We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We spent one night here and it was a welcome oasis after a long drive (desperately trying to avoid staying in a 'chain' motel/hotel!) Deerfield is a beautiful quiet place and the Inn is a lovely building on the main street. It has lots of original furniture and an historic feel. We stayed in the building at the back in a gorgeous room. The carpets were soft, the bed was heavenly (super night's sleep!) and the furniture was antique. Yet the room also had modern touches with a flat screen tv, free wifi and a great en-suite with twin sinks and a lovely spa shower. We had an evening meal and wine in the restaurant and it was delicious. We then had a 'night cap' out on the porch and sat listening to the quiet and the crickets. Gorgeous! In the morning we had a tasty breakfast and then used the complimentary access to the historic houses along the street. It was one of the highlights of our road trip. Thanks to the Deerfield Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdoreMyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your lovely words. I apologize for not acknowledging sooner, but sadly Tropical Storm Irene sent a wall of about five feet of river water through the inn, and the carriage house first floor, including your room, is gone! We will be back like the phoenix: new rooms, renovated restaurant with more tavern seating - so come back and visit again some time after the spring of 2012 and let us know how you think we have done. Appreciation from guests like yourselves has given us the energy we need to start over. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    115
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
235
401
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

disappointing property...tired decor and basic bathrooms. our room was above what we think was the air conditioning unit for the building. very loud for being in a sleepy little village. the town was worth the detour however but easily visited in a couple of hours so no need for the stopover. if you need to stay overnight, go to Northampton.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
So sorry you didn't like your room - you requested a traditional queen and many guests request that room for the light from four windows. The mirror and bureau are antiques (inn 126 years old), so perhaps 'shabby', but carpet, upholstery, curtains, flat screen, curved shower rail, all new in the past year. Sorry to disappoint, but glad you could use your complimentary museum pass to see some of the homes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was recently passing through Deerfield in route to Connecticut. I happened to stop in at the Inn bar for a drink. After wandering around ten or so minutes being ignored(unnoticed) I was told by a small woman that it was in between shifts and I started to walk out. In the hall as I was leaving I was greeted with a big smile and hello from a tall gentleman. He noticed I was holding a bottle of pills and asked me If he could get me some water. He walked me to the bar and unlocked it. He gave me a glass of ice water. And excused himself ,saying he needed to clock in. When he returned he placed a bowl of snack mix in front of me. And was so cordial I stayed and had a perfectly made Cosmopolitan.and ended up having a bite to eat: all of which were suggested by this bartender. All I wanted was a drink of water and I got an experience worth coming back for. I frequently take this drive and from now on I'm going to take a detour to the Inn. I wish could remember his name. You can't miss him tall, bald and classy Trust me he alone is worth the trip. Food was also wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
We are so glad that Brian could help you with a glass of water. We have an incentive program for staff who shine, so he will definitely be in pool for the bi-annual prize! Sorry you wandered unnoticed for ten minutes - perhaps the woman at the front desk was putting out tea for our guests? We look forward to seeing you here again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Beautiful room in a beautiful building. Found in the heart of old Deerfield you could visit all the old buildings which were right outside the door. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful although the staff in the restaurant could have been friendlier. Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the inn and Old Deerfield. We are so lucky to have all those old homes open to the public and this unspoiled New England village to live in, and are glad we could share it with you. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Happily we spent two nights in this lovely Inn. We were able to explore the surrounding area, even meeting a tiny-mini-pony called Tonka, and I spent a happy morning touring around a couple of the open houses and the local museum. It's a smashing part of the world, not to be missed. We had two interconnecting rooms in the Old Carriage Barn - we were thrilled when we walked in - both rooms were huge, lovely decor, felt very fresh, we had an enormous bathroom with heaps of fluffy white towels, along with our gi-normous king sized bed. Good sized TV/DVD player (with free DVD's being loaned out which the teen-kids took advantage of). Just outside our door was a hot drinks machine and the ice machine. Fortunately I was not overly disturbed by that, and we used the machine each morning for tea and coffee (a rather nifty pod system that was easy to use). The people in the room above ours did get up rather early on the Sunday morning (6.30am) and were heavy footed, which was a bit of a shame, but spurred us to get up and not waste time. We ate both nights in the restaurant and thorough enjoyed the food, the lovely waiting staff, it was super. We spent some time at the bar before-hand chatting to the utterly charming bar staff, Brian one night and then Jen the next, they were both knowledgeable, entertaining and a joy to have met, they made our stay even more special, we probably drank far too much because we wanted to stay longer and chat with them. Free wifi, which is always much appreciated (why do big hotels always charge?), even ice water ready and waiting for you, lots of little toiletries. Really this place is perfect, simply couldn't fault it. Didn't want to leave, and do want to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalhamBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Thank you for such a lovely and long review of your stay with us. We hope you will get your wish and stay longer on your next visit. All good wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
30.6 km away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
805 reviews
26.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
18.5 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
21.2 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,228 - ₹ 22,455
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing