We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empress Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Grand Hotel & Spa(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Boardwalk(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 145
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$ 288
US$ 233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Plaza Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Royale Resort(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$ 247
US$ 220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
40
40
6
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
40
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was ready earlycleaned dailythird floorlocation is greatmusty smellwould definitely stay here againtowelsboardwalksandcleanlinessmaidsclosetunitsefficiencylinens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

One of the older and smaller motels at the beach. I was so surprised when the room key was an actual key!! The room was SMALL. My husband and I kept bumping into each other while we were unpacking. No alarm clock, no coffeemaker. The WORST mattress I have ever slept on! The entire motel is non smoking which I liked, but they do provide these "lovely" white buckets filled with sand marked "butt buckets" that everyone seemed to have in front of their rooms. So as you're walking to your room you're passing through clouds of smoke. YUCK!! Great location, but not a place I'll be returning to.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePrincessPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Empress's location is a plus - half block from the boardwalk/ocean and close enough to a number of mid-town restaraunts & nitespots. The motel appeared well cared for but was obviously stuck in 1957 which was probably near to when it was built. The tipoff should have been when the room key was an actual key - not an entry card. The bathrooms are clean but small allowing only a 1 foot by 9 " stainless steel shelf for all your toiletries - kinda' like a prison might have. The toilet's handle needed to be held down during the entire flush otherwise it wouldn't work. NO coffeemaker. Since we were only staying 3 nights this year (a bigger Disney trip planned for next April) we decided to save a few bucks on length of stay and accomodations. Usually we enjoy the Grand Hotel 2 blocks away. Clearly the Empress is not the Grand. But we knew that going in. Even so, if you are looking for clean but spartan accomodations - the Empress might suit you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robmac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The pool is more like a library than a swimming pool. The staff there seemed they would rather shoot daggers at you than assist you in any way. Although the staff was not the friendliest, the place was immaculate. The location is terrific being as close to the beach as any establishment is without being ocean front. If you do not have small children, then this place would be absolutely perfect(minus the courtesy of staff).

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jyd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We returned to the Empress Motel this year and found it just as nice as our first visit. The entire staff cares about keeping the hotel clean and your trip enjoyable. We see the same people working at the Empress year after year. The front desk, maintainance, and housekeeping were friendly , helpful and wonderful to talk to. The motel is simple. Two double beds, mini-frig, microwave and flat screen TV. The outside pool gets sun all day not like some hotels on the boardwalk that block the sun. The Empress is not on the boardwalk (only 175 feet away) but from our back window we could see the ocean. It was nice to sit outside our room at night and see the activity on the street. Linda from housekeeping kept our room clean as did the other hotel staff to the pool and grounds.
If you plan to come to the Empress motel to be loud and party, then find another place. The motel has three floors and no elevators. We loved the third floor but consider the first or second floor if you have problems climbing stairs with your luggage. This place is quiet and enjoyable and always has repeat customers. The Empress is near many restaurants, like my favorite FishTales. We totally loved the Empress Motel as it is an Oldie but Goodie or better yet, a Classic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stay here each year. The motel is soooo well kept. They do such a great job. They also wifi! Very quiet at night, which is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews