although very formal didn't show any interest in helping us around.

Nice and clean rooms, good breakfast, relax atmosphere and excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    59
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
64
312
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toms river
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Second time back and just as perfect as the first.Off-season wonderland.Five blocks to town, three block to one of the best bus systems ever.Next time trying the fall season

Room Tip: not a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the Hob Knob for four nights with my husband. It is on the main street in Edgartown but traffic didn't bother us as we were staying the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor. We had a king room (number 12, one of the slightly larger ones) and it was a lovely room - spacious with windows on 2 sides. The bathroom was small but perfectly functional with Aveda toiletries. Although there was no drinking water in the room, there was a bar downstairs where you could help yourself to water. You could also get tea/herbal tea and coffee all day there. An honesty bar was a nice touch, and port was free there. We had afternoon tea a few times there - a small but very nice selection of cakes, cookies and lemonade. We ate breakfast there every morning - there was a good choice with granola, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a choice of items from the cooked breakfast selection. Service could be a bit slow but was friendly.

We hired bikes there one day and I agree with a previous review that $25 per half day ($30 for a full day) was a bit steep considering we were already paying to stay there. One minor thing we found a little annoying was that on our first morning the lady came to make up our room at around 9.30 when we were getting dressed. I didn't see a 'make up the room' sign but it might be worth getting those. There was some noise from a room above one night so rooms are not terribly well soundproofed but overall it was a very peaceful stay. We did get a good deal as there was a special offer on Feb 29th for 20% off but otherwise might have found it a bit pricey. We had a lovely stay and I would recommend it for anyone staying in the area. It was only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and shops. Edgartown is very quiet in early April - lots of places closed until May so if you are looking for somewhere with lots to do, this is not the place out of season!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Hob is Knob is such a great B&B, the breakfast is great (dining room has 2 person tables which I'm always a fan of!) and the tea and cookies in the afternoon are a nice touch. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and most importantly the Inn is a short 5 minute walk to Edgartown center. I am completely in love with MV and this is definitely a nice place to stay. My only recommendation to the Hob Knob would be to not charge $25 a day for thier bikes. I think since this is not a cheap place to stay, having the bikes for thier guests (free of charge) would be a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Everything about this Inn was incredible. It is spotless and the people who work there are friendly, helpful and so easy to talk to. They can give you information on everything in the area - they're just exceptional people. The inn has many rooms that you can wander through and there is a beautiful wrap-around porch to drink your morning coffee or afternoon tea. There's a big fireplace that they had lit every night and there's complimentary port to sip at night. We had a room on the second floor and it was large, beautifully decorated and the mattress was so comfortable. The best part was the smell of bacon cooking as we were walking down the stairs to the breakfast room. The food is delicious, healthy and there's plenty of it. Every afternoon there's tea, coffee and some type of a sweet treat (cookies, brownies, nuts, etc.). The location is great - it's about a 5 minute walk to town and there are pretty little shops and really good restaurants. The area is quaint and quieter than the other towns on the Vineyard. We're telling all our friends about the Hob Knob and we can't wait to go back.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank carlygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
1.0 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
10.0 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
8.2 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
7.9 km away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.5 km away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Property: The Hob Knob
Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,093 - ₹ 22,657
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing