We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, but only adequate food”
Review of Lobster Shanty

Lobster Shanty
Ranked #18 of 28 Restaurants in Eastham
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good service, but only adequate food”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The interior decor was old and could use some updating, so the first impression was not a great one upon entering. We ordered clam chowder and lobster salad rolls and onion rings. The chowder and rings were delicious....the lobster salad rolls were missing something in the flavor department. Not bad, just not memorable. In the end it all just felt overpriced.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-EllenCallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    53
    29
    38
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value seafood restaurant”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have been to the Lobster Shanty many times over the years - the most recent being August 2011 after a break of several years. Having seen some negative reviews, we were wondering whether it had changed. Not much, was the answer! It is still a very reasonable, casual and relaxed seafood restaurant - great for a good value meal at the end of a day on the beach. If you want a more high end atmosphere, then don't go here - this is a good value, unpretentious place.

Lobster is good value - whether steamed or baked with voluminous seafood stuffing; the kid's meals are fantastic value (served in a bucket that they can take to the beach next day!); and the all you can eat fish and chips is also great value. Four of us ate well, including 2 of us eating lobster, for under $100 including tip - not many places where you can do that on Cape Cod! Families are well catered for here and the kids will also enjoy looking at the lobsters in the indoor tank - actually a row-boat filled with water.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
“Food Poisoning!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This place is terrible. Absentee management, bunch of kids running the joint. Food is atrocious, everyone got food poisoning.
I called the department of health the next day. They reported back to me the next day that the local health department filed a report and found tarter sauce stored at over 70 degrees, and coleslaw stored at over 50 degrees. We got sick, but saved others from food poisoning!
For establishments like this, it’s a numbers game, put out the worst food possible, and rake in the tourist dollar during the vacation season.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Surfingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just Go Somewhere Else!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The all you can eat fish meal sounds like a great idea until you receive your meal! I have to say this was the worst fish dinner that I have ever had. The service was okay and the restaurant itself was fine, the restrooms on the other hand were awful. I would recommend that you choose another location for your meal unless you want to just have a snack of onion rings...these were actually pretty good but didn't make up for the bad fish!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdlenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nys
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Seafood Across from the Salt Pond Visitor's Center”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Service was prompt and the food was good. We chose this place because we had ridden 10.5 miles on the Cape Cod Rail trail, and were ready for a break. Bike racks available in the parking lot. We enjoyed eating outside on their porch. It's good for a quick bit to eat. We had lobster rolls, which were good, onion rings, shrimp kids meal and chicken tenders. Not a fancy place, but no complaints. Kids' meals served in sand pails.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cedarvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lobster Shanty also viewed

 
North Eastham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Lobster Shanty? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing