We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I expected”
Review of Old Landing Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Landing Motel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what I expected”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just got back from The Old Landing and was completely satisfied. Everything I had read on Trip Advisor was accurate. Older beach motel, great location, too small towels, but great water pressure. Rooms could use an update, but very clean and comfortable. Wished pool was open later after we got back from our day trips, but it is a nice pool non the less.
Bottom line, we had a great time this past week and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upsatirs, ocen facing rooms are a bit more money, but worth it as they are more private and get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbiBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    46
    17
    9
    14
See reviews for
84
105
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

In 2002, I was looking for a simple motel to stay at with my children after riding in the Pan Mass Challenge. I found the Old Landing Motel and decided to take a drive down to meet David Maslin, owner and check the place out. (I live about an hour and 15 minutes away). This motel is simple, true Cape Cod. What I love most is how ultra clean the rooms really are. His staff is meticulous! The first floor rooms are basic motel rooms with A/C. The upstairs rooms in the back, facing Sea Street beach, are bigger but without A/C. Trust me when i say, you don't need it. The breezes from the front windows through to the bathroom windows is very refreshing! I also want to mention that I have been spoiled by David's cappuccino. Simply delicious and what a nice change from boring old Dunkin Donuts. (sorry Dunkin Donuts!)

Regardless to say, we have been staying at this motel for TEN years in a row. My children have since grown (21 and 23 now) but they still want to go with me. We've created wonderful memories and a rich tradition that I hope they will carry on to their children. David, thank you for being a wonderful host!

Room Tip: If you love the ocean breezes, definitely reserve an upstairs room facing the ocean. Such a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theKingstonfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Old Landing Motel for a long weekend. I chose this place after extensive research on Tripadvisor and we certainly were not disappointed.

If you're wanting a four star luxury hotel with all the amenities, look elsewhere. If you're looking for the quintessential Cape Cod motel across the street from the beach then this is your place!

Location: on a quiet street, across the street from the ocean. Perfect location.
Room: unbelievably clean. It's your basic motel room with a bed, futon, dresser, fridge, tv, wifi, bathroom, chairs and table outside the room. Our room had a/c. Nothing fancy but it has everything you need for your stay at the beach, and how often are you really in your room anyway?
Service: David was amazing. Very helpful and attentive. Always had coffee ready.
Grounds: Pool area was very nice, not crowded, very relaxing. Parking was a little tight.
Value: During a weekend in high season we only paid $150/night for the room...that was right across the street from the beach and had a pool. I couldn't believe the rate!

We enjoyed our stay and will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Do your research, this is not a 4 star hotel, this is an old fashion cape cod motel. It is clean comfortable, rooms are a good size, good shower pressure, great coffee all day, small fridges, WIFI, quiet area, located on a street that dead ends at a small sound beach. Surrounded by cape cod cottages, easy walking distance to Sundae School & few restaurants and not far from CC rail trail. Most nights slept with the window open listening to the sounds of the Sound & feeling the breezes.
The owner lives onsite 4 months a year, works 7 days a week. He's never been to a cape cod beach or the Vineyard, rarely leaves the motel office. Interesting guy, would not call him super warm, but he wants to be helpful to his guests, he also doesn't want to spread himself too thin. When I mentioned darker window shades would be nice, he said to me this isn't a resort, he thinks being woken up by the sun is the best way to wake up. He thinks people should get up enjoy the cape & leave the motel, not hang about. This is why he does not offer BBQ's, Pizza eating in your room or much in the way of communal space. He knows exactly what type of product he wishes to offer, nothing more, if what you want matches what he's selling you'll be very happy here. If what you want he does not have, he'll suggest other hotels/motels. Also did I mention he makes great expresso! We enjoyed our stay & would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We just stayed for a thurs-sunday long weekend at the old landing motel and we could not have asked for a better place to spend our down time. The room was so clean and the location was ideal. We can't wait to go back for possibly a long weekend in the late summer early fall. David the innkeeper does a wonderful job maintaining the place and catering to your needs. A+++++ rating!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinboone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
1.2 km away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
5.9 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
246 reviews
7.4 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.1 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
142 reviews
1.1 km away
The Garlands
The Garlands
#16 of 19 in Dennis Port
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Landing Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Landing Motel

Property: Old Landing Motel
Address: 15 Sea St, at Sea Street Beach, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2414
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
#3 Family Hotel in Dennis Port
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,943 - ₹ 13,501
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Landing Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Landing Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Landing Hotel Dennis Port
Hotel Old Landing
Old Landing Motel Dennis Port, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing