We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT GO HERE”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #69 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is awful and the staff is terrible and are not helpful. There are better hotels in the area that are of quality! Do not waste your money!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    97
    65
    49
    81
See reviews for
160
108
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

What an awful experince we had here. I was completely disgusted when i awoke at 4 am to change my 5 month old daughters diaper. I laid her on the spare bed and as i was changing her, i looked and saw these little bugs crawling on the bed.. i picked her up so fast and immediately woke my boyfriend up and told him that we have to get outta here.He thought i was nuts til he got up and saw them for himself. He then googled them on his phone and saw that thats what they were. We pulled our sheets down in the bed we were in to find blood spots all over the sheets, at this point, i was already packed up and he was on his way to get the car. By this time it was almost 5 am and we are driving around ocean city wasting time til we can get in to the hotel to talk to a manager. Needless to say, the owner/manager was the biggest jerk ever and would absolutely not refund our money until the "inspector" came and verified that they were definitley bedbugs. So i called the chamber of commerce who directed me to the board of health, who i believe went out to inspect..sure enough, we got our money back, it took two days but we got it back!! Do not waste your time here, it isnot worth it. The manager actually even said himself, "if i gave everybody their money back that complained, i'd be out of business." what does that tell you?? We were even willing to suck up that nites stay but we had already paid for the next 3 nites..all we wanted was the money back for the next 3 nites,hewasnt even budging at all!! Terrible customer service if you ask me!!! We were not giving up til we got our money back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimberly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
In response to this review is very incorrect. Guest checked out due to emergency back home and wanted a refund for early departure. We do not refund for early departures. Guest explained to us she would get her money back one way or another and has posted this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. After having a reservation for well over a month we received a call that because of the forecasted hurricane on it's way they will not be able to check anyone in over the weekend,(understandable) but we would have a credit to use at another time unless there was a mandatory evacuation of Ocean City then we would get a full refund of our almost $300 deposit. Well low and behold there was a mandatory evacuation as they have posted on there site, and now they are not willing to honor their original agreement. I guess they figured they were safe thinking that there would be no evacuation, since it is quite unusual for a hurricane to hit so far north. Now there ever so professional General Manager Don (not allowed to give his own last name) says none of his employees would EVER say anything about a refund and that he had recordings of all phone conversations and can play my conversation back then why would he hang up when I told him ok, let's hear it???????

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank deezee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed just over night. The bathroom was filthy. Looked like dried vomit on the back of the bathroom door. Beds were uncomfortable. The bill statement noted that there were showers and bathroom facilities to use after you check out. Couldn't find them anywhere. Not a good experience. Very dissatisfied. Will not choose them again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
We have a very clean hotel and property. Would urge trip advisor members to read all reviews not just negative ones posted by disgruntled guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I was looking forward to trip to oc very much. That was until I saw where we were staying. I have stayed in alot of motel/hotel room over last several years but I can honestly say none have compared to this. The first thing u notice when u walk in is the smell of the lobby, it is disgusting, then the service at front desk, they only speak to u if really necessary. Taking the elevator or stairs are equally as disgusting with the dirt and smell. The rooms are nothing like the website. We booked a queen or king size bed and ended up with a full. The room and smell and uncomfortable. We were booked to stay 2 nites but ended up leaving after one because it was to uncomfortable to stay not to mention the noise that comes from the bar across the car park that lasts well into the nite. Overall it was worst weekend break ever.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vale19008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 km away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#58 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 km away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.5 km away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#75 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 km away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 216 North Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,010 - ₹ 24,805
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing