We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leave your airs on 6A - a clean, comfortable, economical place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingfisher Lodging

Kingfisher Lodging
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingfisher Lodging
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Leave your airs on 6A - a clean, comfortable, economical place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We were visiting family in Dennis and looking for an economical place to stay that was pet-friendly and convenient –and we found it at the Kingfisher! Truly a motel, the rooms are dated and small (our room did not have a closet) and honestly, I have to admit I was a bit scared when I first opened the room door! However - once I left my snobby hotel airs at the door, I found the room clean, the beds comfy, the AC on and strong, and the direct TV and free-WIFI a real treat!!
The motel also offers a small fridge in the room, a strong cup of complimentary coffee in the main office in the morning and a clean refreshing pool, which was a big hit with the kids! The location was great with Captain Frosty's within walking distance and Corporation Beach just a 2.5 mile drive.
All and all we were very pleased with our lodging choice and would recommend the Kingfisher to anyone who has the ability to look beyond decorating aesthetics and wants to experience all the Cape offers as economically as possible!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Family and I stayed here for a weekend and we loved it! The rooms were clean with an old Cape Cod feel. The service was great! Len made us feel at home and was always willing to helps us. We would definitely stay here again and tell our friends about it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kknuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

This is the second year that I have stayed at the Kingfisher motel. Yes it is a little old, and the rooms a little small. But if you are on Cape Cod how much time do you really spend in your room? The Kingfisher has a great owner who bends over backwards to help you if you need it, the beds are comfy, there are little frigs to use and enough space in the rooms to get around, and everything is really clean. My friend brought his dog and it worked out great. I love staying here because it is the same distant from both tips of the cape and there is a great ice cream shop and pizza place right up the road. What else do you need in a motel for vacation?

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank litehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

We had a wonderful time staying at Kingfisher lodging. The owner is very pleasant and helpful. Leonard Fisher went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He was helpful with questions about places to visit. This motel is sparse but clean. It has cable, AC, double beds, free wireless. The continental breakfast consisted of bagels, cream cheese, jam, coffee. He also offered us milk when we wanted it and also allowed us free use of his computer and microwave whenever we needed them. This motel is located on 6A away from the touristy traffic along Rte 28 and 6. It's a hop, skip, jump away from reknowned Captain Frosty's (known for having the best lobster roll), and is quite close to Corporation Beach in Dennis, other beaches and ponds and location is central. It's a few miles from Barnstable Harbor (when you want to join Hyannis Whale Watching Cruise), Hyannis (to take the ferry to Nantucket) etc. Overall, Kingfisher Lodging offers best value for your money.

  • Liked — The owner, quietness of the location, value for your money
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Marigoldahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

When we were looking for a short one night stay on route 6A in Dennis during the end of August, we saw the fantastic reviews of the Kingfisher and opted to stay there. Let's be honest here folks, in the owner's word's it isn't the Taj Mahal! It is an older property with the normal flaws that a property like this has. The rooms are small, the windows do not open properly or at all in some cases, requiring us to run the air conditioner even though it was not too hot outside, thus not allowing us a good night of sleep. The only other complaint I had was that the "continental breakfast" is better described as "coffee and bagels". The price we payed of 110$ at peak season on the Cape is fairly reasonable compared to other motels of the same type. The pool was very well maintained , although not too private as it can be seen from the street. Normally, given the above facts the motel would get a 2.0 although as previously noted by other travelers, the owner is one of the nicest I am yet to meet. He truly does go out of his way to make your stay welcoming and enjoyable, which should count for something.

  • Liked — Great Owner
  • Disliked — Small Rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhantomReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis
3.2 km away
Sesuit Harbor House
Sesuit Harbor House
#1 of 1 in East Dennis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
9.1 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
8.0 km away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 km away
Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
6.4 km away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Lodging? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Lodging

Property: Kingfisher Lodging
Address: 177 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1915 (Formerly J.D. Starr Motel)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,036 - ₹ 10,595
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingfisher Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kingfisher Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Lodging Hotel Dennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing