We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood on sandbed”

Fish Tales Bar & Grill
Ranked #22 of 439 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Description: "...little slice of Paradise here in Ocean City, Maryland! Overlooking the Bay at 21st street, Fish Tales, located in Bahia Marina, used to be just a locals hideout. Throughout the years the "word" has spread about this treasure-on-the-bay! Still keeping its quaint, relaxed feel, Fish Tales has grown immensely since its doors opened in 1983. Whether you come by boat, car or bike, we have parking for all means of transportation. In addition to our original "Old Bar," we have added the "Boat Bar" and an outdoor beach area to meet your dining and cocktail needs. If you choose to sit on the beach, you can enjoy an umbrella-shaded table during the day or tiki torches by night. To satisfy your taste buds, we offer a wide selection of lite fare, full entrees and kids' meals, in addition to our eclectic daily specials. Swing by the bar and grab your favorite beverage, whether frozen, mixed or out of the tap; we have it all! We even offer some of our own personal favorites, such as Orange Crushes. These are complemented by our Happy Hour specials. So sit back and enjoy your libation in our two sets of Sky Chair lounges!"
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Great selection of seafood and kids choices. A perfect place to eat dinner with family/kids. Their service is outstanding too. A highly recommended place for families with kids.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MDP_Love_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Had a couple beers on the dock at Fish Tales while visiting OC. Beers were cold and service friendly. Always enjoy watching boats come and go in the marina. They still have the hammock chairs for adults and giant play area for kids. We could have even brought our dog, but it was super hot that day so I think she was happy at the house in the AC.

Thank CaptPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTalesOCMD, Manager at Fish Tales Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

There is nothing better than watching the boats come and go, unless of course it is the food and service at Fish Tales! We have an atmosphere where our guests can sit back and enjoy themselves, along with the view, tasty food and a selection of beverages to quench your thirst. Come by any time, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

8 of us went to Fish Tales to watch a college football game in late September. We arrived early to get a table near a tv and told the hostess we were there to watch the game. We were willing to take a smaller table but they gave us a larger table. We continuously ordered food and drinks while there. We were later asked to move so a larger party could be seated which we readily agreed to. Soon after we were moved the waitress brought us our bill and pretty much told us we had to pay up and leave the table. I went to the manager to explain why we were not ready to leave (game wasn't over) and that we were still ordering food and drinking. I was told pretty much that we should be thankful that they let us sit there that long, that their policy is to have you seated for only 1-1 1/2 hours and we needed to allow other people to have the experience that we had. No customer service whatsoever. We paid our bill and left. We will not be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTalesOCMD, Manager at Fish Tales Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Shelley. I assure you that our customers satisfaction is extremely important to us and they should receive nothing less then kind, respectful and prompt customer service. I would like further details about your evening if you could please contact media@ocfishtales.com, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We've had anything from a table full of appetizers, burgers and fries, to seafood entrees, and all have been wonderful. Casual, with indoor and outdoor seating, and an open friendliness, just a fun place to visit. Staff were upbeat and service was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clarence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTalesOCMD, Manager at Fish Tales Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thanks for this glowing review, Clarence!
We're thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed spending time with us at Fish Tales, and we certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks again and have yourself a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

It looks like it's the perfect place for a few drinks and a bite to eat. And I'm sure it is for some, but not for us unfortunately on this occasion.

Firstly, if we wanted food (even bar food) we were going to have to wait an hour and a half for a table. The place was busier than we expected for the time of the evening we were there. But that wasn't the issue. The issue was how rude the hostess was. When we enquired about leaving our name etc and a time to come back, she was quite rude in telling us that we just had to wait in line and if we left that we would lose our place.

So we decided to just get a drink. And this is where things went really down hill. All drinks (even those on tap/draft) were served in plastic cups. For us it was not worth paying top price for a drink when it was going to be served in plastic. Needless to say, we did not get a second one.

It's a pity because there was a good atmosphere and some cool seating options (if they were available)!

Thank LaurenDevine95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTalesOCMD, Manager at Fish Tales Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Hi Lauren, thanks for reaching out and letting us know about your visit with us.
It's our goal to provide the best in quality and service, so we're disappointed to hear that you weren't happy with your experience.
It is never acceptable for a member of our team to be rude with any of our guests. We would appreciate the chance to talk with you more about your experience. If you are willing, please email media@ocfishtales.com, so we can hear about your visit in more detail.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Tales Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Fish Tales Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing