We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Elegance on the Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We can second most of the tripadvisor reviews. We spent two April days in this beautiful spot. Excellent, service oriented. Loved the morning coffee delivery. Breakfast was excellent, with an egg dish, a pancake or waffle, and an oatmeal offered. Afternoon tea was delightful. The British hotel management students great fun to chat with and they make a terrific pot of tea. There is tea, coffee and goodies in the kitchen at night as well. These are old buildings, if you are a light sleeper choose an upstairs room so you don't have someone walking about above you. Not an inn for those who want to mingle with other guests. Very private spaces, even in the garden there are only two chairs in each area. You can walk into town for dinner (about 1 mile), but don't do it after dark, as there are no sidewalks part of the way.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrewsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 671 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We love the Cape in the spring and there is no place better to enjoy a long weekend than at the Captain's House Inn. This is our second stay and it exceeded our memory of the wonderfull first visit. Our room with it's fireplace, wonderful furnishings and unexpected niceities (such as replenished snacks and drinks and a makeup kit for my wife) was only bested by the attentive and well trained staff and the tone and beauty of the dinning and common rooms in the Inn. We felt that we were special guests. The tea and the breakfast were beyond discription. Chatham (If you can or want to get out of town) is well positioned on the Cape to enjoy antiquing, beaches, dinning and enjoying the vestiges of the "Old Cape"
This is the Cape experience at it's very best.

Gary H

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a truly first class romantic experience.
The general accommodations and decor were very well appointed and simply immaculate.
The breakfast was extensive and delicious, the afternoon tea with it's pastries was very well presented with a very good choice of selections, and the nighttime snack of cookies and hot chocolate/tea a very nice closing touch.
The staff was very friendly and courteous and clearly went out of their way to accommodate the guests.
The only issue we had was that our bed mattress was outdated and did not provide adequate back support.
Overall, it was nearly a perfect experience that we would strongly suggest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent a very good week at the Captain's House Inn in April. The gardens are lovely with lots of wildlife and Chatham is a very pretty New England town which we regarded as one of the nicest towns in the whole area.
This is a real home from home, with an informal but professional approach. The breakfast and tea were delicious and excellent tea and pastries available during the evening. The internes were delightful and extremely helpful without being intrusive.
We stayed in the Wild Hunter and Northern Lights accommodation, both of which were very comfortable and very well appointed. Service was both thorough and efficient.
We received lots of good advice from Jill, the Innkeeper who was very welcoming and helpful in every way.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at the Inn and feel it was quite a unique experience. We certainly would recommend the Inn to anyone who wants a relaxing and authentic New England experience. Hopefully, we shall return in the future and we wish everyone at the Inn well, with a continued good season. We would certainly recommend this property.
Shirley

Room Tip: We liked the patio rooms but we noticed there were some with gardens which would be lovely in the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montagnedereves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

During our two night stay we felt indulged and comfortable. I had nearly forgotten that, while I was making our reservation, I had told the front desk it was my girlfriend's birthday. Clearly they didn't forget because we were delighted to find fresh strawberries dipped in chocolate in our room upon our arrival. From the afternoon tea with yummy baked treats, to the complimentary Port and Sherry in the library, to the coffee in bed service, to the hearty full breakfasts, we felt that the Captain's House Inn consistently exceeded our expectations. As a side note, I worked for over twenty years in the hotel/restaurant business and, unfortunately, because of my training I can't NOT notice when things aren't right. Even if I want to ignore them, little things just bug me. Happily, at Captain's House Inn not only were there no "bugs", I was impressed with their attention to detail, professionalism and obvious experience. Best of all, we stayed in Mid-march on a "buy one night, get one free" deal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternMass_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Many, many thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review. This goes, not just for this post, but for the countless other guests who submit their feedback. We are honored to be appraised so positively, particularly from someone who has been in the business. I know when we go away, we can pick out every flaw (a tendency most innkeepers seem to have), so for this guest to come away with no criticism is absolutely the best compliment we can ask for. We hope to see you, and all our other fans back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.6 km away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
3.4 km away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
1.3 km away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
1.1 km away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
880 reviews
0.1 km away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Address: 369 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: ₹ 13,428 - ₹ 22,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing