We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I LOVE THE CAROUSEL!!!! EXTREMELY SATISFIED!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I LOVE THE CAROUSEL!!!! EXTREMELY SATISFIED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family and I have enjoyed a relaxing vacation to Ocean City, MD for the past several years. Having two small children to bring along lat summer, we decided to stay at the Carousel for several reasons.

I came across this video on YouTube: ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkKd1bZ-5t0 ) and knew right away this was the place for us. As the video clearly indicates, the Carousel Staff is enthusiastic, friendly, and well-spoken. Further, Each employee was more than willing to answer any questions my family had about the hotel or about the Ocean City area in general.

Traveling with two children, my family desired to stay somewhere that offered activities for both adults and kids. Like most hotels in Ocean City, the Carousel has both an indoor and outdoor pool. What sets the Carousel apart from the other resorts in Ocean City, however, were the other activities the Carousel offers. There is an ice rink located in the Atrium of the Carousel. Ice skating was a fun family activity that gave us a break from the beach when we needed it and gave us something to do when the weather was bad (not to mention the boys that worked in there were really cute and funny). We were amazed at the pristine condition of ice, especially when considering how hot it was outside (it didn't melt at all!!!!). We were also fortunate to see Ice Skating Show put on by professional skaters. My kids absolutely loved getting autographs from the skaters and dancing along to the fun and bubbly songs during the show. Also, for those parents looking to get away and relax for an evening, the resort offers a program called Camp Carousel which is essentially a day camp for children. The Camp provides kids with a variety of activities (including games, arts and crafts, movies, and a front row seat to the ice skating show) as well as dinner and ice cream. The kids loved and it and my husband and I got away for some much needed alone time ;). The Carousel also hosted a Movie on the Beach which was something great for the family to do at nighttime.

I would definitely suggest getting an Ocean Front Room. Our Room was on the 9th floor and was immaculate. It seemed as though the Carousel was located closer to the beach than the surrounding condos and it was great waking up every day to the beach. There were no problems with the room whatsoever and the Housekeeping staff was always very friendly and outgoing.

Lastly, the Carousel's location cannot be beaten. We had never stayed so far north before and did not realize what we were missing. There are tons of great restaurants, mini golf courses, and shops in the general vicinity which are easily walkable. Northside Park is only a few blocks away. There is a lot of stuff to do there and there is a fireworks show on the 4th of July which we were able to watch from the Carousel!! While we did have to drive or take the bus to get to downtown Ocean City, it was well worth the brief trip. Traveling with a family, it was nice to not always be surrounded by those rowdy college kids! Hard to believe that was me 25 years ago!! :) We liked that it was close to the surrounding Delaware beaches too, where some of our friends were staying.

I would highly recommend everyone stay at the Carousel. Having stayed at other condos such as the Hilton, the Clarion, and the Princess Royale (dont even get me started!), I can truly say that they do not compare to the Carousel. My family and I will absolutely be returning this summer and can't wait to vacation in style at the Carousel!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you so much for your genuine review of your stay! We work hard to make sure your vacation is one to remember and it makes all of our jobs so much more rewarding to hear our hard work has not gone unnoticed. Our ice skating rink has just gotten 2 new compressors under the rink and they are working great! The ice show is a highlight of many family's vacations and its great your kids could enjoy our Camp Carousel.

North Ocean City is definitely an up and coming area. Not enough people know about how beautiful Northside Park is, or all the activities that are unique to North Ocean City.

Thanks again for your business, we can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    305
    220
    142
    192
See reviews for
700
142
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

First, I don't know how these places stay open off-season, so I can't throw too many stones. For these prices (Off-season) to have a room overlooking the ocean, the room doesn't have to be 4 star. The room was nice, the bathroom not so much. Staff was fantastic, pool was clean, parking good. The sports bar and separate restaurant were very good, very accommodating. Lots for young kids to do. Indoor Ice skating.

Again, not the best room we've stayed in, but when you're on the beach, you don't think about your room much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thanks so much for your much appreciated business. We are so happy you found our staff "fantastic!" Although our Oceanfront rooms offer amazing views, flat screen tv's, new beds and bed spreads they might still be considered standard when compared to a luxury hotel. We make sure our rooms are comfortable, clean, and nice and although they have granite counter tops, one might not consider them 4 star. Thanks again for all the kind words about our sports bar and restaurant. Its something we have been always updating and its nice to hear positive feedback from the people who matter the most; our customers. We can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DE
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Very disappointed with our family's visit to this hotel (stayed in hotel room not a condo). We have stayed in Ocean City many times, but this was our first (and our last) visit to the Carousel Resort. The rooms did provide a decent amount of space--we had a 2 room suite--but only one of the 3 beds were actually comfortable. The carpets were dirty - as in I did not want to take my shoes off or let kids walk barefoot. The furniture is worn, there walls and trim are in disrepair, closet doors were missing, and the walls incredibly thin. Supposedly they do not allow loud parties, but both nights we were there, parties went on until 2:30 am waking our child on several occasions. The ice skating rink is neat and the outside area looks like it would be fun in season. The indoor pool was overrun with children without supervision so we did not even attempt to use it. Most of the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful, with the exception of the lady who was working the gift shop who was rude and treated customers like they were there to steal instead of shop. Very disappointing--I will stay somewhere else on my next visit to OC!

Room Tip: I would skip the hotel rooms -- maybe the condos are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DixieSherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear concerned guest, thank you for staying with us and we do apologize your trip wasn't satisfactory. We do maintain our carpets on a regular basis by outsourcing the cleaning in addition to our in-house industrial carpet cleaner. If you would have let a member of our friendly staff know about your concerns we would have been happy to address the problem quickly and efficiently. We apologize about the noise complaint, we do have a strict "no party policy" and do enforce this. A simple phone call to the front desk and we would have been more than happy to courteously address the noise complaint. We do have a great patio bar and grill and during the summer months our theme nights and live entertainment can be a highlight of our customers vacation. We do apologize about the indoor pool, adult supervision is required for children and is checked by a member of our recreation staff. No children should have been in the pool area un-supervised. The Carousel caters to a family based clientele and at times may have more kids than other hotels. This might not have been the best accommodations if this is something you are not looking for a family friendly hotel. We do have several other hotels which would more than likely be a better fit for you if you are looking for a less active stay. Thank you for bringing the gift shop employee to our attention. We have a tight screening process for new employees to make sure they are courteous, attentive and outgoing. We are going to make sure this was an isolated incident. We are sorry that your stay at the Carousel was not like that of one of the thousands of repeat customers we cater to annually. We hope your next trip to beautiful Ocean City, MD exceeds expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were given two nights at this hotel as a business comp and were so pleasantly surprised! Our room was direct oceanfront on the fourth floor, which is really nice because we were higher than the sand dunes and had beautiful views of the ocean and beach.
To get to our room, we crossed the lobby through a set of double doors and entered into a common area and ICE SKATING RINK!! There is an indoor ice skating rink that is open around 10 or 11 a.m. to 10 p.m. and they have skates available in all sizes. There were plenty of people of all ages enjoying the skating. Also in this area is a bistro for coffee and light snacks, a gift shop, and the entrance to the indoor pool and access to conference areas.
We took the glass elevator up four flights and opened our door to a pleasant surprise. The room was large, clean and everything looked new and updated. The carpet was brand new which is a big bonus in my book. There were two queen beds and a sleep sofa, a table and two chairs, and a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave as well. The bathroom was rather small, but certainly clean and well maintained. Plus the oceanfront balcony had a table and three chairs for relaxing and enjoying the view.
We found out that they don't turn the air conditioning on until late April or early May, but we left the patio doors open and the room was perfectly cool.
We also enjoyed breakfast in their onsite restaurant. It was served buffet style or you could order from the menu, but we chose the buffet. Plenty of hot, fresh eggs, bacon, french toast, and creamed chip beef, plus yogurts and fresh fruits and cereals. Something for everyone, and this restaurant is right on the beach with huge windows and wonderful ocean views.
I have stayed in the condos at this hotel before and this was our second stay in the hotel portion. I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor oceanfront room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I was very well pleased with my overall experience at the hotel. My children really enjoyed the activities that the hotel has there like the skating rink, the indoor pool, and the activity room that was available for the family. I will definitely be returning for another stay. Great service!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We are so happy you and your children enjoyed all of our great amenities. We understand that a vacation may be the highlight of your year and we do everything we can to make sure that we can play a positive role in your Ocean City vacation. If you think we offer a lot in the Spring Season, you may be surprised at all we have to offer in June, July and August including Nightly Live Ice Skating Shows, Patio Theme Nights, Family Photo Night, Camp Carousel, Movies on the Beach, Family Movie Night, Live Entertainment and More! Thanks again for being our guest, we can wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
8.2 km away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 102 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 102 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 102 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
9.6 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 102 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
7.5 km away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 102 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,346 - ₹ 20,123
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing