We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming and cozy and most enjoyable experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, MA
1 review
“Charming and cozy and most enjoyable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Ship's Knees Inn is charming, cozy, and just plain delightful. Peter and his wife are very hospitable and welcoming. The outdoor patio with its gas fireplace is beautiful, and breakfast is delicious and presented in a very appealilng manner. We cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
162
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

When considering where to stay for a long anniversary weekend I was presented with two resorts and the Ships Knees Inn a fantastic B&B near Nauset Beach in Orleans' MA. We had a lovely suite that was a great value considering that the resorts wanted $700 per night. We were in the midst of everything wonderful about lower Cape Cod. Nauset Beach is spectacular, Rock Harbor sunsets beautiful, easy access to Wellfleet and P-Tow, Chatham and it's charm just to the south.

The owners were warm, friendly and helpful. You couldn't find a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Nauset Suite is spacious and very private. A great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Amazing Inn; close to the shore, beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast, darling outside fire pit and the best Inn Keeper! At the conclusion of our bike trip, the bike rental company picked up our transportation. We sudden;y realized we were too far from our next connection to walk and the Inn Keeper gallantly offered to provide a ride. Now that's "above and beyond" hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ship's Knees Inn in mid-September, 2011 to celebrate his birthday. We enjoyed the charming decor in the historic inn and the lovely gardens. In the evening before dinner, we sat in front of the gas fire pit on the patio and enjoyed our wine.
The innkeepers, Peter and Denise, helped us choose an excellent restaurant for dinner. The breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, and homemade baked goods was an excellent way to start our
day exploring the nearby National Seashore. This lovely inn so close to Nauset Beach is a great find.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 543voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was the end of a bike tour we did down the Cape. The Inn was very clean. Breakfast was wonderful with homemade goodies (unlike the other B&B's we stayed at along the way). Peter was very personable and kind. He even took us to the bus station when we had no transportation to get there. The only problem we had was we had to turn our bikes in and could not get to town for dinner. We sent our husbands on a bike ride (before the bikes were picked up) and they brought back food for dinner. We sat in the breakfast room, ate dinner, played games, had the room all to ourselves. They have a wonderful gas firepit in the court yard where everyone gather to drink wine or beverage of choice. I highly recommend the Ship's Knees Inn if you need a place to stay in the area. It was a short walking distance to the beach. The grounds were immaculate. Rooms are well equipped. Our only problem was it was too far from anywhere to eat to walk and Orleans doesn't have taxi's (well any we could afford). Thank you to the Ship's Knee's family for a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: We saw 2 rooms and both were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
9.6 km away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
12.3 km away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
9.2 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
11.6 km away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
3.2 km away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Property: Ship's Knees Inn
Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,854 - ₹ 29,025
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing