We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back when the main hotel & restaurant are open!”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Piermont, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back when the main hotel & restaurant are open!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My family just returned from a trip to Mt. Washington in New Hampshire. We needed a place to stay half way up to our destination, and I was lucky enough to discover the Deerfield Inn. We stayed in the Carriage House, as the main hotel is still under renovations. The rooms were filled with character and recently renovated to the period. They were extremely spacious and clean. The staff were extremely friendly. They had coffee stations in the hallways, and delivered a delicious continental breakfast to our door in the morning. Overall a great experience. We want to go back when the main hotel and restaurant open. Very glad we discovered the Deerfield Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
We are happy that you discovered us too! Deerfield has long been a well kept secret, and it is good you are now in the know! The main inn will also be really, really super when we are done, so aim for a return visit after April 2013! We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    118
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
236
409
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I took my boyfriend to the Deerfield Inn for his birthday. I was a little nervous when we pulled up to it and there seemed to be no one around on the street. We were welcomed by Jane and she was very lovely and she showed us our room, gave us our free museum passes and a coupon for the store next door. I read most of the reviews before I booked the Inn but I was not expecting to be blown away from the experience and the beautiful room. I loved the bathroom too. They have thought of everything!
From the little things like leaving k cups and a pitcher of cold water to the basket of breakfast items and the heated bathroom floor in the morning were wonderful. Jane even left my boyfriend a little gift for his birthday when we were checking out. I can't wait to go back. Spotless room and the room was so tastefully decorated. I plan on copying the bathroom in my own home. I bet it will be even better when the Inn is back up and running in full swing. It was sad what happened to the Inn during Tropical Storm Irene.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brnwal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
What a thoughtful and well considered review of your experience here. Thank you for taking the time - we appreciate it so much. We are glad you had a great celebratory getaway, and we look forward very much to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely inn while in the area looking at schools. The beds were comfortable, the room was spotless and the inn was filled with character. The quintesential NE b & b. We look forward to staying here over the next few years.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmericanCareerExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for that "Lovely!" We are glad you had a restful night and we hope you find the time to come back when we are fully open to experience the "character" of the rest of the inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

It seems a bit of the beaten path, but that's the reason for seeking it out. Nestled in the town of Old Deerfield, you feel like you've stepped back in time. Room 158 was very comfortable and big, with a withdrawing room. I was surprised that the main inn and restaurant was closed upon our arrival but they did their best to make the stay pleasurable with or without a dining room. Would appreciate a bit more choice or a rotation on the breakfast-left-at-the-door items, to allow for low-carb/no-carb, sugar-free or gluten-free... Although a beautiful arrangement. if you share those dietary concerns, I'd still recommend staying but simply plan to have breakfast down the road-a-piece. Location is tranquil and equidistant to most of the sites within a short walk. Thumbs up and way better than most other area options.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATourneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for visiting with us, and we are glad you discovered this hidden gem of Old Deerfield! We are sorry that you had not known we are operating as a B&B while we restore the inn after Irene caused so much damage. The anniversary of that flood is 28 August, which is hard to believe on such a sunny day. I know this is on our website, and it is policy that the front desk ladies reiterate this. Your review has been helpful as a reminder to them to let callers know what our status. Thank you for being so understanding, and we hope you come back for another visit when our restaurant and main inn are open once more. I promise it will be worth the wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I recently had an overnight stay at the Carriage House. The room was absolutely lovely--just like the picture on the website. Comfy, clean --everything you could ask for. The satff was very courteous and professional as well as friendly. Helen, at the front desk was so helpful and welcoming.

I'm looking forward to another visit very soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
We appreciate the time you took to write a review, and we thank you for your family visit. We are working on new websites for the inn and one for Champney's, and will like very much that you found the carriage house like the photos, so we know we are on track! We look forward to seeing you all back when we are up and running again as a full service inn - families always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
21.2 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
26.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
30.6 km away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,275 - ₹ 22,302
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing