We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great breakfast and dinner, nice room, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and dinner, nice room, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My family and i stayed here 4/14/12-4/19/12 as i wanted to stay at a Homewood suites and primarily chose this hotel for the breakfast and weekday dinner and proximity to the metro. Overall, i enjoyed the stay but felt that the customer service could be improved. I paid (with tax and AAA discount) somewhere shy of $300/night including weekends but later found out that the rate on weekends was much cheaper. I asked to get the same rate for Saturday and Sunday as other weekend guests but the service person would not budge and refused to compensate me. I plan on calling the hotel to speak to the manager as it bothers me that i spent 5 nights at the full rate. Also, when I made reservations, there was a mix-up and I was assigned to the Hampton Inn and to get my reservation moved, it was a bit of a hassle. The person i spoke to said she would comp my $12/day parking for the inconvenience and I was happy, but when my bill came, the parking was not removed. It was difficult to get the parking charge taken off but after much discussion with the front desk, it was finally removed.
The lamp in my room did not work but it was never replaced after I told them. Not a big issue, however. The two TV’s were great as well as the full size fridge and stove, microwave, etc. I also asked for a couple extra chairs so we could all sit at the table but the front desk said there weren’t any available. But then, 3 extra chairs were delivered to my room which was great.

James Mikelis

Room Tip: We liked the longer rooms since the sleep sofa and second TV was separated for the bed by a wall. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay at the Homewood Suites hotel in Silver Spring, MD. We value your feedback and appreciate your comments to help us improve our service offerings for our hotel guests. We have shared your feedback regarding our hotel’s front desk. We are glad your overall experience was enjoyable. When travel has you searching for Silver Spring hotels, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Homewood Suites again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    137
    68
    34
    15
See reviews for
208
58
21
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Pretty good/comfortable Homewood accommodations, but hoped for more open/ spaciousness (as other Homewoods). Room layout small/ narrow living rm/kitchenette then bedroom (at far end by window). This layout makes windowless living room dark/cramped. (Unfortunately, could hear neighbors TV through wall; merely needed to match my tv channel to neighbors & could watch & hear tv with volume off.)

Good breakfasts & dinners -- variety nice.(Always hope for additional healthy options, but chef/cook prepared tasty dishes.)

Computers/printers in comfortable seated businesses center (between lobby desk & lodge/eatery).

Bank of elevators avoided long waits.

Valet parking ($12); horseshoe driveway congested at busy times. (Allot plenty of time for car to be retrieved.)

Overall, positives outweigh nuisances.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Great location within easy walking distance of a variety of restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Only had fresh fruit from the breakfast offerings, so can't say much about the other food. The fruit was fresh and good and the rest of the food looked appealing. I agree with reviewers who note that it is a little confusing to have both Homewood Suites and Hampton Inn sharing the same entrance and lobby. However, it's not a big deal and one can quickly get past that. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We spent four nights here while visiting DC. The property is nice and breakfast was always good. Additionally, the hotel is within walking distance of shopping, a movie theater, and several restaurants including Macaroni Grill and Red Lobster. If you want to stock up on groceries for the fridge, Whole Foods is just two blocks! We also walked to the Metro on several occasions, but be aware, it is a solid 10-minute walk (about 6 blocks).

My only real complaint is that Valet Parking is required at this property and the service is painfully SLOW! It took three valets 30 minutes to bring two cars around. And this was at 8:00 on a Tuesday evening -- they had nothing else going on! On a weekday morning, I would recommend calling a good hour before you need your vehicle.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2000_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. In regard to the valet, we are sorry that we didn’t get your car to you in a timely fashion and we will continue to monitor the valet process. Thanks again for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehouse,Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Spent two nights at Homewood Suites
in Silver Springs.Great hotel in downtown
Silver Springs. Great hotel for the $$.
Plenty of things to do within walking distance.
Fedex Field and downtown DC is approx. 15 minute drive.
The hotel itself has a friendly staff. Rooms are very
nice and modern. Breakfast was excellent with many
options to choose from. Valet parking was $12 per day
but we didn't use. We parked at a parking garage
around the corner due to the fact that parking there
was free on weekends. Pool was very nice although
we didn't use.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAYTREV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed our property, and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
8.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 km away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Property: Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,691 - ₹ 16,812
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing