We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What fun with dry harvested cranberries!”
Review of Flax Pond Farms

Flax Pond Farms
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Carver
Attraction details
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This cranberry farm is low-key, but oh, so welcoming! And it's free, no reservations required. The kindly older woman in the shop urged us to go to the field to see the people harvesting cranberries--no water required! People pushed machines to gather the cranberries, which were put into canvas bags and then to crates, awaiting a helicopter. Inside the shop, family members shared the history of the farm and demonstrated the sorting machine. Charmed, we chose some cranberry items: honey and taffy and lots more. When we asked for some fresh cranberries, that same lovely older woman scooped some out of a wooden box. What a treat!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank CityHiker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ocean spray"
in 4 reviews
"cranberry bog"
in 3 reviews
"learning experience"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"cranberries"
in 21 reviews
"harvesting"
in 14 reviews
"helicopter"
in 4 reviews
"machinery"
in 3 reviews
"bogs"
in 5 reviews
"equipment"
in 4 reviews
"production"
in 2 reviews
"information"
in 4 reviews
"plants"
in 2 reviews
"massachusetts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Working, old style, Cranberry farm, just a short drive from Plymouth Town.
In business since the 1890's, much of the old equipment is still in use today and you are shown the equipment in use. Well worth a visit to see a large Cranberry bog, be shown how the fruit is grown and harvested.
This is not the "wet harvesting" type of farm, as usually shown in adverts for Cranberries, but a "dry" cropping farm using the traditional methods.
If you've ever wondered why Cranberry products are quite expensive, this is a good place to find out just how much work is involved in their production.
Note: the farm is not open to visitors in the Winter and Summer seasons, except for group appointments.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank cooperwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This is one of the few cranberry farms that offer a tour without reservations and we loved it. Very informal, but packed with information and we actually got to see dry harvesting of the cranberries. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank sabrina1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We arrived about 20 minutes before they were closing and Frank the owner came out to greet us and gave us a very informative tour telling us everything you ever wanted to know about Cranberries. There were so many things we learned like to only time bogs have water is when they harvest although this farm dry harvests. Wet harvest can only be used for juice and sauce. Also some cranberry plants can last 50 years.After the outside tour we went inside and learned how they are sorted and processed. Jamie was our guide inside and she was wonderful !!! She gave us a sample of Cranberry iced tea (which we bought to make at home) We also bought some other things as well. The place is less than a half hour from Plymouth and is worth a look see. .

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Petergun1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Great cranberry learning experience and tour. The owners are lovely, gracious people who provide a wonderful visit. There is something for everyone in their gift shop. Oh, and it's Chritmas tree farm too! Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank FDR4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flax Pond Farms also viewed

 

Been to Flax Pond Farms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing