We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find another place to stay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Find another place to stay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was our forth year of staying at HoJo on our way to NC from NH. Why we keep going back & not trying the other hotels around the same area is beyond me.

It's a great location, right on the boardwalk not far to walk to the activities but far enough away to not hear the activities when trying to rest. The staff are always pleasant, friendly & helpful.

Now for the problem areas, where to begin. We always get a king room, one year ago the ceiling was leaking & smelled badly. They moved us the next day to another room. The beds are horrible, I think sleeping on a rock would be more comfortable. The pillows are just smaller rocks. The wifi doesn't work if you are at any distance from the ocean side of the hotel, connects & disconnects so much, I just got fed up & decided to wait till the next hotel to look at my email & such.

We felt that they cater to the Spring golfers, they get the better facing rooms, the better beds & the staffs attention when needed.

I think next year, I will heed my own advice & find another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GypsyOBRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    412
    163
    57
    46
See reviews for
469
463
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was our forth year of staying at HoJo on our way to NC from NH. Why we keep going back & not trying the other hotels around the same area is beyond me.

It's a great location, right on the boardwalk not far to walk to the activities but far enough away to not hear the activities when trying to rest. The staff are always pleasant, friendly & helpful.

Now for the problem areas, where to begin. We always get a king room, one year ago the ceiling was leaking & smelled badly. They moved us the next day to another room. The beds are horrible, I think sleeping on a rock would be more comfortable. The pillows are just smaller rocks. The wifi doesn't work if you are at any distance from the ocean side of the hotel, connects & disconnects so much, I just got fed up & decided to wait till the next hotel to look at my email & such.

We felt that they cater to the Spring golfers, they get the better facing rooms, the better beds & the staffs attention when needed.

I think next year, I will heed my own advice & find another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyOBRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The staff makes you feel like you are the only guest. It seemed like they did not know the word "NO". A few of the staff Janice, Brian, Mary Susan and Selma are just a few that made my stay terrific!! Thank you and I can't wait to come back!! You are my hotel of choice from here out!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I decided to treat myself to time away and rented a room here.The room i rented online was not the room that came accross on my reservation but they changed it without hesitation. the staff was wonderful and friendly. the pool was warm enough to swim in. view of the ocean was amazing and it was really nice to be right on the boardwalk. It was really nice to have a safe place to park my car while i was there as well. only complaints were the amount of food for the price and the elevator was slow.

Room Tip: rooms are small but very efficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My fiance has to travel for work to OC for 5 days. He called the hotel directly over a month ago and wanted to get the rate for 7 nights...I decide to fly in during the week and we would stay the weekend. We were told they could give us the same rate for the whole week. Well we called last night to check the reservation as we had not received an email confirmation yet (but the credit card WAS billed already for one night!) and we were told the reservation was only for 4 nights. Really? We would not make a reservation for 4 nights and plan on being there for 7. After them giving us the run around for over 30 minutes on the phone and very RUDE and unhelpful people at the hotel we called the 800 # back and cancelled the whole reservation and booked a different hotel. There are a lot of choices for hotels these days and bad customer service is not acceptable in my book. Can't wait to spend time on the boardwalk!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrolnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.8 km away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.2 km away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,902 - ₹ 25,163
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing