We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was the end of a bike tour we did down the Cape. The Inn was very clean. Breakfast was wonderful with homemade goodies (unlike the other B&B's we stayed at along the way). Peter was very personable and kind. He even took us to the bus station when we had no transportation to get there. The only problem we had was we had to turn our bikes in and could not get to town for dinner. We sent our husbands on a bike ride (before the bikes were picked up) and they brought back food for dinner. We sat in the breakfast room, ate dinner, played games, had the room all to ourselves. They have a wonderful gas firepit in the court yard where everyone gather to drink wine or beverage of choice. I highly recommend the Ship's Knees Inn if you need a place to stay in the area. It was a short walking distance to the beach. The grounds were immaculate. Rooms are well equipped. Our only problem was it was too far from anywhere to eat to walk and Orleans doesn't have taxi's (well any we could afford). Thank you to the Ship's Knee's family for a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: We saw 2 rooms and both were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
162
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield Center, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Escapades Bike Tours stayed at the Ship's Knees for two nights along with riders on our tour. The owner and staff were very helpful in making sure that we had everything we needed to have a successful and excellent stay. We look forward to being back with them in June 2012our next tour of the Cape.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This inn was recommended to us by a local so we booked a room for our short stay on Cape Cod. Never did we realize we'd be weathering Hurricane Irene at the Ships Knees. When we arrived we all thought we were beyond the worst and were on the east edge of the storm but we quickly found out otherwise. Shortly after checking in we lost power for two days. Peter and Denise were helpful in making sure we had a flashlight and made a run to Dunkin Donuts for coffee in the morning. It sure was an adventure, secure in our room eating a banana and a bottle of wine for dinner and reading by flashlight! The wind howled all night and in the morning we awoke to a glorious blue sky and some downed limbs. After our delicious coffee we walked to Nauset Beach to see the waves. What a sight. The beach is a short walk down hill from the inn. Peter and Denise gave us great recommendations for lunch and dinner and after finding restaurants that were open had some great meals. The weather was beautiful and we wish we could have stayed another night. Breakfast the second morning when power was restored was delicious with the best lemon bread I have ever tasted along with fresh fruit and other pastries and breads. This inn is old and charming with very comfortable beds and linens.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extrastuff2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My now fiancee and myself stayed at the inn for just a quick weekend getaway the weekend after the 4th of July. From the moment I found the inn on the web and especially after talking to Peter over the phone about their availability of a room, I knew this would be a fantastic find! A true gem! It is literally located 1/4 mile from Nauset Beach. Peter was incredibly warm and welcoming when we arrived on that Friday evening. He showed us the variety of maps and menus they have on hand for the surround area and even provides fantastic recommendations! he kindly provided us with the "nickel tour" of the inn, from the breakfast area where you have full access to a microwave, hot and cold water, tea, coffee, juice, and the tastiest breakfast pastries, muffins, bagels, and fresh fruit we have ever had! Also included are the two patio areas outside where you can have your breakfast in the morning or even the hors dourves and wine in the evening around the gas fire pit. He showed us to our room and even noticed that we had brought our bikes and granted us permission to use their bike rack up the driveway under the tree. His attention to detail and impeccable friendly service will definitely be bringing us back. He welcomed us by name, first name, each time we saw him and although we were only there for a weekend, it was apparent that our stay at the inn was truly appreciated! Although the room was cozy, it was all we needed, it was absolutely perfect including the ocean view out our window! The inn, room, and shared bathroom was very tidy, the small air conditioner in the room was perfect to keep us cool, and the mini fridge in the room is available to use, as well as the pair of wine glasses, cutting board and knife. Their attention to detail at The Ship's Knees Inn makes this inn a true gem that we will be highly recommending to our friends and family for a fantastic B&B stay on the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adampniksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorheesville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Always great amenities, friendly and helpful management and staff, beautiful rooms and grounds, and hospitality bar none.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
9.2 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
12.3 km away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
9.6 km away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.8 km away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.4 km away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Property: Ship's Knees Inn
Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,183 - ₹ 29,239
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing