We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy we Found Scargo”
Review of Scargo Cafe

Scargo Cafe
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A traditional, Tavern and Restaurant with wood paneled walls, open fireplaces and an outdoor covered deck for al Fresco dining during summer. The fare includes guest favorites such as roasted rack of New Zealand lamb, and seafood strudel (a seafood blend baked in pastry) with Newburg sauce. Lots of fresh local seafood and oysters. Many more seafood entrees, sandwiches, burgers, steaks, chicken, pasta selections, and their truly famous version of Grapenut Custard.
Reviewed 17 September 2017

After a quick visit to the beach, we were looking for a place to grab lunch and literally stumbled upon Scargo. The food was excellent and the service was very friendly. Will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dennis1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We've never had a bad meal at Scargo Cafe and it was our first choice to take a friend out for their "last supper" while visiting us in Dennis. Even on a Tuesday evening in September it was busy so we were glad we made reservations. The atmosphere at Scargo is so very good, a perfect place to be able to show off Cape Cod, and as always the service was impeccable. I choose the Seafood Strudel which is a delightful seafood medley, my wife had the Flounder and our friend had a salad and chowder. All were delicious!

We highly recommend Scargo and always look forward to a visit there!

Thank LIV2FLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Scargo was recommended to us and what an excellent recommendation it was. First off, we were seated very quickly and our table was in a side room that was spacious and well appointed. We especially appreciated that Scargo is carpeted, the seats are upholstered and there appear to be noise-absorbing "baffles" on the ceiling, all of which help to keep the noise level down, thereby enabling quiet conversation. Great food, great service, who could ask for anything more?

Thank citypsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scargoboy, Owner at Scargo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thanks so much for your visit. You have a very keen eye. Aside from a focus on comfort, we have diligently worked at noise mitigation for years. Beautiful hardwood floors are always a challenge. Upholstered chairs actually feel good on the ears as well as the backside. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I reside in Dennis year round. I go to this restaurant more than any other restaurant on the Cape. There are plenty of restaurants in Dennis, but very few who meet the consistency, excellent service, wonderful food, great community service owners and all around ambiance. This is a true place where all the locals go. If you want a great meal, turn when you see the sign that says Scargo Cafe!!

Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scargoboy, Owner at Scargo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thanks Ed! Hope to see you in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Been awhile since I had been here. Food was okay but not as good as in the past. The heirloom tomato salad was so small for the price that I thought it was a half order. They also killed it with too much dressing. The scallops were fresh and good but the rice that accompanied it was cold. For the amount of money spent I do not think we got value for money.

Thank hacann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scargoboy, Owner at Scargo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

So sorry for the disappointment. Not sure if you looked over any of the other reviews but you will find that we have an implied guarantee (like any great restaurants would) of great food and caring service. I would be more than happy to offer a return visit "on us" so that we might show you what a more typical Scargo visit is like. Please reach out directly any time.
peter@scargocafe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scargo Cafe also viewed

 
South Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Scargo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing