We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a long time friend”

Il Basilico Trattoria Italiana
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Timonium
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Authentic Italian
Reviewed 29 June 2017

My friend and I have been here a number of times for lunch. When we have been here, it has never been crowded. Their is plenty of seating and free parking. The food today came out hot, tasty and pretty quick. The server was friendly and checked to see how we were doing a few times. I did see a number of people get carryout while we were eating. Lunch for both of us was not quite 20 bucks, which is really pretty cheap. No complaints about my visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iram623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Great pizza & salads and very good sandwiches. I work in the area and they have excellent lunch specials also. BYOB is also a plus. Not a fine dining restaurant IMHO, but I've always enjoyed my visits. The servers are all friendly & helpful.

Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Our most recent visit here this weekend was the worst experience we have had at Il Basilico. But the food was still very good. I really want to rate this a 3.5 but that's not all we'd, so I'm rounding up. I have rated Il Basilico 4 in the past, and it deserved this 4 rating more on previous visits.

There are some recent less than stellar reviews for here on TripAdvisor, but a good portion of those reviews also focus on service. Il Basilico's food is very good but it's possible they should do a better job managing their front of the house.

We are my wife, our 8 year old son and 5 year old daughter. The restaurant was admittedly pretty full on our last visit, but the kitchen was still moving way too slowly. It took about 45 minutes for us to receive our pasta dishes. We live in south Towson, and we could have run into a grocery store, bought pasta, driven home and prepared it in less time.

They also ran out of bread, which was getting customers upset because it was taking so long to get food. After they baked some more bread but not enough for all tables, they made the faux pas of giving it to tables that had complained the loudest rather than giving it tables based on how long customers had been seated.

When meals finally came, our pasta was very good though. I do not feel the food quality has gone down.

One hint- Il Basilico has two tables near the front windows that are underneath indoor lights. We have sat at one of these tables previously, and they provide a much better experience than the rest of the restaurant, which is just sitting at boring nondescript tables in room without character. On our most recent visit our table for example was a booth by a busser station where my wife was seated eye level staring right at cleaning supplies.

1  Thank aedwardr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We love the Feast of The Seven Fishes, which we have gotten here during restaurant week as well as at other times during the year. We look on line at the menu and it IS listed as one of their 2017 Restaurant Week selection for the entire length of the event. Since we live an appreciable distance away and traffic is VERY congested in that area at dinner time, JUST TO DOUBLE CHECK, we CALL the morning of January 26th and the female on the phone confirms that the Feast of The Seven Fishes is indeed available today as a 2017 Restaurant Week item. So at dinner time we drive 45 minutes from our home near the Mason-Dixon Line to enjoy our meal. Upon arriving and being seated, we see that the Feast of The Seven Fishes is NOT listed on the 2017 Restaurant Week printed menus given to us! The waiter checks, comes back to the table and says it is NOT available. I ask to see the manager. The manager informs me they had decided not to serve it THIS YEAR for the 2017 Restaurant week!!! I inquire why it has been on their website menu as being served staring January 20th and continuing for the entire event.He feigns not being able to find it on his phone but does locate it when I start to pick up my phone, Then he leaves the table pretending to investigate who told us that morning that it was indeed being served that night. 15 minutes later he has not returned to the table, and most in the kitchen can be seen alternating palms up gestures like they're testing to see if it's raining, as in "what are we supposed to do"? Seeing that the manager was simply going to hide in the kitchen until I left, that's exactly what I did. I am certain given the popularity of this dish and this being Day 6 from when this it was shown on the internet to start being offered ON JANUARY 20TH, that I was by FAR not the first customer to request it. So from the act of LEAVING IT POSTED ON THE INTERNET as available, to confirming availability by telephone to their duck and run behavior after being questioned about it, one can only do the math and determine this to be totally deliberate! Apparently deceiving customers, avoiding responsibilty for such, and attempting repariation when caught are all non-issues to this establishment.OBVIOUSLY, WE WILL NOT BE BACK!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobertM662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clara C, Owner at Il Basilico Trattoria Italiana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hello Robert, I greatly appreciate your feedback, as it's the best way we can improve. It's long time since you had such a bad experience here. I was away for long time due to Healthy problems. I went back to Italy and the restaurant was left in bad hands. It sounds like they dropped the ball. Your descriptionabsolutely does not reflect the high standards we hold ourselves to, so I would like to invite you back on the house in the hopes that you'll give us another try. If you could please be so kind as to send me your address and phone number, I'd like to send you a certificate for complimentary dinner and I'll follow up with you personally. I take pride in our food and service and value the reviews I receive. I hope that you will decide to give me another try to make things right. If and when you do come back to see me, I would greatly appreciate if if you would take the time to share feedback based on your next visit. Good or bad, it's always nice to hear form my guests, and feedback is imperative for my growth and training. I value your patronage and hope to win you back as a happy customer. Thanks again! Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

My wife went a week ago with a friend and enjoyed sandwiches. We went for dinner and it was a mistake. Nice looking place, warm and friendly. We ordered pasta dishes, nothing complicated and the place was less than a third full. After a very long wait, my dinner arrived, with apologies that hers was coming. I was long finished before her food arrived. The chicken in her pasta dish was pale white and tasted boiled. Utterly no flavor. Spend dining dollars wisely!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ItinerateAdjuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Basilico Trattoria Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Il Basilico Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing