We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding experience in quiet wooded area...”
other travellers have booked this property
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy! The gracious living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
174 reviews
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy!
The gracious living space
Relax on the full size couch
Comfortable living
Blue predominates at the cottage
Room for you and your companion animals
A country view through the floor to ceiling windows
French doors separate the living area from the kitchen
Flat screen TV with over 200 channels
Guest Toby enjoying cottage amenities
A cozy corner nook
Queen size bed with a good firm mattress
Eat-in kitchen area
Kitchen work area
Full size oven in a very well equipped kitchen
The blue bathroom
View from eat-in dining area to living area
A variation on a theme!
4-legged view from living area to kitchen area
Breakfast nook
Le bathroom bleu again!
Friendly feline door stop
Friendly Cavalier King Charles spaniel adorn the book case
Mexican planters in the living area
Another view of the cottage and main house
July at Cavalier Cottage
View from your window of the landscaped garden, firepit and E. Oxbow Road (plus hosepipe bonus)!
Oriental poppies brighten up the Cottage garden
Beautiful, peaceful Oxbow Road
Mountain streams and wooded terrain abound
Owner and host with trusty companion Gwen
Enjoy the private garden space
Rhodos in full bloom and a garden sculpture to view
Welcome to Cavalier Cottage B&B
Avery, puppy mill rescue, the newest clan member.
Avery, Hailey and Rose
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlemont, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 174 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HeartSton...
Milton, New Hampshire
1 review
“Outstanding experience in quiet wooded area - pets welcome!”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From our welcome to leaving, Pat the owner was great. She was welcoming, The cottage was appointed with ALL the amenities. Every detail down to to a cookie jar filled with treats for the dogs. Pat's fresh baked scones every morning and the good coffee in the cottage were the perfect way to start our day for our adventures. The quiet wooded setting and being able to walk our dogs on the dirt roads was great. We certainly will be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Owner and setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Peaceful, Quiet weekend Away From the City”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I booked the cottage for my fiancé and I when we went white water rafting at Zoar. As soon as I inquired about the weekend, Pat quickly responded. As soon as we pulled up to the cottage , we knew it would be a relaxing weekend. The cottage is located in a quiet, wooden area, perfect for taking a nice long walk. Pat was a wonderful host, that gave us our privacy the whole weekend. We loved waking up to warm scones, waiting for us out on the porch. As an added bonus we were able to bring our dog and received a discount at Zoar. We would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How peaceful the property was
Liked least: Coming from the city there isn't much to do in the surrounding area at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeepCalmK...
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish every place would be like this one”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful sleeping and living area. Fabulous kitchen. Clean. Comfortable. Love the inclusion of dogs and cats. Pat is an extraordinarily hospitable proprietor. Everything was there plus things I couldn't have thought of beforehand. I'm very particular about cleanliness and was a little apprehensive about how clean and odor-free a pet-friendly place could be. All I can say is that I wish my own home could be as free from shedding fur and other traces from dogs/cats as Pat's place is.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail L
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect... again!”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband, dog, and I stayed at Cavalier Cottage for the second time and it was just as perfect as the first. Perhaps even better, as Pat had made some lovely changes, while keeping the best touches untouched, such as her delicious scones! We headed to western Mass to see the Van Gogh exhibit at the Clark, have a lovely dinner in Shelburne Falls, and return to Cavalier Cottage for a relaxing evening and morning breakfast. It's a perfect getaway, and Pat makes it easy, relaxing, and restorative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package is lovely, perfect for a quiet getaway.
Liked least: There's really nothing that ends up at the bottom of the scale
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brebda177
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
“Pet and People Friendly”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I and our dog really enjoyed out short stay and wish that it could have been longer. The warm, homemade warm scones that appeared each morning on the table on the porch were delightful. (So delightful in fact that we began calling it our magic table.) Great area for hiking with many other area attractions. Clean apartment style unit and well stocked with gourmet teas, condiments, jams and breakfast cereals. Just the right combination of respecting our privacy but willing to help with anything that we might need. Hardly any traffic on the road (maybe 1 car in three days of walking the dog) so it was great for that as well.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing