We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sahara Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sahara Motel
Ranked #54 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Sahara's Tower Building, which has a pool and Cafe on site. The room was very clean, the maid came every day and even though we were one block back from the beach, we had an awesome view from our balcony (we were 4th floor, all the way at the end). Our girls, ages 11 and 8, LOVED the pool. It ranged from 3-5 ft. deep which was perfect for them. I cannot say enough good things about the Sahara Cafe! The staff was very friendly, the food was really good (homemade food) and the portions were very generous. The price was great, we went down for the early bird special between 7-8 am and got two eggs, two strips of bacon (or sausage) and two LARGE pancakes for $3.99! I ended up splitting one with my 8 yr. old cause I couldn't eat it all myself! The room had a small fridge with a small freezer compartment and a small microwave. Now, I will say if you're looking for a high end type room, this is not for you, but if you just want a good, clean place to stay, you will not be disappointed. Also, the tower building has a parking lot right below and an elevator. It is close to the boardwalk and beach, but at the same time, I noticed that in the evening/night hours when the boardwalk is buzzing with people, it was less crowded up at this end than down around the lower streets. We appreciated that it was quiet when we were ready for bed. The only cons I can even speak of would be the pillow wasn't very comfortable, (although the bed was comfortable), and the washcloths and towels were a little rough. Overall, it is a great place though. We felt very comfortable here and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheerymom806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    89
    48
    20
    30
See reviews for
118
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Check in made us feel very welcome. Room was clean and the ladies who took care of the rooms very polite and did their jobs well. Pool was very clean and clear. The Sahara Cafe was fabulous, wonderful breakfast and lunch. This motel will not disappoint,

Room Tip: Always had hot water and good pressure. Quite and Safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patty2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sahara Motel in August of 2008 for 5 days on our honeymoon.
The motel is situated with 5 separate buildings, 4 of which have rooms....one on the ocean front boardwalk side (Oceanfront Building), one immediately behind that on Baltimore Street (Poolside Building), 2 on the other side of Baltimore Street (West and Tower Buildings), and the 5th is a restaurant, the Sahara Cafe.
The clerk upon check-in was very friendly and nice and very helpful in telling us about the things to do around Ocean City.
The top floor of the Tower building (across the street from the oceanfront building) is where we initially stayed our first 4 days because it is the only building (I believe) that has an elevator (so if you are unable to climb stairs, you might want to make sure you tell your reservation agent that when you book your room here!). The room was a nice size, beds were made nicely, but it could have been a little cleaner. There was still sand on the shower floor and carpets and the bed linens were damp. When I called the office to let them know, they were apologetic and sent someone within 10 minutes who vacuumed the floors and cleaned the shower again. The linens were also changed, though they said the only reason they were damp is because they had probably been taken out of the dryer too soon. It was the same story each day...you could tell the room had been serviced, but sand was still on the shower floor and carpets. I am doubting the carpets were vacuumed much during our stay. And the beds could have been a bit more comfortable and inviting.
There are no private balconies in the Tower building, only one front balcony the entire length of the building on each floor. One of the pools and the Sahara Cafe were right at the bottom of the elevator. The pools are very nice and clean. The Cafe's food was actually fairly good and reasonably priced. Our last night there, we decided to upgrade and move to the Oceanfront Building so we could take in as much of the ocean as we could before leaving. No elevator in this building, so it was carrying luggage up three floors for us! The room was a little bit larger than our room in the Tower building, and it had a private balcony on the oceanfront side and the same long shared balcony on the Baltimore Street side.
The oceanfront view was fantastic (see pics), and it was wonderful to be able to fall asleep listening to the sound of the waves and surf, and the happy drunk guy sitting on the boardwalk wall singing until 12AM was slightly amusing! LOL!
Some of the cleanliness issues aside, it was in a very nice location almost central to everything and is cheaper than other motels and hotels along the oceanfront.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We just came back from a long weekend. This was the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in in Ocean City. I was totally impressed. The pools were great and the Cafe had great breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delighted910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is a very nice motel. Didn't want for anything (except maybe coffeepot in room). Rooms looked to be recently done over in some areas and the grounds are very nice and well kept. Cafe is a real plus. Will probably stay again and again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hhnrs04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 km away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 km away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 km away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#43 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
0.6 km away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 km away
The Spinnaker
The Spinnaker
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Motel

Property: Sahara Motel
Address: Oceanfront at 19th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,475 - ₹ 9,510
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next Ocean City, Maryland vacation at the Sahara Motel, a complex offering four buildings with rates and locations to suit your needs. Choose from direct Oceanfront/Oceanview, Poolside, West or Tower buildings. All are reasonably priced and just steps away from the Ocean City Boardwalk, amusements, restaurants and shopping. Our oceanfront hotel provides one of the best beachfront views in Ocean City, Maryland. Also the home of famous Jay's Sahara Cafe. Relax on Ocean City's white sandy beach and let the ocean wash over your feet. Stroll the Boardwalk or take a refreshing swim in either of our two sparkling pools. Sample one of Ocean City's nearby golf courses, or just relax on your private oceanfront balcony. We are convenient to all of the most exciting attractions in Ocean City, Maryland. Discover and enjoy Ocean City, Maryland at the Sahara Motel. We are your family's place at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Ocean City
Sahara Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing