We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We spent one night here with our teenage daughters during March break, hoping to find Deerfield Inn just as charming as it was when we first visited, over 20 yrs ago. Sadly, the atmosphere had changed completely. Decor has not been refreshed in a long time. Rooms were pricey for very average accommodation. Service was not especially friendly, nor was the dining room service impressive, considering we were the only table there It was certainly not worth a detour.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the inn have more charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
I am sorry, friends, that you found the charm of twenty years ago gone and the atmosphere changed. We have been steadily upgrading over the past 25 years (wifi, flat screen dvd tvs, Keurig machines, expanded tavern, upgraded bedding & bath towels, organic bath amenities, blackout shades, floor length window treatments, etc), and we refresh the paintwork in all rooms over each winter. However, the bathroom of the king you were in was slated for renovation in the winter of 2011, because it is tired. We agree. I am sorry not to know of your dissatisfaction until seven months later. I can't do much now except apologize. Now all carriage house rooms on the ground floor will be renovated due to the damage caused here by Irene. March is "mud season" here - our very slowest month, and offers our least expensive rates, and $150 is as low as we go as you will have learned when you made the reservation for the two rooms. The reason for the option of dining in the cozy tavern is so guests don't feel they are rattling around in the large restaurant. (Champney's is all being renovated and reconfigured as well over the months ahead.) I bet we will still be here doddering around twenty years from now, so do come back and see how the inn is doing, and speak up at the time if you are unhappy about your stay so we can address your concerns. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    119
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
238
413
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We went to Deerfield for a long weekend with another couple, friends who share an interest in Americana and American History. We had planned the visit for some time and the Inn was offering a nice, if small incentive to stay there. If you are interested in visiting the historic site, there is no sense in staying anywhere else. The Inn is on site and in our view lovely. A friendly and helpful staff. We got a discount on dinner and on the room as part of their promotion. The room was lovely and in keeping with the spirit of the weekend. Food was excellent as well. They offer tea also and a perfectly fine breakfast--no, a very good one. The value could not be beat. Add to that that we got free passes for the day in Historic Deerfield and we were exceptionally satisfied.

The historic site is well worth the trip: the docents are very good; the displays and the museum were very informative. Deerfield is also close to enough other sites to make the two night minimum worth while. While there we visited the Art Museum at Amherst College. It is a gem and, given that it is the museum of a small, if famous, college, the breadth of the holdings is quite impressive as are many of the works themselves. We also were close enough to visit Emily Dickenson's home and get a tour. This excursion was well worth the time and effort and very informative. All in all it was a great weekend based from a wonderful inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelers06614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
We are all so glad that you had a wonderful visit! You words have cheered us up enormously as we survey the damage here after Tropical Storm Irene and begin the process of renovation and refurbishment. We hope you come back mid-2012 or beyond as we have marvelous plans and we think you will very much like what you see. Thank you for taking the time to write and for giving us heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We spent one night here and it was a welcome oasis after a long drive (desperately trying to avoid staying in a 'chain' motel/hotel!) Deerfield is a beautiful quiet place and the Inn is a lovely building on the main street. It has lots of original furniture and an historic feel. We stayed in the building at the back in a gorgeous room. The carpets were soft, the bed was heavenly (super night's sleep!) and the furniture was antique. Yet the room also had modern touches with a flat screen tv, free wifi and a great en-suite with twin sinks and a lovely spa shower. We had an evening meal and wine in the restaurant and it was delicious. We then had a 'night cap' out on the porch and sat listening to the quiet and the crickets. Gorgeous! In the morning we had a tasty breakfast and then used the complimentary access to the historic houses along the street. It was one of the highlights of our road trip. Thanks to the Deerfield Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdoreMyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your lovely words. I apologize for not acknowledging sooner, but sadly Tropical Storm Irene sent a wall of about five feet of river water through the inn, and the carriage house first floor, including your room, is gone! We will be back like the phoenix: new rooms, renovated restaurant with more tavern seating - so come back and visit again some time after the spring of 2012 and let us know how you think we have done. Appreciation from guests like yourselves has given us the energy we need to start over. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

disappointing property...tired decor and basic bathrooms. our room was above what we think was the air conditioning unit for the building. very loud for being in a sleepy little village. the town was worth the detour however but easily visited in a couple of hours so no need for the stopover. if you need to stay overnight, go to Northampton.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
So sorry you didn't like your room - you requested a traditional queen and many guests request that room for the light from four windows. The mirror and bureau are antiques (inn 126 years old), so perhaps 'shabby', but carpet, upholstery, curtains, flat screen, curved shower rail, all new in the past year. Sorry to disappoint, but glad you could use your complimentary museum pass to see some of the homes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was recently passing through Deerfield in route to Connecticut. I happened to stop in at the Inn bar for a drink. After wandering around ten or so minutes being ignored(unnoticed) I was told by a small woman that it was in between shifts and I started to walk out. In the hall as I was leaving I was greeted with a big smile and hello from a tall gentleman. He noticed I was holding a bottle of pills and asked me If he could get me some water. He walked me to the bar and unlocked it. He gave me a glass of ice water. And excused himself ,saying he needed to clock in. When he returned he placed a bowl of snack mix in front of me. And was so cordial I stayed and had a perfectly made Cosmopolitan.and ended up having a bite to eat: all of which were suggested by this bartender. All I wanted was a drink of water and I got an experience worth coming back for. I frequently take this drive and from now on I'm going to take a detour to the Inn. I wish could remember his name. You can't miss him tall, bald and classy Trust me he alone is worth the trip. Food was also wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
We are so glad that Brian could help you with a glass of water. We have an incentive program for staff who shine, so he will definitely be in pool for the bi-annual prize! Sorry you wandered unnoticed for ten minutes - perhaps the woman at the front desk was putting out tea for our guests? We look forward to seeing you here again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
21.2 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
26.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
30.6 km away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
832 reviews
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,744 - ₹ 21,965
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. The Inn is located within walking distance of Deerfield Acadamy, Eaglebrook Scool and Bement school. It is close to the Amherst five college area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing