We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food too fast”
Review of Pisces Restaurant

Pisces Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 72 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 3 September 2018

At that recommendation of our wonderful hotel, The Captains House Inn we made reservations at Pisces. For a fairly expensive restaurant the service and food was excellent. Our only complaint was the lightning speed of the service. We noticed all of the tables were turning this quickly. From start to finish was less than 1 hour. It gave us more hours to explore Chatham but it had the speed of a family or fast food restaurant not an expensive and exclusive one.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018

This unassuming restaurant from the outside is immediately alluring as one walks in. Great atmosphere and energy, with happy colors and vibrant artwork on walls. Though I loved the ambience and service was good, our entrees were only average.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MarieGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

We have been going to Pisces for many years. We go at the beginning and at the end of our time in the Cape.
It has been a very consistent good restaurant with fresh seafood and very good wines. This year our experience was the same.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lovtotravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We made reservations for this much-lauded spot weeks in advance. Upon arriving for our reservation, however we were told that there was a significant wait. We were not allowed to have a drink at the tiny bar area because those some of those spots were also "reserved". Not wanting to start on the wrong foot we paid for drinks and took them outside to wait roadside--trying not to be struck by other patrons arriving for the valet--a less than relaxing experience.
Once we were seated --30 min. later-- the staff was very attentive and helpful. We thought the food was quite good--perhaps pricey, but it's Chatham, and to be expected.
One of the curiosities in this process was that there were two tables that opened and could have accommodated our party (just 3 couples). And while I recognize that pacing the seating is important for the kitchen, I felt the management should have done a better job to acknowledge the inconvenience of a long wait even when we HAD reservations. An amusing consolation was that the Mayor of Boston was left waiting roadside with us and he was seated after we were....so much for VIP treatment ; )

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fun_questr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We made reservations a week and a half in advance to experience what we thought would be a wonderful and special meal on the lower cape at Pisces. We arrived and were greeted by the valet parking team, which was outstanding. However, when we were seated, the waitress slipped into her mechanical, apathetic service mode. Just another table to wait on. When we were unable to produce age confirmation for my daughter to have a glass of wine, I ordered my own glass. We were visited by another older member of the wait staff who threatened to remove all alcohol from the table if we allowed our daughter to touch our beverages. We should have left the restaurant at that point, but instead stayed to sample the menu. Overall the food was very good but overpriced. A $10.00 salad consisted of a few mouthfuls.

Overall, this was not a memorable experience, both from the standpoint of the staff in their blue jean attire treating us almost like criminals, to the apathy they exhibited during the meal. Running a restaurant requires more than producing good food. The flavors of the food can be tainted by the staff who serve it. Pisces should put more thought into who they hire so that the excellent food is accompanied by a caring wait staff. It is too bad that the experience at a nice restaurant can be ruined by the wait staff, who were not properly trained to deal with valued customers

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pisces Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pisces Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing