We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empress Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Empress Motel
Ranked #60 of 102 Hotels in Ocean City
PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

One of the older and smaller motels at the beach. I was so surprised when the room key was an actual key!! The room was SMALL. My husband and I kept bumping into each other while we were unpacking. No alarm clock, no coffeemaker. The WORST mattress I have ever slept on! The entire motel is non smoking which I liked, but they do provide these "lovely" white buckets filled with sand marked "butt buckets" that everyone seemed to have in front of their rooms. So as you're walking to your room you're passing through clouds of smoke. YUCK!! Great location, but not a place I'll be returning to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePrincessPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    38
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
46
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Empress's location is a plus - half block from the boardwalk/ocean and close enough to a number of mid-town restaraunts & nitespots. The motel appeared well cared for but was obviously stuck in 1957 which was probably near to when it was built. The tipoff should have been when the room key was an actual key - not an entry card. The bathrooms are clean but small allowing only a 1 foot by 9 " stainless steel shelf for all your toiletries - kinda' like a prison might have. The toilet's handle needed to be held down during the entire flush otherwise it wouldn't work. NO coffeemaker. Since we were only staying 3 nights this year (a bigger Disney trip planned for next April) we decided to save a few bucks on length of stay and accomodations. Usually we enjoy the Grand Hotel 2 blocks away. Clearly the Empress is not the Grand. But we knew that going in. Even so, if you are looking for clean but spartan accomodations - the Empress might suit you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robmac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

The pool is more like a library than a swimming pool. The staff there seemed they would rather shoot daggers at you than assist you in any way. Although the staff was not the friendliest, the place was immaculate. The location is terrific being as close to the beach as any establishment is without being ocean front. If you do not have small children, then this place would be absolutely perfect(minus the courtesy of staff).

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We returned to the Empress Motel this year and found it just as nice as our first visit. The entire staff cares about keeping the hotel clean and your trip enjoyable. We see the same people working at the Empress year after year. The front desk, maintainance, and housekeeping were friendly , helpful and wonderful to talk to. The motel is simple. Two double beds, mini-frig, microwave and flat screen TV. The outside pool gets sun all day not like some hotels on the boardwalk that block the sun. The Empress is not on the boardwalk (only 175 feet away) but from our back window we could see the ocean. It was nice to sit outside our room at night and see the activity on the street. Linda from housekeeping kept our room clean as did the other hotel staff to the pool and grounds.
If you plan to come to the Empress motel to be loud and party, then find another place. The motel has three floors and no elevators. We loved the third floor but consider the first or second floor if you have problems climbing stairs with your luggage. This place is quiet and enjoyable and always has repeat customers. The Empress is near many restaurants, like my favorite FishTales. We totally loved the Empress Motel as it is an Oldie but Goodie or better yet, a Classic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stay here each year. The motel is soooo well kept. They do such a great job. They also wifi! Very quiet at night, which is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.0 km away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#81 of 102 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#77 of 102 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#71 of 102 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 km away
Ocean Mecca Motel
Ocean Mecca Motel
#82 of 102 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Motel

Property: Empress Motel
Address: 20th Street and Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Motel is a fabulous place for a family vacation. Choose from a standard room, fully equipped efficiencies or apartments. Each standard room includes a air conditioning/heat, refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, and daily maid service. Relax on Ocean City's white sandy beach and let the ocean wash over your feet. Stroll the Boardwalk or take a refreshing swim in our sparkling pools. Sample one of Ocean City's nearby golf courses. We are convenient to all of the most exciting attractions in Ocean City, Maryland. Discover and enjoy Ocean City, Maryland at the Empress Motel. We are your family's place at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Empress Motel Ocean City
Empress Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing